We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Bed and Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunnyside B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sunnyside B&B to your Saves list
Sunnyside B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Main Street North, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 9JX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 24 Balloch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Whitley Bay
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Brilliant Bed and Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed here one night on way to Loch Awe. Comfortable, clean and excellent value for money. Frank and Lorraine were the ideal hosts, so friendly and helpful. Breakfast was superb a great start to the day. We had a twin bedded room overlooking the hills and had a great nights sleep, bathroom although a little small spotless and had everything you needed. Thoroughly recommended would definitely stay here if in area again.

Room Tip: Twin room at front of property has decent view of hills and is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    72
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
89
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I was visiting the Loch Lomond area for a wedding in May and I found this B&B which was very nearby. The owners were excellent hosts and very helpful about where to go and also in getting checked in and meals sorted out etc.

I was there for the weekend and literally everything I asked from the B&B, they delivered on. I am a vegetarian and they made sure I had food which I liked, and they were always on hand to make sure I had everything I needed.

I would recommend this place to anyone wanting to travel and stay in the Loch Lomond area

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, choose any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Went to Sunnyside for my cousins birthday party and myself and my mum were made welcome from the moment the door was opened.

We were in the Twin en Suite with a wonderful view of the surrounding hills. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. Will go back again soon

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My wife and I needed a B&B in the locality and this one could not have been better. Very reasonable priced and excellent value for money. Frank and Lorraine are excellent hosts, and the full breakfast set us up for the day. It would be an ideal base for anyone wishing to explore the southern end of Loch Lomond and the Firth of Clyde.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. Some en suite facilities are on the small side but no problems for a short stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights May 2013 and were made very welcome from day one. The room was spotless and comfortable. Frank and Lorraine are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The location although within walking distance (5/10 mins) of a train station is quite and peaceful. We used the train some days instead of the car. Excellent location for exploring Glasgow, Loch Lomond and the Trossachs. Walking distance to Balloch. The breakfast which you can change everyday is to die for, wonderful. We would stay again and certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: Any room will be a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eyemouth, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The B&B was fab and just what we needed. The rooms were clean and tidy and the owners were very nice and friendly. i stayed on night at Sunnyside last week it was cozy and homely! i stayed in a en-suite single room and it came with teddy too! A wide range of choices for breakfast and I would definitely highly recommended anyone with family or single person to stay over.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Like a lot of people, we stayed at Sunnyside to break our journey, this time to Mull, 10 days ago. Tucked away in a quiet area, it was a peaceful little haven. Our room was lovely, with everything we needed - even down to the teddy on the bed! Frank and Lorraine were so friendly and provided us with the best of service and then some. Breakfast was as plentiful as we wanted and well cooked. We asked for a flask of coffee to take with us - and they charged us less than a cup of coffee in a restaurant, giving us the small milk containers and sugar as well. Had the weather been better, there was a lovely little garden we could have spent time in. this would be ideal for a trip to Loch Lomond - apparently there are a number of excellent golf courses around!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunnyside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside B&B

Address: Main Street North, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 9JX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Balloch
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Balloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunnyside B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Sunnyside B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside B&B Balloch, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunnyside B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.