We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the wonderful glenburn hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Glenburn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Glenburn Hotel to your Saves list
Bay Glenburn Hotel
Mount Stuart Road, Rothesay PA20 9JP, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK FOR GREAT DEALS
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Telford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“the wonderful glenburn hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Thank you for a lovely break, third visit we enjoy the hotel very much, homely, relaxing, and thanks to the wonderful staff, especially the lovely lass on reception,its always a pleasure to return, hope to see you all again soon, Jan and Lionel ( we came up with Harry around 6 weeks ago, what a great driver and person he is. Thanks shrearings you certainly have got it right

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at Bay Glenburn Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments that you have posted on to our site. Great to see that you have returned for a third visit and enjoyed your stay with us once again. The lovely lass on reception will be Lee-anne and I will let her know that you have mentioned her. Hopefully you will be back for your fourth visit sometime soon. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    240
    105
    37
    29
See reviews for
93
306
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

we,ve used national holidays for the last 7 years and have never had a bad holiday, especially at their prices. we have just returned from a 5 day break at the glenburn hotel in rothesay. the hotel is beautifully situated and due to it being an old building is a little bit tired BUT this simply adds to the charm. the rooms were lovely and clean and nice and warm. the manager and staff were superb, the food excellent with a great choice. the service was as good as a 4 star hotel. the views were to die for and we even saw deer in the hotel grounds. we have done 15 national trips and this was probably the best. scenery is amazing. can,t recommend this hotel enough, ignore the negative reviews as people are wanting 5 star service foe 3 star prices. definitely coming back again. steve and bev. darlington

Room Tip: try and get room with a view as worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at Bay Glenburn Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post such a great review on to our site. The deer that you seen are a family of 4 which have stayed on the grounds for a number of years now and are a favourite of our guests. I will pass your lovely comments about food and staff to all concerned and hopefully we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Recently had a long week end at The Glenburn hotel. I have to say that I was impressed by the staff, the welcome my wife and I received. The food was excellent, and the dining room staff were first class. Thank you so much Davie and Slewak (hope I got the spelling right) for helping yo make our stay an enjoyable one. We were in room 211 which had a stunning view over the bay. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at Bay Glenburn Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. As you will have have seen with previous posting we get a lot of great comments on the views from the rooms and indeed 211 has a fantastic outlook. I will pass your kind comments on to dining room staff and the kitchen staff. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Just back from a National Holiday coach weekend and had a lovely break. Our room on the ground/basement floor of the Wemyss Suite left a lot to be desired but was more than made up for by the location of the hotel, the superb food and the helpful, hardworking and very pleasant staff especially our waiter Javier.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at Bay Glenburn Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are lucky that we have a great team of staff at the hotel and I will pass your lovely comments on to them in particular Javier.
Once again thank you for your posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

An excellent break. Hotel has been upgraded since our last trip.
Food was excellent, rooms were clean and beds comfortable. Staff were friendly and could not do enough for you, especially Restaurent manager David Menzies and our waiter Selwak (cant remember how to spell his surname). Entertainment was good, even though I cant stand ELVIS. Enjoyed Lisa and Andy.
The Ballroom/Lounge has been rebuilt since the roof fell in, and is well laid out.

Room Tip: If you require a Shower in your bathroom be sure and ask for a room with one. Front of hotel rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at Bay Glenburn Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for your comments and taking the time to post them on to our site. It is very good to see that you enjoyed your break with us and your great comments about David and Slawomir I will be sure to let them know. Once again many thanks for a great posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Just done a five day break with Shearings,the journey is well organised and ran smoothly,booking into the Glenburn was so easy,three coaches arrived at the same time so you think chaos,but it wasn't,your key was waiting for you at reception and that was it.As others have said the hotel does need somethings doing it but it all takes time,the upstairs entertainment lounge has been refurbished and looks fantastic,and the large downstairs lounge is relaxing with great views onto the bay.The staff,what can you say,they are so polite,friendly and efficient you would not believe,Sandra,who waited on our table was especially good,she was really polite but very funny with it,the bar staff where excellent and dealt with any queue's calmly and easily.The entertainment was first class,Gary the host,compere,comedian,singer and everything else was great fun,James has a great voice and did an evening of songs from west end shows,he was superb.Only disappointment was we had booked quite early and requested a high floor,we where on the ground floor looking at the side of a Mazda car which was parked outside our window for the whole stay,we met others who had booked later and they where upstairs and said they had wanted ground floor !!.Still it was a great stay and we will definitely be going again.Once again thanks to the staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at Bay Glenburn Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. We have a good team of staff here at the Glenburn they work hard and their aim is always to please. Gary our host gets good comments and as you will have seen from previous posting he really does enjoy his Job. I will let Sandra know that you have mentioned her and we would hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby-in-Ashfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Visited with National Holidays on a four day trip. The hotel has changed since my last visit and I wouldn't say for the better. The service in the dining room was not good. First night totally disorganised, waited for what seemed an age to order after being seated. Apparently there was a mix up with the waiters, one thought the other was serving our table. Oh dear! Next day was no better.

The last time I visited the entertainment was downstairs, this time it was upstairs. The bar downstairs closed early and those downstairs had tomgo upstairs if they wanted a drink. Bingo, bingo, bingo....not everyone wants to play bingo! There must be more to life than bingo....good grief.

Room was clean, which is more than the windows were. Kyle view room through dirty windows. Pay for a sea view room when you book, the view is marvellous.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view room, better than looking over other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at Bay Glenburn Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Many thanks for posting on to our site. Sorry to hear that you had problems with the restaurant and I will look in to this. The bingo is a difficult one as on the whole guests love it and when it is finished it is live music which we have on every night of the week. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Glenburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Glenburn Hotel

Address: Mount Stuart Road, Rothesay PA20 9JP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exuding an air of grandeur and charm, this impressive Victorian sandstone Hotel was built in 1892. Set in an outstanding position above its own terraced gardens, the Glenburn enjoys a superb panorama across the waters of Rothesay Bay to the Cowal Peninsula. Step inside the hotel and you’ll be greeted by spacious well-proportioned rooms which offer a level of comfort which should immediately put you at ease. With a wealth of outdoor pursuits on the isle, from fishing to bowling and from golf to walking, it’s up to you how you choose to relax at the Glenburn… socialise in the bar, escape to the quiet lounge, indulge in a game of snooker or just enjoy the evening entertainment. The town’s shops, harbour, medieval castle ruins and sporting facilities are just a pleasant walk away along the palm fringed promenade. The hotel contains some guest parking which is located at the front and side of the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Glenburn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenburn Hotel Rothesay
Bay Glenburn Hotel Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Glenburn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.