We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Treat.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Claymore Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arrochar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Claymore Hotel
Save
You added Claymore Hotel to your Saves list
Arrochar | G83 7BB, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7BB, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“What a Treat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We booked to go to the Claymore for 25/3 - 1/4 5 days with 4 night dinner bed and breakfast with 2 inclusive excursions for £99, and what a treat it was.

I was more than happy with the food at both breakfast and dinner, some people said they were small portions but you do get a 3 course and you are allowed to ask for more if required. I must say that the menu was varied and a choice out of 3 for each course. (very tasty too). The waiter/waitresses are brilliant and are on the ball as soon as you have finished they are asking what you would like next., and always smiling. great staff.

Room on the small side but adequate, you only sleep in it, some rooms have baths and some showers so if you require a shower, request one at booking, if you get a bath, you can ask for a shower attachment at reception.

Entertainment: We only saw 2 nights, 1 night a singer also joined by Elaine from reception which was good, and our last night was a singer/ventriloquist which was hilarious. also quick game of bingo before the shows.

Excursions. Many thanks to Les who took us from Hull and 1 of the excursions, he filled us in with all the knowledge of places we went to or was passing through, along with his humour, it was very interesting (he looks like Santa and talks like Billy Connely - hope he wont mind me saying that) ha

To sum up this was our first National Holidays and it wont be our last, so hope to return again.

Room Tip: Your not really in the room long enough to enjoy a loch view, so personally I dont think it matters...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Many thanks for your review on trip adviser.

Your review was very in-depth and informative for those that have not been to the Claymore Hotel.
I'm so happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you made the decision to put your comments on the internet.
I'm sure Les will not mind your description of him - very accurate!!
I can only look forward to your return to the Claymore Hotel.
Regards,
Gary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    367
    180
    70
    54
See reviews for
118
458
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alnwick, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed here two nights while on a National Holiday tour. The rooms were not outstanding, but that was not a problem. They served their purpose. We were however, blown away by the food. It was fantastic. The location is beautiful and relaxing. The entertainment was great and we all had a good time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Many thanks for your review on trip adviser.

I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that you enjoyed the scenery and the food.
The hotel is situtated in stunning scenery and recently the weather has been very kind to Arrochar- you were very fortunate!
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had been before. Went with National Holidays for 5 days ( without the drinks vouchers). Is set in a beautiful setting , a stones throw from loch long. We paid around £13 extra for scenic view and i would recommend doing this as i heard the other rooms are not as nice and the view not so good at all. We did try the entertainment but only once for half a hour as wasnt too keen on the set out of that part and it was a little drafty too. The staff were very helpful and nice, our tv sort of went bang on our last night but the lady on the reception sorted it herself and got us another one. Strange though that the replacement had 6 channels on and the other one only 5? So there must have been freeview, so maybe all the tv's need to could do with been re tuned? The food was nice, but not very big potions, i was ok but it did not fill my husband.....and that was after 3 courses! The 2 women ( i think they may have been polish but not sure) who served us on a morning and a night were really really nice and helpful. I did feel a bit sorry for them though as they were in short sleeves and it was a bit nippy in the dinning hall. I know it is Scotland though and February....but wearing a coat for tea & breakfast ( like we did) was a bit too much, but it did make us laugh about it. I was also hoping that the curtains in the room where our table was ( table 4) would be opened so we could see the spectacular view, but they never were and that was a shame. All in all though i would recommend this hotel and this holiday, but it does come with the value you pay so we was very pleased with it :)

Room Tip: pay extra for the scenic rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Many thanks for your review on trip adviser.

