We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weird History” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rothesay's Victorian Toilets

Rothesay's Victorian Toilets
The Pier, Rothesay, Scotland
01700504754
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 14 Attractions in Rothesay
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Weird History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

e stumbled on these toilets while waiting for the ferry home. Amazed by how well they are maintained and by the fact that the council take the trouble to preserve this monument to Victorian opulence in such beautiful condition.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    50
    9
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West of Scotland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
347 helpful votes 347 helpful votes
“Flushed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

A stupid notion, everyone knows what a public toilet looks like. Seriously overpriced and quite why they have tours is beyond me. The toilet in the Pier building is free and if you want a guide, I'm sure someone would help!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Well worth a look”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

If you get the chance take a look. Although it is only the men's toilet which is still Victorian, the friendly attendant did tell me (as a woman) to go and have a look. Both the mens toilet and ladies were kept very clean.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
89 attraction reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“YES THESE ARE AMAZING TOILETS !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Never thought I would be writing a review about toilets, but these are fabulous toilets. So victorian, well kept and unusual. Really worth a visit and the best penny you will spend this year !!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“We spent a penny (well 40 but it was worth it)!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I can't believe we travelled so far to see public toilets but we did and it was worth it. They were stunning. The 40p entry for 2 of us was worth it I thought and the attendant made sure I was able to go in without frightening any chaps! Well it was much nicer than any gents toilets I have had any experience of before. If you're passing - worth a pitstop!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rothesay's Victorian Toilets also viewed

Rothesay, Isle of Bute
Rothesay, Isle of Bute
 
Rothesay, Isle of Bute
Rothesay, Isle of Bute
 

Been to Rothesay's Victorian Toilets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rothesay's Victorian Toilets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.