We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a happy place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodvale B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Woodvale B&B to your Saves list
Woodvale B&B
Drymen Rd, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8HT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 24 Balloch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
HQ:Finland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Such a happy place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed at Woodvale B&B for four nights on our honeymoon.

First of all, Alison is who makes this place worth staying at. She's the friendliest, bubbliest and one of the most caring persons I've ever met. I had trouble with my knee and she lent her walking stick when we decided to take the walk up Ben Lomond. When my husband got a sunburn on his face, she gave us aloe vera gel to soothe his irritated skin. We talked and laughed with Alison, she has a great sense of humour, and ultimately felt like we were an extended part of her family.

Our room was small but cozy. This is a bed&breakfast in the true sense of the word: you get a clean and comfortable room and a delicious breakfast. No frills, but we didn't need any. We were well looked after and had a lovely stay.

The Balloch railway station is only about a 7 minutes walk away and a bus to Balmaha stops right at the door if you want to explore the Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park. Woodvale is located perfectly; everything is at an easy distance but you're staying at the quieter part of town (although during our stay the whole Balloch was pretty quiet).

I recommend wholeheartedly staying at Woodvale B&B. The place is clean and comfortable and Alison is an excellent hostess. We'll definitely return if we are to visit Balloch again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
64
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Had an absolutely great weekend in Balloch and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at 'The Woodvale'.
Alison is a very likeable,courteous and friendly hostess who has obviously worked very hard to get her home and property to a standard which is second to none.
I could sit and repeat everything what all the previous reviews have said but all I need to add is that if you are considering a stay near to the banks of Loch Lomond,look no further.
Go ahead and book now in case you miss the opportunity and are left disappointed.
'The Woodvale' is rated #1 in Tripadvisor ratings for the area and it is through the true dedication and professionalism of Alison that this has been awarded.
Thank you so much for such a great stay.
Perfect ....

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to ask about multiple rooms as this accomodation has rooms to cater for small gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We [4] were in the area for a wedding and stayed two nights. The rooms were spacious and clean. The breakfast were very good with a range of items to choose from. Alison was very helpful in terms of advice etc and made us feel very welcome. Only 10 minutes from the railway station if you want to go to Glasgow [40 minute trip each way].

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, Kent
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

What a fantastic B&B - an absolute gem with comfortable rooms (a number of colleagues stayed in the same place), a brilliant welcome from the wonderful Mrs. Thompson who treated one and all like long lost freinds rather than paying customers. Fantastic bathroom, squeeky clean and a really comfortable bed. Breakfast was knock out - hugely recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is BY far the best bed and breakfast that I have had the pleasure in staying in!
From the moment we arrived, Alison took very good care of us. I had been emailing her back and forth for months before our trip to Balloch and from the moment I started talking to her I knew I had made a good choice. The hospitality that we recieved during our stay was beyond anything we had expected. The rooms are gorgeous, impeccaby clean and very "homey".
The breakfast Alison prepared was amazing as well, you tell her what you would like and what time you would like it and it is ready for you. Not only was the food delicious, Alison knows the area very well and she will give you a map and tell you the places that are a must see. We will definately be back to see Alison and her family again! People you need to stay here and enjoy the bonnie bonnie banks of Loch Lomond!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

This B&B is ideally placed as a launchpad for exploring the Loch as its easy to go east and west and there is a station only 5 minutes walk away. The host is very friendly and knowledgeable and goes out of her way to help. The rooms are comfortable and clean and you feel as though you can come and go as you please. Its a very short walk to the shops and eateries of Balloch which is a nice change after several days in more remote locations around the Loch. Highly recommend as a starting point for exploring the Lochs.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I recommend Woodvale to anyone seeking a friendly, modern, quiet place to stay in the southern Loch Lomond area. A friend and I wanted to get over jet lag by exploring the quiet beauty of Scotland before moving to London for three weeks of study. Woodvale B&B provided us with easy opportunities to see the area and also to rest. Allie, the hostess, made sure that we had everything we needed and then some. Breakfast was amazing, Allie gave us great suggestions for sightseeing and dining, and the entire house was both clean and cozy. The house is a little walk from 'downtown' Balloch, which is just enough to get away from the tour groups leaving from the marina but not too far to access the train station, boat tours, and restaurants. Loch Lomond is home to my ancestors, and I hope to stay with Allie again since she made my trip there feel like I was indeed coming home!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodvale B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodvale B&B

Address: Drymen Rd, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8HT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Balloch
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Balloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly welcome awaits you here at Woodvale. Whether you look for a quiet or active break, it can be found and enjoyed here on the shores of Loch Lomond and just a short walk away from Woodvale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Woodvale B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodvale B&B Balloch, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodvale B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.