We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go if you want white table cloths” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Drovers Inn Restaurant

The Drovers Inn Restaurant
Ardlui, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7DX, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 restaurants in Ardlui
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Ayrshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Don't go if you want white table cloths”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

White table cloths and pandering waiters are missing here, but Scottish character, roaring fires, kilts and candles are in abundance. Haggis is good, food is plentiful and prices are not over the top. You either love it or hate it - we love it

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    20
    29
    14
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“1705 Olde Worlde Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Yes, its not the prettiest place on the plan but it does reek of good old fashioned atmosphere. My husband and I had been here a few times previously and tooks family and friends along during a weekend at Loch Lomond. I was worried as it is a bit scary to the naked eye but with log fires and friendly staff, it was very welcoming, Its small and cosy and serves a good selecton of pub food.

We didn't intend eating here but having seen some of the dishes we decided to stay and have a bite to eat. The food was nice enough and plentiful but could have done with being a wee bit warmer. Menu includes the likes of scotch broth, mince & tatties, haggis, steak and guinness pie, lasagne, macaroni cheese and good old fruit crumbe with custard, sticky toffee pudding etc etc.

Many bus loads stopped off but it was a tight squeeze! Its a strange old place with stuffed animals and regulation ghosts but worth mentioning that the ladies toilets are horible and god help any larger ladies as Im not sure they would fit in the cubicles. I am assured that the gents toilet is actually quite nice so come on Drovers Inn and get the ladies up to scratch - two decent sized cublcles would be much better than three tiny ones.

Its a fair wee drive down a rather narrow but scenic road but definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Shabby chic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The exterior is misguiding, it looks rather shabby, but the inside is another world. Dark as dark can be, with fires at both ends of the bar, very atmospheric but I think it's become a tourist trap. The food was "ok", bar service wasn't explained as we sat at our table for quiet a while, and when asked was told to order at the bar as the waiter walked away from us. But, being where it is, and it's history it's worth a stop on the road.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow Scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The Drovers - Love it or loathe it but you'll never forget it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The Drovers really is a one off!

It's akin to a diamond mine ............................horrible to look at but full of hidden gems!

From outside, it looks like a derelict building but open the door & hit the bar for a real Scottish welcome with log fires, good food & great beer & dogs are welcome too!
A perfect place for a few beers & a bite to eat after a day in the hills or on the loch.

We spent Hogmanay here & it was an absolutely brilliant night!
Ok, the band wasn't your trad ceilidh band but they were excellent & really got the place rocking all night long.
We really enjoyed it, thanks guys & thanks to all the staff who worked so hard & then partied along with us later..............you really made it!

The Drovers you're going to love it or loathe it but you really will never forget it!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“def worth a stop off”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

we stopped here for lunch with family. the restaurant is really old and has lots of great atmosphere. we found the staff to be helpful and polite. the food was really nice I highly recommend the Guinness and steak pie.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Drovers Inn Restaurant also viewed

Inverarnan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
 
Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Inverarnan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Drovers Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Drovers Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.