We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden little gem in the glens” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tanglewood Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Tanglewood Lodge Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taynuilt
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tanglewood Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Tanglewood Lodge Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Tanglewood | Otter Creek, Taynuilt PA35 1HP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Taynuilt B&B and Inns
1 review
“A hidden little gem in the glens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011 via mobile

A fabulous 2 nights with very good hosts,always discreet but there when needed. Clean bathroom fabulous shower. Offered lots of information to fill our 2 days. Wonderful breakfast, fill ya boots for the day. A place you can only dream about owning.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

Carol & Geoff are living what for some is the ultimate dream - to retire early, build a top quality house, and live in a beautiful part of the world. Thankfully for the rest of us, we can share a snippet of this by spending time as a B&B guest. Frankly, to recommend Tanglewood to others is a no brainer - amazing house, fantastic accommodation, very good breakfast, and wonderful location. The pub in the village is 1mile away, so be prepared for a brisk walk! And do yourself a favour whilst in this area - be brave and climb Ben Cruachan. About 5hrs walk (up, and down again) from the rail station on Loch Awe, but a great way to make your stay at Tanglewood even more memorable.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

Booking was extremely easy and no frills even for us who are 15,000km+ away. Carol had took good care of us. The rooms are just huge and spacious yet homely and warm. It's a contemporary wooden house in a small and green village called Otter Creek.. we did spend a little time to find the place but it's worth it. Morning in the woods watching birds munching on the bird feeders and we even spotted some deers and one of which was a beautiful huge male! Amenities and toiletries are all of high qualities and we had had a very good time there.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotsgran
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

Lovely house, inside and outside. Room was very comfortable with a walk out balcony and bathroom has a fantastic shower. The bed was sooo comfortable! Great scenery, Good location for local village and shops and hotel with bar. Plenty of wildlife. Carol and Geoff make you feel welcome. Will go back again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

I would like to thank Geoff and Carol for a lovely stay in their gorgeous home, this is truely a hidden Gem! The home cooked breakfasts were a treat and there was always plenty to eat and drink!
If you like a super size bed then tanglewood is for you! The rooms are stunning with plenty of room both in the bedroom and bathroom areas.
Tanglewood is located approx 1hr 20 minute drive from Fort William and 2hr 30 from Inverness so access to Ben Nevis and Loch Ness are well within reach!
As per the last comments on Tanglewood we can also confirm there is no locks on the bedroom doors, however there was not one doubt of trust. Carol and geoff are full of advice and always happy to help!
We will be back next year and would highly reccomend to everyone!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

We are just back from Tanglewood and wanted to add our quick "share" to the reviews.The house and rooms are stunning. The surroundings are the most peaceful and relaxing ever.Birds and a wee river in the back garden are the only sounds at night. Delicious breakfast with fresh ingredients. Just pure luxury.
Geoff and Carol are competent and helpful owners.
The only possible inconvinience - the rooms don't have the door locks, which gives a certain lack of privacy. Sometimes they are left half-opened in your absense.
Overall a very nice expierence. Highly recommended. We certainly will be back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

Couldn't ask for a better setting to get married in. Hospitality was perfect and weather was amazing. We'd really like to thank Carol and Jeff for going out of their way to make our Wedding Day so special by allowing us to have our wedding ceremony at Tanglewood Lodge.
We would highly recommend Tanglewood Lodge to all of our family and friends. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tanglewood Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanglewood Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Address: Tanglewood | Otter Creek, Taynuilt PA35 1HP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Taynuilt
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Taynuilt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanglewood is a newly built house with riverside frontage in Glen Nant, Taynuilt. There are 2 large ensuite guest rooms with superking/twin beds. Both bedrooms and open plan dining/kitchen area have vaulted ceilings and overlook the River Nant with views north to the mountains. Red squirrels,herons and buzzards are regular garden visitors. This is a spectacular base from which to explore the West Highlands of Scotland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tanglewood Hotel Taynuilt
Tanglewood Lodge Bed And Breakfast
Tanglewood Lodge Bed & Breakfast Taynuilt, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanglewood Lodge Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.