We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal an Lochan Restaurant

The Royal an Lochan Restaurant
Shore Road, Tighnabruaich PA21 2BE, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
ayrshire scotland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Booked a surprise birthday night away at this hotel as my wife's family originated from Kames. The drive round was as usual spectacular as the weather was good. We had upgraded to a loch facing room and was given the to of the house. Spectacular views, as we were sitting enjoying the view the paddle steamer Waverley passed by. We can remember when Loch Fyne was full of ships.
The room was nice and the bed was extremely comfortable. The water pressure on the shower was pretty low but I suppose when you are at the top that will happen.
The meal at night was nice and well presented but was extremely minute and not value for money. We had a thirty pound allowance for dinner but could only use it in the restaurant and not in the shinty bar.
The breakfast however was lovely and fresh.
Would return but would miss dinner.
Thankyou

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan Restaurant, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Unfortunately, old buildings like this were never designed to have showers let alone give us the water pressure we expect in the modern day. We are going through a process of replacing some of the gravity fed showers for electric ones but this takes time and is more complicated than it looks, but we are getting there. With regard to your restaurant meal, when purchasing your voucher it clearly stated that the allowance is for the Restaurant and not the Bar, and we have sample menus for both on our website. The meals themselves are designed, like in most good food restaurants, so that if you have all three courses you will leave the table content, not so full you cant move and not so empty you need a sandwich after. Sometimes people will only wish to have a main course and possibly this doesn't satisfy them. We are sorry you felt this way about our food, however you will see the majority of people leave quite content. Thank you once again. Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    17
    5
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not friendly”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Called in here for a drink & something to eat after a long drive with two families, host was totally unwelcoming ushered us quiet rudely from a residence lounge (even though empty) to a dingy bar area- forget whatever is on location location had a drink & left quickly

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan Restaurant, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
As always there are two sides to a story and below are the facts:-
Yes you did come in to our hotel one lunch time and ask about having some drinks outside, to which Keith took your order and said he would bring them out to you. As Keith was taking them outside he found your large group in the residents lounge, he politely asked you to vacate the lounge as we were nearing check in time and residents may have wished to use their lounge. As you say you wanted food and we do not serve food in the lounge, even to residents of the hotel.
With regard to the "dingy bar area" this is the Shinty Bar you are referring to, which yes it is small bar, with tartan covered benches and stools but it is no way dingy. You could have always have sat outside as you had first requested as the sun was shining and it would have been easier for us to clean up the mess your group left behind in the bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We enjoyed the cosiness of the bar and the bar food. The staff members were very helpful. We had read trip advisor before we went to Tighnabruaich and we were not disappointed.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan Restaurant, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I am sorry it has taken me so long to reply. We are glad you were not disappointed in the Shinty Bar and maybe we can suggest next time you are in the area that you book for dinner in the Restaurant with its lovely views across the Kyles of Bute. Kind regards, Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Popped into The Royal last weekend whilst staying at Portavardie Marina during a wet damp visit to Tignahbruaich . Decided to pop in for some drinks and maybe Sunday Lunch depending on first impressions plus I am always on the look out for a hidden gem for future outings... Sadly never got that far. Being a party of ten adults and 4 kids where told we could not use the Residents Lounge which was empty at the time and the wee snug Public bar was simply too small but inviting.Thought maybe there could have been a non-residents lounge ? Any Hotel who knocks back 10 adults and 4 kids in this climate are obviously doing well... Fantastic location in all weathers just a shame we never got to experience the hospitality on other reviews....

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan Restaurant, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it is unfortunate that you have not seen Tighnabruaich at its best, it is a beautiful village. With regard to your visit at our hotel, as you pointed out, our 'residents lounge' is as it states for residents and with a few rooms checking that afternoon our manager made to right decision to guide you away from there. Our public bar, The Shinty Bar, on the other hand is as you describe it 'inviting' and on speaking to our manager I believe the gents were happy to stay there for a drink, it was the female side of the party that were wanting to sit in our lounge. If you had given us prior warning, as we ask for from all larger parties, we would have been able to set a table for you the restaurant which I am sure you all would have enjoyed with its stunning views over the Kyles of Bute. We are truly sorry that you had a disappointing experience next time you are staying nearby please let us know and we will try to accommodate you. Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverkip, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Loved all of the three course meal. From starters to pudding we couldn't fault it. Great food and great service.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan Restaurant, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a lovely review. We try very hard to make your dining experience a good one, right from the moment you walk through the door to when we offer you your coats and say goodbye. We look forward to welcoming you back. Many thanks, Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal an Lochan Restaurant also viewed

Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
 
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Royal an Lochan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal an Lochan Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.