We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting, an experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Russian Tavern at The Port Royal Hotel

The Russian Tavern at The Port Royal Hotel
37 Marine Rd | Port Bannatyne, Rothesay PA20 0LW, Scotland
01700-505073
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 32 Restaurants in Rothesay
Price range: $12 - $59
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Interesting, an experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

We stopped at Port Bannatyne for one night, and were looking for a place to dine that night. There didn't seem much choice here, but the sound of the Russian Tavern was inviting. We booked a table for that evening as it was Saturday, there was a group of us and the restaurant could be busy. Port Bannatyne is a quaint little village, and the pub is on the main street overlooking the bay - quite picturesque during the day.
So when we got to the pub just after 8pm, we were surprised that it was empty. We were quickly welcomed by the owner - he was very entertaining, almost a comedian- an interesting guy. He showed us to our table, and the menu. We were advised that all dishes were home made. The mushroom soup as a starter was absolutely delicious - could have mean a main course, it was very filling. Unfortunately it went downhill from there for me. I didn't think much of my vegetarian main dish - mixed vegetables all mashed up. My friends had russian goulash - said it was ok but won't rush to eat it again. We were all stuffed by our meal and had no room for dessert. I think our host was disappointed as apparently there was homemade chocolate cake. The other thing is that it is cheaper to buy the set menu (3 course) and that is what the owner had based our meal on - but it was not made clear at the outset. Anyway overall the meal was not overly priced. Whilst we were there, only one other person came in for a drink. We went away thinking a strange but interesting place - and we certainly will remember this place because of the owner.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    8
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Evening visit to Port Bannatyne”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

We visited this restaurant and had a nice evening.However I do agree with previous visitor that the food lacked flavour ?We had no salt or pepper available on the table.The owner,who served us was very entertaining .The restaurant was a little cold ,and did not appear to have any proper heating as the fire was imitation ,just to add to the atmosphere of Imperial Russia.I thought it was over priced .

  • Visited September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food and great view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Good food and good service. Well sited opposite the pier in this seaside village. The view is magnificent and the atmosphere is friendly.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gargunnock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Rude host, poor service, poor choice of drinks, food lacked flavour, over priced. We've been 3 times before over the years but it's really deteriorated and we won't be going again.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Came across the tavern by chance while driving through Bute to our hotel on Ascog bay. Decided to book for dinner. I was in a wheelchair and owner was very helpful gettting me into the restaurant. The decor is as per Imperial Russia. We had the set menu - wild mushroom soup/Borscht followed by Pork goulash. It was delicious. Washed down with Russian beer and wine.The owner kept us entertained throughout with interesting tales. We could not manage a desert but had an elderflower vodka/ herb vodka to complete the evening. All in all a great evening, definitely recommended and we cant wait to return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Russian Tavern at The Port Royal Hotel also viewed

Rothesay, Isle of Bute
Rothesay, Isle of Bute
 
Rothesay, Isle of Bute
 

Been to The Russian Tavern at The Port Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Russian Tavern at The Port Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.