We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely welcoming hosts and great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Valhalla Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Balloch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Valhalla Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Valhalla Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
14 Tullichewan Rd, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8SN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Balloch B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely welcoming hosts and great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Our hosts were very friendly and our rooms were very well decorated with everything you need for a short stay. Good value for money and central location. We were cycling and were able to lock our bikes away safely. Hosts helped us to book a meal that evening. My only issue was the coffee with breakfast was very weak and cheap orange juice in cartons on the breakfast bar. Little things like this make all the difference. If the juice had been put in a jug we wouldn't have noticed. And perhaps if we'd been asked how we like our coffee, we would have been happier. Overall, though, a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
51
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Becky and Graeme are the best part of Valhalla B&B. A well-decorated, clean, modern, and comfortable environment at the B&B happily compliments Becky and Graeme's easy, warm, friendly demeanor. The location of the B&B could not be better - next to the train station and an easy walk to the Loch and shops. The family room was a bit cramped for three adults, but Becky did everything to make us as comfortable as possible in the space given that limitation. While Loch Lomond was delightful our favorite part of Balloch was playing guitar with Graeme in the morning before heading out. Becky and Graeme kindly accommodated our schedule - storing our luggage in the B&B after we checked out and shifting their schedule to be back to let us in to pick up our luggage so we could make our train. Valhalla B&B is just a gem.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Only stayed for one night as we were biking around scotland for a couple of days, but the room was comfortable, the shower was hot and we were given some good recommendations for places to eat and drink even on a sunday night. Breakfast was well received too, full cooked version, preceded with cereal and tea. We were able to store the motorbikes in the back yard and Graham was very helpful when had to attempt a repair to a blown exhaust.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed at the Valhalla from Thursday 1st to Sunday 4th Aug whilst attending a wedding at Cameron House. Six of us booked in and our stay was brilliant. Our accommodation was excellent as was Rebecca and Graham's hospitality. The B and B was central for the wedding we were attending and also for some of the other activities we undertook during the weekend. Thanks very much. We would definitely recommend The Valhalla to anyone visiting the Loch Lomond area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is definitely a great choice for an affordable stay in Balloch. The hosts are really welcoming and breakfasts are delicious. The B and B is well located - only a short walk to the Loch and near the train station, restaurants and shop.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Dalles, Oregon
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I and an adult son stayed in the family room during our July visit to Scotland in order to take in the Loch Lomond Highland Games. This lovely B&B couldn't have been more convenient - directly across from the rail station and just a few blocks from the park where the games were held. We crossed from the rail station with our packs and Graeme opened the door before we knocked - we couldn't have felt more welcomed.

The room was lovely and quiet and well appointed and the Scottish fry up breakfast a treat. Congratulations to Graeme and Becky for providing such a lovely stop in Balloch and for your well-deserved praise here on Trip Advisor!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights in this lovely B&B as we wanted to visit Loch Lomond.
Perfect location, centrally located nearby the train station and all Balloch's amenities.
Graeme and Becky are very welcoming and helpful. The room with an en suite bathroom was both comfy and clean. We enjoyed breakfast, a good kick to start your day!
We definitely recommend this B&B to anyone willing to visit the area.
Thanks again Graeme and Becky for contributing to our great experience in Loch Lomond.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valhalla Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valhalla Bed & Breakfast

Address: 14 Tullichewan Rd, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8SN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Balloch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Balloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valhalla Bed & Breakfast provides quality accommodation right in the very heart of Balloch. Directly next to the railway station, and only a few hundred meters from the picturesque riverside, we have en-suite rooms which can cater for single travellers, or parties of up to seven people. Valhalla's fresh decor, legendary breakfasts, and free wi-fi, mean there is no better choice when staying in the Loch Lomond area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Valhalla Bed & Breakfast Balloch, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valhalla Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.