We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chris+sue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loch Long Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arrochar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loch Long Hotel
Save
You added Loch Long Hotel to your Saves list
Main Road, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“chris+sue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

another great holiday with Lochs+Glens,this time to their Loch Long hotel,this is our second visit to this hotel and this time our room was an improvement over the last time.
The staff here are very good,nothing too much trouble,the food is excellent,bar prices are reasonable compared to pubs.
Our room was clean and spacious with a large bathroom.
Evening entertainment is fine.
The excursions are very good and well planned,the drivers are very good with a very high standard of driving,the coaches are comfortable with good legroom.
Its a long trip up from Norfolk but the stops are adequate.

So if you want a good holiday we can recommend Lochs+Glens !

Room Tip: Phone their head office and tell them what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    49
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
23
96
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chard
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

From the moment we arrived the staff were attentive and could not do enough for you.
We were quite surprised at how few Scottish staff there were most of the staff being from another country ( Romania or Latvia i think) that said they were very helpful and very very efficient!
the meals were very good although portions were not huge each meal had 3 courses so we always felt full.
Bedrooms were basic but clean and room service was good.
The bar was very reasonably priced £2.50 for a glass of white wine.
The entertainment was ok but nothing to write home about.
All in all a good budget no frills hotel cheap and cheerful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotherham
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

just come back from a 5day hoilday the hotel was good food good staff was really nice & tours good the only thing was the boiler broke down no hot water repaired the same day one of the best budget hotels well done to ben the coach driver of proctors cant wait to go back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Almost everyone who has commented previously has given 5 stars, and its hardly surprising.

Rather than repeat everything I can simpy endorse everything positive that has been said about the hotel, the staff, the food, the entertainment, the excursions, the coaches, the standard of driving etc.

The only things I would single out for comment are the Glasgow tour and the level of information provided by the driver.

We went round Glasgow in the tour coach and these are really not suitable for a city tour. It is very difficult to see the buildings etc that the tour guide referred to because of the narrow streets and relatively obscured view created by the seats, curtains and low windows. The guide himself (from the tourist authority?) was excellent, rattling off information non-stop, which made it all the more frustrating when you couldn't see what he was talking about most of the time, before he was on to the next point of interest.

By contrast the amount of information provided by our Proctors driver was very limited. It was unusual for him to point out anything at all. However he was a very pleasant, courteous and safe driver and looked after us well.

Would I travel with Proctors Coaches and Lochs and Glens again, and would I stay at Loch Long Hotel? Absolutely yes!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I cannot praise the company of Lochs & Glens enough. From start of journey to the hotel rooms, food and trips I cannot fault them. Coaches are clean, you have enough stops (I travelled from Southend on Sea, Essex to Scotland with them). Room high standard, trips all good and the food is also good - not fancy but good quality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just come back from a New Years Break with Loch and Glens at the Loch Long Hotel. Staff couldn't be more helpful, food good, room good (overlooking the Loch) and entertainment for New Years Eve lived up to its Scottish Heritage, our driver was brilliant (Tony Hutchings). Now booked up for next year with another hotel with Loch and Glens (Loch Long didn't offer New Years Break 2013). Really good value for money. Met up with other Lochs and Glens holiday makers who have stayed over 20 times with this company, say no more!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We have also stayed at the Inversnaid Hotel at another time of the year. This company do know how to treat their guests.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

just back from another Lochsglens holiday these holidays are . a hidden gem. great food and brilliant staff roll on next one driver took us all round the mocha. Judy was great and couldn't do enough the food and service is the best you will find. also try the other hotels located by the lochslocus

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loch Long Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Long Hotel

Address: Main Road, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Number of rooms: 82
Also Known As:
Loch Long Hotel Arrochar, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loch Long Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.