We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Village Inn

The Village Inn
Main Street? | Arrochar Village, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Arrochar
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Santarem, Portugal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Very good Scottish food, the waiters were very helpful, and the fire place was just right for a rainy day

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, Sales Coordinator at The Village Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Hopefully it wont be raining.

Kind Regards
Hazel Woodrow
Area Sales Coordinator
Maclay Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    147
    36
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, West Midlands
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Great staff, good food, great beer and a nice atmosphere. God value, with some standard pub fayre but also something a bit more special, all good value. The bar is kept as a bar, and the restaurant is a seperate room, which is nice. The only problem? It's far too popular! On a Fri/Sat night the bar is full to the point that getting served is awkward, and you'll have no chance of a table in the restaurant- that can be a game even midweek, so ring and book.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, Sales Coordinator at The Village Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for a fantastic review. We do hope you will visit us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Hazel Woodrow
Area Sales Coordinator
Maclay Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Oh wow what a fantastic place to eat, there is a beautiful Loch side view with mountains behind, fantastic outside seating, plus the day we went a fab duo singing too what more could you ask, this place is absolutely spotless, the food is quality and the home made desserts to die for particularly the tablet cheesecake, we will be back many thanks to the wonders and staff a truly memorable visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, Sales Coordinator at The Village Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back. Let us know so we can put our Tablet Cheesecake on the Menu.

Kind Regards
Hazel Woodrow
Area Sales Coordinator
Maclay Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good competent pub fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We were warned by staff to book for dinner on Sunday night, so we duly booked a table for 19:00. Sure enough, when we arrived, there was a sign up saying they were fully booked. Our table wasn't ready, so we waited in the bar for about 15 minutes. I was therefore quite surprised to see a number of empty tables in the dining area, which remained empty until we left some two and a half hours later. Maybe they only book according to the number of staff available?

The menu had a fair selection of choices in addition to the specials board. I enjoyed my starter of Cullen Skink, which had a good helping of smoked haddock and was obviously thickened with real potato - tasty and hearty. Our other starter of tomato and basil tart was surprising in that it contained raw tomatoes and fresh basil, but once we got over the raw ingredients on the cooked tart base we found it very refreshing and light.

For my main course I chose a rack of lamb, and was expecting 4-6 ribs still in the rack. What I got was three fairly small chops (maybe I'm just greedy!). However, they were tasty and tender with a very rich and flavoursome gravy. The salmon main course was cooked competently and well presented, but apart from that was not particularly memorable.

Service was friendly and knowledgeable, but a bit slow at times (especially considering the restaurant was not at capacity).

All in all, it was a pretty good meal. Not the cheapest, and not the very best I have ever had, but there are not all that many places to eat within Arrochar. However, I would eat there again if I was in the area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, Sales Coordinator at The Village Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for your review. I would like to apologise for you wait to be seated. We always allocate tables for our residents as there isnt another restaurant in the area, that is why there would be empty tables. I do hope this would not put you off visiting us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Hazel Woodrow
Area Sales Coordinator
Maclay Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Service was brilliant - v friendly and quick. We both had meals from the specials board and was v v nice. My salmon was delicious. I am still raving about it now. We very much enjoyed our meal here. Nicest restaurant we found in the area.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, Sales Coordinator at The Village Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Good Afternoon. Thank you for posting an excellent review. We look forward to welcoming you back & please tell all your friends about the Salmon.

Kind Regards
Hazel Woodrow
Area Sales Coordinator
Maclay Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Village Inn also viewed

Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.