We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy the view of Loch Long from your bedroom & dining room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burnbrae Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Burnbrae Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Burnbrae Bed and Breakfast
Shore Road, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Arrochar B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Enjoy the view of Loch Long from your bedroom & dining room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed with Janice at Burnbrae B & B for 3 nights, we found the room to be spacious and well appointed with a good size bathroom. After a long day out it was good to be able to come back and relax on a sofa with a sherry and sweets. Janice provided a very good breakfast, with a choice of cereals, juice, yoghurts, refreshing melon and fruit, hot breakfast was what you desired, full scottish, poached eggs and bacon or even kippers, all delicious, plus fresh coffee or a port of tea. We enjoyed being able to look out of the windows (bedroom & dining room) and watch the birds on the feeders and aso the water birds on the loch. Off street parking is also a bonus.
I have to agree/DISAGREE with Charlie C, there is a slight cigarette smell in the entrance when you walk in from outside, BUT there was NO cigarette smell upstairs or in the dining room and our clothes where not effected.
We would recommend Burnbrae B & B
Rosanna and Peter
Melbourne
Australia

Room Tip: Check for LARGE room with extra sofa or comfortable arm chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    19
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
89
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed in this b&b for just one night and booked it on the go just two hours before we arrived. The house doesnt look the best from outside but this gives the wrong impression. We found an extremely cute room with a lot of love in the detail, such as free sherry and and a good range of dvds and cds (and a cd player). The bathroom was very clean and relatively modern. The view was overlooking the loch with a country pub next door (one should prebook a table here). The lady was very friendly and made a fantastic breakfast. The only drawback for this room was that it smelled a bit like smoke, which we didnt like. We had a look at the other room which did not seem to have this problem, so maybe we just came at a bad timing. All in all definetely recommendable, one should have cash though, as the only cash machine in this village was not working.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Burnbrae is a great base if you want to walk in the Loch Long area. Located right on the banks of Loch Long and immediately next door to the Village Inn, the location couldn't be better. The twin bedroom is very spacious, the view from the shower is unbeatable and the breakfast is delicious.

However, I would have to agree with JMMartin_11's comment about the cigarette smoke smell - it is obvious as soon as you enter the property, and by the end of our two night stay all of clothes smelt of it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

This is not a standard bed and breakfast. The location is second to none - with just a quiet road between the B&B and Loch Long and the Cobbler on the other side of the Loch. Its also next door to a fantastic country pub with good food and friendly staff. We had the double room, great view of the loch and full of little extras you would not find in many a pricey hotel. There were cd and dvd players with a generous choice of films and music in the room to choose from. There were games in the drawers, a little jar of sweets and a decanter of sherry. The bed was extremely comfortable, we struggled to get out of it in the mornings. Janice was very happy to make whatever we wanted for breakfast, kippers, porridge, smoked salmon and scrambled egg were all wonderful. Not to mention the home made strawberry jam. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Ideally situated on the shores of Loch Long with the attractive Village Inn right next door, Burnbrae proved immaculately clean and comfortable and it served an excellent breakfast. However, the bedrooms, breakfast room and hallway reeked of cigarette smoke, despite the fact that all the windows were open on our arrival (in February, with the central heating full on!) and despite a no-smoking sign prominently displayed on the door separating the guest quarters from the landlady's private rooms. I have no proof but I suspect the landlady herself may be a smoker (she certainly had what sounded like a smoker's cough) so I imagine this could be a problem that other guests encounter. Not a B&B that I would stay at again or one that I would recommend to non-smokers.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burny, Owner at Burnbrae Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
I am sorry that you found our house "smokey" but there is a pub next door with two log fires and we seem to get most of the whiff!.As to my "smokers cough" Thank you for your concern, but was just getting over a winter cold. I wish you had said something at the time and it could have been solved. You all said what a great time you had had and the boys even left us a picture. It's a shame you felt the need to slate us on Tripadvisor without mentioning it to us first. We do have smokers stay at the house as we try not to discriminate against anybody. They are NOT allowed to smoke in the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpujarras
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

I took my Spanish fiance on a trip to my birthplace, Arrochar, and stayed here and Janice looked after us beautifully! So many lovely Scottish touches including the Monarch of the Glen over our bed! Wonderful views, attention to every detail, terrific breakfast and we changed our plans to return there after our trip to Islay. Loved it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

This is a delightful B&B; but actually it is more like a hotel!
The rooms are spacious and tastefully appointed with so much attention to detail and lovely views across the loch.
The little extras like the sherry decanter,DVD's,CD's etc were most welcome.
The Village Inn next door is perfect for dinner.
Very friendly service and would certainly recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Burnbrae Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnbrae Bed and Breakfast

Address: Shore Road, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Arrochar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burnbrae is a 4-star bed & breakfast on the banks of Loch Long, overlooking the Cobbler (Ben Arthur). Central to all locations - Edinburgh, Stirling, Fort William, Oban and only 40 mins from Glasgow Airport. Be lulled to sleep by the sound of the burn or the rustle of the leaves. Any dietary need met. Mooring available. Ideal honeymoon spot or a birthday or anniversary treat. Open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Burnbrae Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burnbrae Bed And Breakfast Arrochar, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burnbrae Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.