We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Village Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Village Inn to your Saves list
The Village Inn
Loch Long, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 Arrochar B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly and helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We found that the staff couldn't do enough for us and looked after our every need. We have an 8 month old and they were so helpful with high chairs, spare sheets, heating food. To be honest anything we needed.

It's a lovely little hotel with a great pub / restaurant attached. We had a room with a view and it had everything we needed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, Sales Coordinator at The Village Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your generous review. We look forward to you & your family visiting us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Hazel Woodrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    126
    40
    12
    16
See reviews for
52
219
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Arrived there on Friday and stayed until today (Sunday) was a good deal at £80 and was looking forward to it. Unfortunately it didn't live up to expectations, primarily because of one particular female member of the serving staff who treated us shabbily on the Friday evening in the restaurant, forgetting us, even forgetting the bread starter, while attending to other tables. Upon complaining we were told not to be "obnoxious" and heard her saying "sorry about them" to another table of diners! How very professional! Next day at breakfast this lady took our breakfast order -then we waited..then 45 minutes later, she asked us how was breakfast, we replied we hadn't received it! Another 20 minutes later it arrived, so over an hour after the initial order. She then blamed the chef who was "just back from holiday"! We both believed this was her way of getting back for complaining the night before. I would have given this place only a one star rating but the other staff were good and one young lady was particularly nice early yesterday evening (sat) in the bar. We were a bit disappointed to be given a room at the back of the building seeing as we were there earlier than those who got these rooms, but the bath was nice, though the shower-head was faulty, spraying water in various directions, soaking the floor and changing temperature from cold to burning hot constantly. Will not be rushing back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, Sales Coordinator at The Village Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We strive to provide a friendly and welcoming experience. Please accept our apologies and be assured that this is not normal practice.

Kind Regards
Hazel Woodrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Decided to visit The Village Inn on recommendation from staff where were were staying. We were not disappointed. The staff were attentive and pleasant and the atmosphere was warm and welcoming.
The food was excellent and cooked exactly as we had requested(steak). We plan on visiting again before our holiday ends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, Sales Coordinator at The Village Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed you meal & look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Hazel Woodrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is a lovely secret place to go for a great cosy night. We have been on several occasions and the food, staff and breakfast are all brilliant. We always stayed in the rooms above the bar and restaurant which all have there own decor. This time we were in room 10 and didn't like it as much as Rooms 1,2,3 or 4 however still had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, Sales Coordinator at The Village Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your generous review. We look forward to welcoming you back. Please remember to ask for one of the rooms above the bar the next time you book & we will do our best to accommodate you.

Kind Regards
Hazel Woodrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow, scotland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Surprised at paying such a small cost for such a beautiful place to stay for the night. We got a last minute deal for this Loch Lomond hotel in Arrochar. And although it was a room for the night, it resembled a lodge style room which was fab. Breakfast in the morning was brill and cooked fresh. But have to say the staff were wonderful. Very pleasant and more than willing to help us throughout our stay. We decided to eat at the Inn and were astounded by the quality of the food and such an affordable price. Only 45 mins from Glasgow by car. Soooooo relaxing. Wish we had stayed 2 nights. Very busy the night we were there.

Only thing I would say is that the room was very dusty i.e the lights above the bed and the cupboards provided, but beds and bathroom were clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, Sales Coordinator at The Village Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your generous review. We will take on board your comments & look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Hazel Woodrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

had a wonderful stay at the village inn recently. i can't find anything to fault (except that for the first time anywhere in the UK, I felt a little hot at times...but i was sitting next to the open fires in both rooms at the time). The Village Inn is exactly the type of unobtrusive hotel build that that the rural parts of the UK require..its picture postcard pretty and the interior doesnt let it down either. The pub is small and inviting, the selection of wines, beers, ales and soft drinks are great. The restaurant does some great food and the breakfasts are wonderful. The staff were more than helpful. The room that we had overlooked the loch (as i think most of them do) all i can say is that the view from my window was like a framed picture...it personified tranquility and peace...just nature at its best. The room was wonderfully decorated and the attention to detail in terms of the soft furnishings fit the feel of the Inn. I would say the room was luxurously cosy, inviting and comfortable. If you want to stay in a well converted stagecoach inn that still has its original features and fitting with some well made 21st century adjustments, this is the place to be. I would have no hesitation in recommending this place to anyone...it really is a gem of a place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, Sales Coordinator at The Village Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
What a wonderful review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to you returning in the future.

Kind Regards
Hazel Woodrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The staff were great - really attentive and one guy even came and got my keys for our room even though he had finished for the day and was taking a break in the bar. Breakfast and evening meals were good value for money - rooms are basic but do the job - shower in the room was really poor but the views were lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, Sales Coordinator at The Village Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your generous review. We will take on board your comments & look forward to you returning in the future.

Kind Regards
Hazel Woodrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn

Address: Loch Long, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Arrochar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village Inn, Arrochar has 14 en-suite bedrooms all of which provide fresh, comfortable and welcoming double accommodation. They are all tastefully decorated and furnished in a traditional classic rustic style.We have 10 double bedrooms (some with large double ended baths!) in the main building and a further 4 bedrooms in the beautifully restored annexe building to the rear of the inn. The annexe has 3 double rooms and 1 twin room with 2 of these bedrooms being on the ground floor.The 2 superior rooms in the main building come with 4 poster beds and offer stunning views over Loch Long and the "Arrochar Alps". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Arrochar
The Village Inn Arrochar, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.