We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chandlers Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ascog
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chandlers Hotel
Save
You added Chandlers Hotel to your Saves list
Ascog Bay, Ascog PA20 9ET, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ascog
Troon, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Anniversary Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We booked a two night deal with Groupon ( which I think everyone who we met during our stay had done ). For the money we paid, I doubt we could do better. The external appearance of the hotel is a bit tired and could do with some TLC but the inside is absolutely lovely, well kept ,very clean and with lots of character. The views are superb and not too far from Rothesay and if you are lucky, as we were, to go when the sun is shining then the deck at the front of the hotel is a great place to relax and unwind for a while.Our room was the smallest in the hotel but was spotless and the decor was lovely. Sure, the bed was on the small side but we were on our anniversary so no complaints there!
There was a recent review which was scathing and they had obviously stayed in the same room as us. All I can say to them is " get a life !" Yeah, no frosted glass in shower room or curtain but there was a lovely view of the bay and I have no idea who could possibly have spied on us as we showered and I could'nt care less.
We ate on our second evening which was our anniversary and it more than lived up to it's reputation. David, the Chef, had spoken to us earlier in the day and he certainly prepared a meal that was very tasty and pleasing on the eye. I had the seafood chowder and then a lamb shank, my wife had the homemade pate followed by the salmon -- both of us agreed it was a cracking meal and as good as we have had on any of our previous 31 anniversary dinners ! We had a cooked breakfast both days which had an extensive choice and was a great start to the day.
Congrats to the owners, who run a very friendly and welcoming hotel and we look forward to returning to Chandlers in the future.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    54
    17
    16
    25
See reviews for
18
142
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We booked a cheap groupon deal for 2 nights. For the money i doubt it could be better.

I read the recent scathing review as i lay in the same room. Yeah sure its not a big bed, but it was fine, the room was small, but again it was fine. The breakfast was lovely and the staff attentive.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it at the price bracket its in.

On the second night we were without asking ,moved to a much bigger and nicer room the floor below. I think this room was worth far more, and made the cost of the stay fantastic value. We didn't eat in the restaurant on either evening but others who did ,raved about it to us.

So, to surmise, if you are a realist and like me look for a bargain, you couldn't not enjoy this place,the views are fantastic.

Room Tip: If possible not the top floor. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had a sea view room- Ferguson which was wonderful. Even though the outside of the hotel could do with some painting and maintenance the inside is well kept and full of character. The view from the room was spectacular.
The hotel is a nice walking distance from Rothesay and very close to Ascog bay.

The first night we had food in the hotel - it was the best food we had all weekend! It was reasonably priced and delicious. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed on the Saturday night as we would have loved to have eaten there again.

Breakfast was included and they provide plenty of choice. The cooked breakfast is lovely.

My mother in law had organised a surprise bottle of wine for my husband and a box of after eights (my favourite) which the hotel happily organised for her.

The staff are very friendly and we would stay there again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Had a great two nights staying at Chandlers the staff where all very friendly. It,s in a good location and very scenic views would stay again if i visit Bute again. i wish i had tried the kippers they looked amazing. Good location for walkers to use as a base to explore Bute.
The last bus from Rothesay is 10.10 pm but it,s only a sort walk to the hotel. The room was very clean and cosy and had a great shower in the bath room.
Did not have an evening meal but if breakfast was anything to go by it would be outstanding.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omak, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The staff here were very friendly and the room nice and clean. While we had no view from our room, we were OK with it as we were out exploring most of the time. The breakfast was very good, and we had a choice of hot dishes if we opted for them. Dinner was amazing! Dave, the chef fixed one of the most wonderful seafood dinners that I have ever had. My only complain is that the hotel is some distance from anything. As we had no car, we had to take the bus. That wasn't a problem as the bus stops at their driveway every hour. Bute is a lovely Island, and I hope to return some day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nancy77
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We arrived at this Hotel for a Birthday Celebration Weekend, we received a very warm Welcome from Alison & her son, we were immediately given an upgrade, which was very welcome, our room was immaculate with a view to die for, toiletries supplied & tea making facilities. Dinner was to die for as was the Splendid Breakfast where we met our host, a very pleasent man attentive to our needs, and incidently
very talented on the guitar. On return we have recommended this Hotel to all our friends & family, we will definitely be paying another visit to this great value for money Hotel. Loved it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My friend and I stayed here B&B for 2 nights in June. We had a comfortable twin room to the rear of the hotel (no view, but that didn't bother us) which had a spacious bathroom en suite. The hotel is slightly out of town but there is a regular bus service, and taxis cost about £7 each way. The breakfasts offered a variety of cereals, fruit, juice and several hot options. We enjoyed the large dining room with the fabulous views over the sea. We found the staff friendly and very willing to give helpful advice about the island. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front have a sea view. We took the open top tourist bus for a tour of the island and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chandlers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandlers Hotel

Address: Ascog Bay, Ascog PA20 9ET, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Ascog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ascog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Chandlers Hotel Ascog, Isle Of Bute

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chandlers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.