We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valhalla Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Balloch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Valhalla Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Valhalla Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
14 Tullichewan Rd, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8SN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Balloch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed in the valhalla B&B this weekend. Fantastic service, clean rooms The room was spacious, modern, well stocked with supplies and immaculately clean, as other reviewers have said previously. The en-suite bathroom was also equally as clean and well stocked. lovely breakfast and in a great location, Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
53
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed in the valhalla B&B last weekend. Fantastic service, clean rooms, lovely breakfast. Would recommend the Balloch House Hotel for food and drinks and the cuccina restaurant (must book in advance), both less than a 2 minute walk from the B&B. Great location.

Graeme and Becky couldn't have been more helpful and even left us a card and a bottle of wine when they found it was my husband's birthday. Will definitely be back here and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed at Valhalla for one night with my wife and three year old son to visit Loch Lomond, and I can't recommend the place highly enough. Besides the fact that the rooms are beautiful (which they are), the standard of service is what really sets it apart from the pack.

We found Becky and Graeme very accommodating and friendly, allowing us not only to pay for our stay on checkout due to the bank holiday messing our money about, but also allowing us to leave our (considerable) luggage there after checkout while we went on a boat trip round the loch. Things like that make all the difference to me personally.

The room was spacious, modern, well stocked with supplies and immaculately clean, as other reviewers have said previously. The en-suite bathroom was also equally as clean and well stocked. We were in room 5 and the door leading out to the courtyard was good, as it allowed us to air the room a bit in the morning. Breakfast was excellent and the selection of DVDs in the breakfast room for use in the rooms was another nice little touch, which clearly shows the hosts' consideration for their guests.

We found the price very fair, especially considering the wonderful location, literally right next to the train station and a very short walk from the town, although it wasn't noisy in the slightest.

We found Balloch a lovely little town, with some excellent restaurants, etc. We've only been back not even a day and can't wait to go back. When we do, we'll definitely be seeking out Valhalla and would recommend it to anyone. If only Visit Scotland / Tourist Information would do the same, instead of sending everyone who enquires to their own family's bed and breakfast across the bridge. Such is life, unfortunately.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meppel, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here with 4 people while we were biking in scotland. The owners Greame and Becky were very nice and helpfull when we needed a repair for the bike and needed some clothes washing. Great service. The rooms are very clean and nice. Very good place to stay.

Room Tip: Very good place to stay when you're in balloch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just home after spending 2 nights at this lovely B&B. The owners Becky & Graeme are really friendly, the place is immaculate, the breakfast was fab, nothing was a bother to the Hosts. The B&B is within walking distance to all Pubs and Restaurants, Train St is just across the road. Hope to be back soon

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Valhalla B&B in Balloch in September. The location was perfect, right next to the train station and near every amenity. The moment we arrived, we were made to feel very welcome indeed. Graeme and Becky are remarkably friendly and open hosts. We enjoyed every moment of our trip, from the delicious breakfasts every morning, the clean and beautifully appointed rooms to the friendly and very helpful hosts. Add that to the beauty of Loch Lomond itself, we were very reluctant indeed to leave. And to top it all, Graeme&Becky took the trouble to drop us off in his car at our bus stop and even packed us a huge and tasty lunch! Thank you both for being such great hosts.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We went to Balloch to visit our friends and as it was my birthday we decided to stay somewhere other than their couch for once!
Valhalla was an excellent choice and we are so grateful to all the previous reviewers for recommending it. Graeme and Becky were charming and made us feel extremely welcome. The room was gorgeous and impeccably clean and the ensuite shower room was fab too.
Breakfast was lovely - we were asked each evening what we wanted for breakfast, but being quite easy going, we just went for the full Scottish and/or cereal.
The whole experience was fantastic and we will definitely be coming back when we next visit Balloch.
One little tip, would be that they should get a wifi router with a stronger range, as it didn't quite stretch to our room (room 5), but this did not in any way take away from our lovely stay.
Thanks so much x

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valhalla Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valhalla Bed & Breakfast

Address: 14 Tullichewan Rd, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8SN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Balloch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Balloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valhalla Bed & Breakfast provides quality accommodation right in the very heart of Balloch. Directly next to the railway station, and only a few hundred meters from the picturesque riverside, we have en-suite rooms which can cater for single travellers, or parties of up to seven people. Valhalla's fresh decor, legendary breakfasts, and free wi-fi, mean there is no better choice when staying in the Loch Lomond area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Valhalla Bed & Breakfast Balloch, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valhalla Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.