We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
The Victoria Hotel
55 Victoria Street, Rothesay PA20 0AP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
South Lanarkshire
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Delightful place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We arrived unexpectedly and were met by Alison who went out of her way to organise our accommodation. She, and all the other staff, went "the extra mile" to make our stay most enjoyable. We had a front facing room with large picture windows and the views were spectacular over the gardens and out to the bay. We even thought the Calmac ferry was coming straight into our room but fortunately it turned at the last moment!. Fresh fruit, water and tea making facilities were all provided. Large bathroom with fluffy towels and nice toiletries.
Dinner and breakfast were served in a beautiful room, again with large picture windows. The choice for the meals was first class and portion size was large! Lounge and bar areas were both spacious and comfortable. Plenty of information of places to visit and things to do in the area.
This is a first rate Hotel which I would not hesitate to recommend to anyone and we will certainly return.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room. Spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    41
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
23
58
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The Gaelic 'Thousand Welcomes' over the door belied the initial welcome, which was an immediate demand for the cash balance for our stay. In fairness it did state on the confirmation letter that the balance was payable in full at check-in, but it needed a more tactful approach, maybe something got lost in translation with the Polish receptionist. However things got a lot better thereafter.

The bedroom was spacious with wonderful views over the front and the winter gardens. Very smart bathroom with a good sized bath, plenty of fluffy towels, toiletries etc. Fruit bowl was provided and tea/coffee making facilities as well as chocolates. Public areas were on the first floor with comfortable leather settees and a well stocked bar. Breakfasts were excellent - wide choice including smokies and lovely views looking out over the front from the picture windows. Staff were friendly and helpful.

The drawback was a lot of stair climbing - fine as we were all reasonably fit,but could be a problem for lthe ess able. Parking was a case of finding a suitable public car park which could be a distance from the front entrance. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Second floor with great views over the bay and the winter gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

What a brilliant time me and my family had on this beautiful island but my visit was topped off with the excellent service we experienced on our stay at this lovely family owned hotel. Our overall stay was made all the better by the attention to detail by all the staff and anything we asked for was done with a smile at all times. Me and my family will definately be back !!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed here in July and it was a very pleasant stay. very nice staff and a very clean hotel. As someone mentioned on here it's not too easy to access if you are older or infirm as there is a flight of stairs up to reception then rooms are on floor above or even above that one. No lift. However we managed ok - thankfully didn't have heavy luggage.
Food was lovely at breakfast and in the evening and there is a large choice. Lovely views over the port.
Disappointing to see instant coffee going into caffitieres at breakfast, I've never seen this at a hotel before. Filter coffee the norm and tastes so much better. Otherwise I like the place and would recommend for a short stay..

Room Tip: Choose a sea view. Gardens in front of hotel beautiful . Due to no lifts, be aware of steep stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

had a room with a sea view which lived up to its name. Room was a reasonable size and very clean. Staff very pleasant and approachable. Evening meal looking out over the sea was lovely and the food was very good with home made bread! Appreciated reduction offered due to boiler problem, good customer care. Small island but very pretty, some good walks. Very relaxing break.
No lift, which may pose problems for some people as all bedrooms are on the second or third floors.

Room Tip: opt for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leven, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel for one night and were pleased with the location we came of the ferry and our hotel was almost straight across the road so not much walking required, we had had a call from the hotel the day before to say there boiler had burst and they had no hot water but we could use another hotel for a hot shower if required we were refunded twenty pounds for the inconvience we had a lovely room at the back and top of the hotel bright and airy, there was lots of complimentary toiletries, Bottled water a bowl of fruit chocolates and tea and coffee making facilities with biscuits, very nice and much apprieciated touches. We had a lovely breakfast in the morning sitting overlooking rothesay bay just wonderful.All of the staff made you feel so welcome and were so friendly a credit to the hotel.

Room Tip: We were at the back of the hotel and a sea view would have been the icing on the cake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erskine, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights in this hotel. The stay was excellent, the accommodation and staff likewise. All in all the experience was first rate - just like the weather. A special mention has to go to the staff as they are a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Address: 55 Victoria Street, Rothesay PA20 0AP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of the town of Rothesay on the Isle of Bute, our newly refurbished and modern hotel has wonderful views of the Clyde Coast and overlooks the beautiful Esplanade Gardens. It boasts excellent cuisine and caters for everyone from families to wedding parties. The hotel consists of 20 fully en-suite rooms, each stylishly decorated, with TV and drinks facilities. Enjoy an informal meal in our bistro cafe or an evening in our fully licensed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Rothesay
The Victoria Hotel Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.