We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilchurn Castle

Kilchurn Castle
Lochawe | Dalmally PA 33, United Kingdom, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Castles, Ancient Ruins
Attraction Details
Canby, Oregon
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Unique Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Kilchurn Castle (under care of Historic Scotland) sits on what seems to be an island in the middle of Loch Awe. Actually, the castle rests on the tip of a peninsula that sticks out into the loch. From a parking area at the northeast of the loch it's as easy walk to the castle ruins. Well signed with information by HS, the castle is interesting and informative to tour. Views from the castle are outstanding.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    27
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Learned a bit about castle history shame we could not get right near castle and could only take pictures from distance

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county durham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A hidden gem not signposted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Managed to see this gem as the sun was setting , absolutely stunning to take great pictures. If you blink you will miss the small signpost

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Breathtaking and dramatic views from atop castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

In may ways this site was the visual highlight of our short tour of Scotland.

My son and I took a Saturday drive from Glasgow towards the north and based on other good reviews I planned to stop here. We were not dissapointed. This castle is something out of a dream, a postcard, or if you are younger perhaps out of a cartoon or video game. You really feel like you have gone back in a time warp.

My son and I were extremely lucky as this castle has a front door that locks and when we arrived there happened to be a tour bus visiting that had the key. Otherwise we would apparently been locked out. So you may want to try and figure out if it should be open when you are there or go with a tour. You can still see a lot from below but the best views are from climbing up to the highest tower and looking out over lake Awe.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worth the walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

A beautiful setting and a beautiful old castle. It would be better if they could open it up and provide a path all the way around but it is nice to see it in its natural state.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilchurn Castle also viewed

Killin, Loch Tay
Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Killin, Loch Tay
 

Been to Kilchurn Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilchurn Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kilchurn Castle to your Saves list