We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chip Shop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zavaroni's Restaurant

Zavaroni's Restaurant
Argyle Street, Rothesay, Scotland (Formerly Zavaroni's)
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 32 Restaurants in Rothesay
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Chip Shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Best fish and chips I have ever tasted and biggest fish I have ever had in a supper, Colin who served us was very friendly

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    8
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“No problem”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Not sure which of the 3 Zavaronis you mean but we had a nice coffe, cake and icecream at one of them

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream on the planet.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I have travelled all over the world, and can say without a shadow of a doubt that Zavaroni makes the best ice cream on earth.
The cafe has that "Formica table" 70s cafe appeal and reminds you of teenage years hanging around cafes and all those memories we hold so dear.
If you want to catch up on the local chit chat, want to talk about fast cars, or need a hub to meet or base yourself for your break, this is the place to be seen.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fab fish and chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Gorgeous fish and chips - I chose the special so the fish was cooked in breadcrumbs rather than batter - very tasty.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Home cooked fish n chips?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

£7 for a fish tea. Not a real fish supper the ancestors pictured in the window will be turning in their graves. Breaded fish as advertised is frozen packed not freshly breaded. They say real chjps not frozen but maybe they are not freshly peeled either!! Catering packs of chilled chips I think.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zavaroni's Restaurant also viewed

Rothesay, Isle of Bute
Rothesay, Isle of Bute
 
Kilchattan Bay, Isle of Bute
 

Been to Zavaroni's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zavaroni's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.