We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience in Balloch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valhalla Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Balloch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Valhalla Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Valhalla Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
14 Tullichewan Rd, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8SN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 Balloch B&B and Inns
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A wonderful experience in Balloch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Valhalla B&B in Balloch in September. The location was perfect, right next to the train station and near every amenity. The moment we arrived, we were made to feel very welcome indeed. Graeme and Becky are remarkably friendly and open hosts. We enjoyed every moment of our trip, from the delicious breakfasts every morning, the clean and beautifully appointed rooms to the friendly and very helpful hosts. Add that to the beauty of Loch Lomond itself, we were very reluctant indeed to leave. And to top it all, Graeme&Becky took the trouble to drop us off in his car at our bus stop and even packed us a huge and tasty lunch! Thank you both for being such great hosts.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
50
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We went to Balloch to visit our friends and as it was my birthday we decided to stay somewhere other than their couch for once!
Valhalla was an excellent choice and we are so grateful to all the previous reviewers for recommending it. Graeme and Becky were charming and made us feel extremely welcome. The room was gorgeous and impeccably clean and the ensuite shower room was fab too.
Breakfast was lovely - we were asked each evening what we wanted for breakfast, but being quite easy going, we just went for the full Scottish and/or cereal.
The whole experience was fantastic and we will definitely be coming back when we next visit Balloch.
One little tip, would be that they should get a wifi router with a stronger range, as it didn't quite stretch to our room (room 5), but this did not in any way take away from our lovely stay.
Thanks so much x

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying in the valhalla bnb early this month for a quiet break away with my wife. The room we stayed in was immaculate and the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Graeme and becky were very pleasant and made us feel very welcome, Graeme cooked an outstanding full scotish breakfast and then we set off for a romantic walk along the loch witch is right on the door step. Also close by are a range of restaurants and local pubs and lomond shores for things to do If I were to be staying in balloch again I would definately look up Graeme and becky

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights in August. Friendly hosts, very quiet, with spotlessly clean, fresh and modern rooms. Super location - across the road from the train station (easy to travel into Glasgow), walking distance to some very nice restaurants (we went to Cucina, The Lochside and Stables, all of which I would recommend) and a great base for exploring the stunning Loch Lomond/Trossachs area. Good, free wifi. Off-road parking. Tea/coffee facilities in room. Useful little fridge in the dining room to put stuff in if you want. The only slight downfall of the place for me was the breakfast - the only thing on offer apart from the cooked breakfast was cereal. As I'm not the greatest fan of cooked breakfasts I would have liked to have had more choice apart from this, such as fresh fruit, yoghurt, porridge, juice other than orange. Also everyone seemed to be given a default cooked breakfast - we weren't asked what exactly we did/didn't want and we weren't offered a choice of how we wanted our eggs cooked (until our third morning there). But this is perhaps a case of personal taste and I would still certainly recommend the B&B as a place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We had a lovely nights stay at Valhalla when we were attending a wedding nearby. Graeme and Becky were great hosts, the bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was spot on! The location is also fantastic, across the road from the train station and a short walk to the country park. Our room was spotlessly clean and lovely and warm for the blustery July day! We will recommend and will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersheba, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed for one night in a very rainy day in June, despite that we really enjoyed the place, Becky and Graeme were very nice. The location was comfortable and the breakfast was good.
Unfortunately we didn't have an opportunity to see the town too much :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Becky and Graeme were fantastic hosts! We were there for our anniversary, and they went out of their way to make us welcome. Newly - and very tastefully - furnished, comfy bed, delicious breakfast, free wi-fi, parking...my wife and I have only praise for Valhalla!

The location of being less than a block away from the main street through the city gave us the benefit of being within easy walking distance of just about everything in town, but without the noise of traffic on the main street.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Valhalla Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valhalla Bed & Breakfast

Address: 14 Tullichewan Rd, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8SN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Balloch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Balloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valhalla Bed & Breakfast provides quality accommodation right in the very heart of Balloch. Directly next to the railway station, and only a few hundred meters from the picturesque riverside, we have en-suite rooms which can cater for single travellers, or parties of up to seven people. Valhalla's fresh decor, legendary breakfasts, and free wi-fi, mean there is no better choice when staying in the Loch Lomond area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Valhalla Bed & Breakfast Balloch, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valhalla Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.