We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Escape for the World- Weary and Care-Worn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balmory Hall

Balmory Hall
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ascog
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Balmory Hall
Balmory Road, Ascog, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Ascog B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Escape for the World- Weary and Care-Worn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

I didnt book this trip...it was done by the office to attend a work colleagues wedding so it was with a certain amount of trepidation I boarded the ferry to this strange part of the World. Landing on Bute was a tonic and the 3 mile approach to Balmory Hall just got better. Swing off the coast road,and the basking seals, up to the Hall...very grand. Ring the bell...then Wow!!! The welcome of John and Yvonne in their lavishly restored abode...all light, space, peace, harmony and elegance. You could have had a day from hell but this place will restore your faith in the universe. Go recharge your batteries there...with John, Yvonne and Katie providing the fabulous fayre... you will be ready to take on the World.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crofter49, Owner at Balmory Hall, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
Paul,
Just a very quick note to thank you for the wonderful review you gave us after your visit in August.
One of our kids called and told us it had been posted, and by the date you must have done it very soon after your trip. Its so rewarding for us to know that you had such a good stay here.
Hope you don't get "World -Weary and Care Worn" too often, but if you do please come back and see us again.
Best Wishes,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

When ou turn off the main road into the road which leads to balmory Hall, you are not prepared for what you will find.
From first view until you are safely settled into your room, it is 5 star all the way. The magnificent House itself, the entrance hallway. the welcome given by John and his wife and then finally the room itself.
We stayed in the Iona Suite, which was wonderful, a Huge bed with an extremely comfortable sitting area, Next door was a self contained kitchen area and across the corridor the shower room again very tastefully done. Wonderful soft and fluffy towels and housecoats provided.
We were on the island for a wedding and the only issue we had with our time there, was that we did not have enough time to really appreciate the setting and comfort of Balmory, but rest assured we will be back, for more than a night the next time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

I was the "blushing bride" from the previous review. I had been coming to Balmory for several years when it was under different ownership. I was therefore mildly anxious about using it for accomodation for friends and family attending my wedding. It was going to be a hard act to follow as the previous owners were the best. I have to say the new owners did not let us down. It was a subtly different style but as good in its own way. We were their first guests, ever, and if they follow the same pattern I'm sure they will also generate loyal customers who return year on year. I couldn't have asked for a better wedding and all at Balmory certainly contributed to that.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

We stayed here very recently as part of a party of 16 going to a wedding on the island. Apart from the blushing bride, none of us had been to Bute before. Although the sun miraculously shone for a few hours of the wedding at Mount Stuart, it is fair to say that the rest of the weekend stay was shrouded in rain and mist. However, nothing could have been warmer than the welcome we received from the new owners, John and Yvonne. Delicious home made cake on the Friday arrival and hearty breakfasts Sat and Sun, were only part of it. Some of the spacious rooms have self catering amenities.They were lovely, chatty, welcoming and accommodating people. The house is beautifully restored with period fittings, modern paintings, and a stunning vista. The sumptuous furnishings, clean beyond clean interior and quality bedding were high end luxe. I am sure that people will quote the so called celebrities that stayed there when Stella Mc Cartney married on the island, but really that is irrelevant ,as what was important to us was that our friend,( the bride), and her family and friends, were treated as if we were their new best friends. Yes, this is an expensive place for what is essentially a B and B, but it is definitely not ordinary B and B and it is well worth it. Incidentally, the reception was in Kingarth Hotel. They were really friendly and the food was impressively good. Those that stayed there however, while appreciating the price, were very jealous of our luxury. We met the previous owners of Balmory at the reception who were very happily retired, full of future plans and also very positive about the new owners. All in all a stupendous place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

Despite the solid reviews, very little prepared us for the fabulous welcome, hospitality and opulence at Balmory Hall; it was that good. Balmory Hall itself is an impressive 19th century building lovingly restored by Beryl and Tony, and most importantly, no expense has clearly been spared keeping it immaculate and updated and you cannot fail to be impressed by the amazing period features, from the guilded pelmets and cornicing to the alabaster pillars in the grand entrance. The views from the drawing room are to die for. Most importantly though, Beryl and Tony were amazing hosts and couldn't do enough for us, from the wonderful home cooking (Beryl is a great home-baker!) to the warmth and attention to detail in their hospitality. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

As all the previous comments say, this b and b/hotel is an absolute gem. We arrived fairly late in the evening and the welcome was wonderful. We stayed in the largest room with a roll top bath looking over the sea and the most comfortable bed. For us, it was the small touches that made the greatest difference: the filter coffee and cafetiere on the tea and coffee tray in the room (what 5* hotel offers that?), the music playing on our arrival, the towels and robes. The sheer ambience and indulgence that Beryl and Tony have created is outstanding. They are 2 lovely hosts and 2 lovely people. They were BORN to own a hotel! Myself and my partner had such a lovely and relaxing weekend. We took our bikes over to Bute and explored the island and then came back to homemade cake in our room. Bliss. Go and stay at Balmory. I assure you that you won't be disappointed. Oh, and the breakfasts? Amazing!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

We had been warned by family and friends as to how good this place is, but nothing could have prepared us for the exeptional treatment we received. The attention to detail, warmth of greeting, to the unbelievable breakfasts that are the talk of the island! We were made to feel part of the family, Beryl and Tony could simply not do enough for us from explaining what to see and where to go, to booking restaurants on our behalf and personally taking us in their own car! We stayed in the Bute suite, which is beautifully decorated with loads of space and features. The two large armchairs positioned by the large bay windows provide fantastic views across to the mainland. The guest comment book situated in the great hall is over two inches thick with glorious comments from previous guests dating back to when they first opened, is testament to the fantastic time any guest will have. The whole experience is exceptional in all respects.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Balmory Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmory Hall

Address: Balmory Road, Ascog, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Ascog
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ascog
Also Known As:
Balmory Hall Ascog, Isle Of Bute

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balmory Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Balmory Hall to your Saves list