We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but horrible room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Village Inn

Save Saved
You added The Village Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Village Inn
Loch Long, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 18 Arrochar B&B and Inns
Windsor, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice location but horrible room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed for one night only, thank goodness. The bar and lounge area were fine, big log fire blazing away when we arrived so it all looked cosy but we were put in a room in a separate cottage at the back of the inn and it was awful. It was like a cave, cold, damp and dark, with windows looking at onto a wall and two oil tanks. It had obviously been adapted for the disabled so there were handrails and grips everywhere but nowhere to put anything in the bathroom, not even a shelf or a hook so complete lack of forethought there. Hard thin mattress on the bed, without a mattress protector, ditto the pillows, and the bed frame rocked so much when you turned over that we thought it would collapse, so an uncomfortable nigh's sleep.

Dinner was extremely disappointing and breakfast just about ok. Our friends were in one of the main rooms in the inn but they had a large van parked right outside their bedroom window so although their room overlooked the lock they weren't able to see a thing, other than the van.

Room Tip: Avoid the cottage at the back of the inn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
It is very disappointing to receive a comment like this.We work very hard to offer good food & accommodation & will investigate your concern's. I do wish you had brought your concerns about your room & the food to us as we would of been able to rectivie this straight away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    106
    38
    11
    13
See reviews for
44
187
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed (my wife and I) for one night. On the plus side friendly staff, nice bars and the food was pretty good. The hotel however was populated by groups of work men who had a contract nearby. No problem with that, but changed the feel from countryside inn.

the big minus was that we got very little sleep due to a fault with the bathroom fan. It was like a boiling kettle and went on intermittently all night. The room was not overly clean and dated.

We brought the noisy fan to the attention of the lady who checked us in and out - she called across a guy who gave us a detailed explanation as to why the fan made the noise. This was rather annoying as they obviously knew about the noise, yet still put us in the room!!

No-one apologised.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
I would like to apologise for the noise in your room. I will do my best to get this rectified. I am sorry you felt it was more like a contractors inn. Arrochar is getting a lot of work to make it more of a tourist destination which is great for visitors and villagers. I do hope you will come back and visit us again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crazy Geordie
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed the experience.
The room was a good size, comfortable, quiet and with a very deep freestanding Victorian bath, great for relaxing in after a hard walk on the hills.
The food is of a very high standard, with great specials each night. The bar has a good atmosphere and is well stocked with great local beers and a superb whisky collection.
The staff are very friendly and helpful with a very professional attitude.
The location is excellent for hill walkers and for the Loch Lomond area. It also has a beautiful view of loch long from the restaurant. All in all a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Although I didn't stay in one, I'd try for a room with a view of the loch next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
thank you so much for your generous feedback, we strive to make everyones visit an enjoyable one. we do hope you intend to return to see us again very soon. best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stopped here for lunch at the weekend as we were staying in a hotel nearby.

We enjoyed it so much, we went back for dinner and stayed there till closing, the food was out of this world, staff were very friendly.

The next time i visit the area i will def be staying in this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for an amazing review. We do hope you stay with us the next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Group of friends stayed at arrochar beginning of the month, four if us in the village inn and 2 in the arrochar hotel, the village was a dream for me my wife likes (classy )hotels, i prefer homely hotels with an atmosphere and scenery
Perfect setting , food outstanding, made to feel very welcome
My new fave place without a doubt
12 of is booked aain for the 24th august this year really cannot wait.
Superb.
Martin ohare

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
We are delighted you had a fabulous time & cant wait for you returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erskine, Scotland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have stayed at the Village Inn on several occasions and would happily go back today. Fantastic intimate little bar with a burning log fire. The dining area is similar in decor and they serve up the best in Scottish cuisine. (Try and get the table next to the large window....wonderful views out onto Loch Long).
Fantastic Hotel be it in Summer or to cosy up in winter looking out onto the great countryside.
Love it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are furnished nicely with crackin good comfy big beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you very much for the positive comments. We all work hard to offer good food & friendly service. I will pass your feedack onto the team & we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night as a stop over. Greeted by friendly staff after a long drive. The room was comfortable with a lovely deep bath. Hotel has ample parking, We didn't dine in the restaurant as we had dined enroute but what we did see looked delicious. Bar very cosy and reasonably priced. Great Breakfast next morning to set us up for the day. Beautiful views over the Loch, would stay again and have already recommended it to friends that i know are in this area frequently.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive comments & do hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn

Address: Loch Long, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Arrochar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village Inn, Arrochar has 14 en-suite bedrooms all of which provide fresh, comfortable and welcoming double accommodation. They are all tastefully decorated and furnished in a traditional classic rustic style.We have 10 double bedrooms (some with large double ended baths!) in the main building and a further 4 bedrooms in the beautifully restored annexe building to the rear of the inn. The annexe has 3 double rooms and 1 twin room with 2 of these bedrooms being on the ground floor.The 2 superior rooms in the main building come with 4 poster beds and offer stunning views over Loch Long and the "Arrochar Alps". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Arrochar
The Village Inn Arrochar, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.