We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value. Ignore the moaners.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Claymore Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arrochar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Claymore Hotel
Save
You added Claymore Hotel to your Saves list
Arrochar | G83 7BB, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7BB, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Preston, Lancashire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great value. Ignore the moaners.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

Just had a weekend with National Holidays. Great reception from the all the staff.

The room was small but very clean and welcoming. Everything worked, except the shower head which was loose. (It still worked though) Great situation on the edge of the Loch - it must be one of the best views in Scotland from a hotel.

The food was good, certainly not 5 star, as some people seem to demand, but good and served well. Breakfast appeared a little small but it was served on large plates!!!

The Bar was 'all inclusive' and though people waited to be served, there were no more problems than with a 'pay' bar. Good, hard working staff. Well done.

Ignore the moaners - remember what you have paid and you've got yourself a great bargain.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    367
    180
    70
    54
See reviews for
118
458
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
newcastle upon tyne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

Just returned from a 2 night stay with National Holidays with 8 female friends. Positives - good food (superb service in dining room), free bar (drinks not usual strength though!), idyllic location with fab views over the Loch, comfortable beds, tea/coffee facilities in room, friendly helpful staff. Negatives - no shower (get attachment from Reception), hotel needs refurbishing as well worn, rooms quite basic (hairdryer but no telephone), queuing for drinks although bar staff worked quickly. All in all - an enjoyable few days away with good friends in bonny Scotland!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

I had read some negative reviews on this hotel but i totally disagree with them i travelled with national holidays and i can say it was wonderful.The rooms were comfortable and very clean. The food was very good and there was enough to please the largest appetite.The staff were very good and nothing was too much trouble i would recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

We have just returned from a 2 day National holidays trip to The Claymore Hotel, Loch Long.
Unfortunately we did not get to spend much time at Loch long as the trip itself took 7 hours, with lengthy stops at a woolen mill and a run down shopping plaza (with only a few shops inside).
However when we arrived the hotel was warm and comfortable. Our double room was basic but clean with a shower room and tea and coffee making facilities and a hairdryer.
The three course dinner was definately pre prepared and warmed up as you ordered as it appears in front of you about 30 seconds after you order. The standard of the food was OK. If I recieved this food in a restaurant I definately would not go back however for the price we paid you could not complain. The free bar was great, not huge queue's and an ample choice of drinks available. The entertainment was social club style with a singer and bingo, but after a few free drinks it was very enjoyable.
Breakfast was an improvement, a nice cooked breakfast with cerial, fruit juice and as much toast as you wanted.
We left very early to come home, (9.00am) so again no time to really explore Loch Long. We stopped twice on the way home, once at Luss, a very nice little village with a beautiful shore line, then again at the same woolen mill. We walked into the village and had a pub lunch as we could not bare to look at tweed jackets for a second time.
All in all, a good trip, very good value for money and as they say it is definately what you make it.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

We have just returned from a 5 day break at the Claymore Hotel. The food was excellent with at least three choices of every course. All food was well presented and the service was excellent. We had a double room overlooking the loch. It was a compact double but it had everything we needed. The room was lovely and warm and we had unlimited hot water. The free bar worked well and we never saw a queue as mentioned in previous reviews. Overall the holiday was excellent the trips were well organised and the Hotel even provided us with a free packed lunch!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

just returned from the claymore,after reading the reveiws i excpected a scruffy run down hotel, i think the people who have left the bad reveiws have got a cheek for what you pay. the food was good, not massive portions but enough and of good quality, yes the rooms are a little shabby but are warm and comfortable, the all inclusive bar was good ,yes you had to que ,but what do they expect ,you still manage to get pleanty drinks as the staff are very efficiant, we went for the 2 nights stay and paid 79.00 ,wat a bargain travel ,food and drink . we decided not to go on the trip the second day has it is allday on the coach again so you can get a LITTLE BUS FROM THE POST OFFICE AT 9.15AM and this takes you to helenbough ,this is a lovley little town ,then you can get a lovley lunch in the village inn wich is only 5 mins from the hotel, we enjoied the lovley veiws of the loch and we ahave booked to go again in april, this is not the hilton so if you want posh pay the posh price, and to all who have booked dont worrie you will have no worries some people complain at everythng enjoy. fay and alan hurst

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

If you're researching this hotel you are probably booked on an all-inclusive coach trip, wanting to know whether to trust the "Should be knocked down" or "another wonderful stay" reviews.
Well, it depends what you are expecting. Having read reviews at both ends of the spectrum, I tried to go with an open mind.
Location is excellent, on the banks of Loch Long. You may get a room with a view, you may not. Either way, the hotel is perfectly situated for a stroll along the banks of the Loch. There is a convenience store nearby and a couple of nice pubs within walking distance.
Upon arrival there were 2 coachloads checking in at the same time, but the staff were ever so efficient, we waited a few short minutes for our room keys. The excellent service continued through our stay.
The rooms are on the small side, but comfortable enough for a short stay. The only thing I would say is that the walls are a little thin in places, and I could hear the people next door go to the toilet and run a bath!
Food was delicious - excellent choice for evening meal. Breakfast adequate but a little on the small side; one sausage, one rasher of bacon, one egg etc. But as much toast and tea as you wish delivered by the hard working waiting staff.

The only downside was the bar/lounge. While some enjoy the "intimate" atmosphere, sharing seats with random strangers in the bar, and a social-club ambience in the function room, this is not the place to be if you're looking for a quiet, romantic drink. The queue for the all-inclusive tiny bar remains at a constant dozen or so people (down from the 36 I counted when it first opened at 7.30!). So, if you are wanting to relax and enjoy a quiet drink and a chat, you're better off cutting your losses on the free bar and heading down to The Village Inn which is a 10 min walk away, and has a lovely bar and open fire.

In summary, yes you get what you pay for - plus a little bit more! And if you don't mind queuing for your beer and enjoy the phoenix-nights atmosphere then you're quids in!

Clean, comfortable hotel with excellent staff, decent food and acceptable rooms.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Claymore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claymore Hotel

Address: Arrochar | G83 7BB, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7BB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Number of rooms: 96
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Arrochar, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claymore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.