I'm so glad you enjoyed the beautiful scenery that surrounds the hotel in Arrochar.
I'm also glad that we were able to rectify the problem with your television and had you spoken to the duty manager the dining room curtains would have been opened for you!!
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Claymore Hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We travelled with National Holidays to the Claymore hotel 4th to 8th Feb. The location of the hotel is absolutely wonderful with stunning views of the mountains across loch long. We stayed in a disabled room on the ground floor which was very clean and spacious and well set out. Only criticism really is we had sheets and a blanket instead of duvet which i am not used to so had a few restless nights but that's just personal taste i suppose. The hotel staff were very friendly and efficient nothing was too much trouble for them. I think i can honestly say that it is by far the best coach holiday we have ever been on. The 2 free day excursions to loch lomond, trossachs, and Oban were very enjoyable. We paid an extra (£12) for an excursion to the highlands passing through glen coe to fort william. Wowww! the scenery is absolutely fantastic and the excellent information given by Les our bus driver was very educational. He has a very good knowledge of scottish history. There was also a very good mixture of evening entertainment, vocal, comedy, and even magical. Elaine one of the staff also entertained us with a few songs and has a lovely voice she also sang a couple of duets with Les our bus driver, who also has a very good voice. Overall i can say that we had a really good holiday and wouldn't hesitate in returning to the claymore and would recommend to all. I would like to thank all the staff at the Claymore and also thanks to Les for helping to make it so enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Many thanks for your review on trip adviser.

I'll certainly pass on your great comments to Elaine and Les. I'm also really glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and especially the coach trips.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Claymore in the future.
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

my friend and i stayed here for 5 days in august and found the location beautiful,hotel was good but could have been better.Rooms were basic but cleaned daily, down side was the lack of a shower,but plenty of hot water for baths.We found the food really nice , with a good selection.Staff were friendly and helpful.we travelled with national holidays and thought it was great value for money,getting 4 drinks vouchers per day, glass of wine with evening meal, and 3 day trips included.Evening entertainment consisted of a comedian and singers,and also bingo,not my cup of tea but the older customers seemed to love it.Some parts of the hotel could do with refurbishment but overall a very enjoyable stay, and we would definately return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Many thanks for your review on trip adviser.
I'm glad you enjoyed the location and the food at the hotel.
National holidays offer great value for money and I hope you return to enjoy some more scottish hospitality.
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Fab location, hotel itself shabby but clean. No shower attachment over bath which was a pain when washing hair using plastic tumbler in bathroom. Food just eatable, mainly because it was not hot, and quite tasteless and don't expect a hot cup of tea or coffee, each one we had was just warm. Staff not very helpful, asked if a Birthday cake could be arranged for the next day and was told no, but to get one when we were out on our excursion, someone adding that it was too late to arrange. How long to whip up a basic sponge and put a bit jam in the middle? The four inclusive drink vouchers were great but to get a decent drink that was not watered down you had to pay extra, although I admit not a lot. Holidays here are geared towards the older guest and was regimented, no flexibility, set meal times, set tables to sit at. We booked through National Holidays and paid the full price, then found out people had paid a full £50 less than we had for the 3 day trip as they had booked up later than we had which added insult to injury!

Room Tip: Some of our party stayed in the original part of the hotel and found it to be freezing when the heat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Many thanks for your review on trip adviser.
I'm so glad you enjoyed the location of the hotel but somewhat disappointed to read your other comments.
Rooms rooms with walk in showers are available on request when booking and shower attachments (for rooms with baths only) are available from reception should you require one.
We go out of our way to be helpful to guests but sometimes due to short notice guests requests cannot be fulfilled.
Arrochar is a small village with limited shopping available and the kitchen does not have the facilities to bake cakes on demand. We have supplied cakes to many guests who call in advance to request this but 1 days notice at 5pm on arrival day is a bit short.
The drinks in the bar are not watered down - it would be crazy to do this - with the amount of guests we have staying at the hotel, not to mention illegal!!!!
There were 2 board options available when you were staying at the hotel. One was Bay Inclusive - 4 drinks included with half board and a Gala dinner and the other was Superdeals. This is half board only. You have spoken to guests on Superdeals which are available until the end of March. If any of these issues had been raised while you were at the hotel this would been explained to you.
Regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed at the Claymore for 3 nights in February and enjoyed the experience. We travelled with National Holidays and the overall period was very good and fantastic value. Reasonable food, reasonable entertainment, also included were drinks vouchers which kept the overall cost down and good day trips one to Oban and Inverary. The hotel staff were hard working and very friendly, hotel was clean and as good as you would expect from this kind of tour. The rating for the hotel would be 3+, but with value for money with National Hoilidays we will make it a 4.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Many thanks for your review of the Claymore Hotel.
You're right - National Holidays do offer fantastic value for money and I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay here in Arrochar.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Claymore in the future.
Regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Claymore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claymore Hotel

Address: Arrochar | G83 7BB, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7BB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Number of rooms: 96
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Arrochar, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claymore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.