We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Visitor Experience with Wonderful Views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loch Lomond Shores

Loch Lomond Shores
Ben Lomond Way | Balloch, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
+44 1389 751031
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Shopping in Balloch
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Loch Lomond Shores is a stunning visitor destination set on the south tip of Loch Lomond. With views up the Loch to Ben Lomond the scenery is amazing.Come for the day and visit our lovely shops, our great aquarium, have lunch or refreshments in one of our eateries, or simply let the kids enjoy our playpark whilst you sit back and relax.With a great selection of activities on and off the water, there is fun for every taste.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
118 attraction reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“A Good Visitor Experience with Wonderful Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Good to read that this site was built on an old post-industrial waste land and not a greenfield development. Ample parking close to the shops and visitor amenities. Plenty of shops and a visitor centre with more attractions on the way. A number of walks run through the woods with plenty of picnic tables and litter bins. The Maid of the Loch paddle steamer is a sight evocative of olden days and hopefully she will be steaming on the loch again soon.

The general shops and miniature shopping centre sell good quality products and it was good to see an RSPB shop as nature is the theme of the location and swans nest within yards of the visitor centre cafe.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch_Lomond_Shores, Manager at Loch Lomond Shores, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Loch Lomond Shores. We're delighted to hear you enjoy the shops, the attractions and, of course, our spectacular view.
We do hope that you visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    86
    39
    17
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Ok to kill an hour or so in wet weather”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Drawn by the leaflet that described Loch Lomond shores as 'The Ultimate Shopping Experience', we headed here on a rainy day. To be fair, we're not great shoppers normally, but even we were a bit disappointed. It's a small collection of shops near a SeaLife Centre, with a few places to eat and drink: by no means a Bluewater or a Lakeside, so not exactly 'ultimate'. Particularly disapppointing was the Hawkshead, with a very limited range compared with a Field&Trek or a Blacks. But then, there's a strange shortage of outdoor shops round here, so close to the mountains. All in all, the Lonely Planet guide has it right in suggesting this as an option for a rainy day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch_Lomond_Shores, Manager at Loch Lomond Shores, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Sorry to hear that we didn't meet your expectations. Shopping is only a small part of Loch Lomond Shores as we offer an overall visitor experience with our great outdoor activities, woodland walks, new Bird of Prey Centre, Aquarium, entertainment and soon to open Adventure Golf. The weather does hamper us but we hope you return on a sunny day and see Loch Lomond Shores at its best with the beauty of the Loch and Ben Lomond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice but not quite what we expected.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We visited The Shores and were pleasantly surprised to find that the parking was free. We had the dog with us so could not go in all the shops or the Bird Centre and Aquarium. We were a little disappointed in the shops as some of them were ones you would get on any main street in the UK, I would have expected something a bit more erm, Scottish rather than Thorntons and a clothes shop (no disrespect to Thorntons but it doesn't really portray traditional Scottish tourism to me).

We went to The Cafe On The Loch and unfortunately timed it just as a coach party had arrived so service took ages. Whilst spending a long time in the queue I noticed 2 things that annoyed me. One (and this really is not a bad point against the place - just a personal gripe of mine) is that they had spelt Coffees wrong on both the window signage and the canopy over the counter. Incorrect use of apostrophes really grates on me! The other thing I noticed was that the girl behind the counter taking the orders and money never once said "please" when asking for the money. She just said the amount and I thought that was quite rude.

Anyway we got our sandwiches and coffee and they were really nice.

We used the toilet facilities in the foyer where Jenners is and they are amazing! The previous reviewer who said baby changing facilities were poor must have missed these as these loos were very well equipped, there was even a toilet specially for parents to take kids in with them.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch_Lomond_Shores, Manager at Loch Lomond Shores, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I have passed your comments on to the team at Cafe on the Loch. I do hope that you come back again to visit Loch Lomond Shores.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Another visit to Jenners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We've been going to Lomond Shores for a canny few years now and LOVE spending time in Jenners.......here I can indulge my handbag fetish as they have a reasonably sized handbag department. Jenners sells everything....clothes, handbags, perfumes and cosmetics, luggage, housewares.....I could go on but you get the gist. They also have a lovely cafe with some fantastic views over the Loch.

Leaving Jenners there's a shoe shop (mainly geared at the older customer), RSPB shop, Edinburgh Woollen Mill, gift shops, outdoorsy shop, jewellers and another clothes shop at the far end.....not an awful lot there to be totally honest but we mainly go for Jenners anyway.

Toilets always clean and plenty of them, nice stall outside selling plants.....we'll be back for our next annual visit in 2015.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch_Lomond_Shores, Manager at Loch Lomond Shores, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Welcome back and thank you for your comments.
We hope that you can visit more often
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lomond Bores”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Worth a walk round when passing but not a day out. Some of the shops a bit tatty but good facilities.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch_Lomond_Shores, Manager at Loch Lomond Shores, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your visit to Loch Lomond Shores, we are glad to hear that you liked the facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Lomond Shores also viewed

 
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 

Been to Loch Lomond Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loch Lomond Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.