We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Inverawe Smokehouse

Inverawe Smokehouse
Taynuilt, Scotland
01866 822808
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 6 Attractions in Taynuilt
Type: Factory Tours, Specialty Shops, Shopping
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Traditional Family run smokery specialising in salmon and trout. Visitor Centre includes walk through exhibition, four stocked fly fishing lochs, nature trails and country walks. Cafe and produce shop onsite for a relaxing light meal or snack.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very poor experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This used to be a lovely coffee/snack stop after a riverside walk. Visited today and was appalled at the change. Waited 20mins at an uncleared table for two coffees, two scones and a canned drink. When it didn't arrive after the 20mins and no sign of it arriving anytime soon nor anyone coming to clear the table...we left. We ended up in the lovely Robins Nest in Taynuilt, far better!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy B, Public Relations Manager at Inverawe Smokehouse, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Wilma L

We are terribly sorry for your disappointing experience at Inverawe recently, especially as you have visited us before and enjoyed your time here. We do try our very best to ensure service is timely and to our customers satisfaction but we have obviously failed quite badly on this occasion.

Your comments have been passed to the team in the tearoom so that they can review the service levels on the day you visited and try their very best to ensure that this doesn't happen again.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention, these comments are invaluable and indeed help us improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    17
    8
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A pleasant stop and good fish.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Inverawe smokery is situated in a beautiful spot near Loch Etive. The grounds are extensive and well worth a walk around (and down to the sea loch) if you have time. There's an informative 'museum' on the smoking process and the history of fishing in Scotland which is worth the ten minutes it'll take you to get around.

The staff are friendly and the fish on sale in the canteen is, although a little expensive, delicious.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Fabulous Place to Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

If you want to experience proper smoked fish, this is the place for you. Forget your supermarket stuff, even the 'best' of the supermarket stuff. It has nothing on Inverawe.

There are many amazing smoke-houses in Scotland, but this is our 'local' when we're up in Taynuilt.

There are many lovely wee walks around the grounds, which we've done a few times with the dogs. There's a wee tea room inside the shop which sells amazing sandwiches and salads, using their products.

The Smokery Museum is well worth the £1.50 entry fee as it's a really, really interesting wee wander through the smoke-house history. Plus you can smell the gorgeous smoking fish as you wander through, as they're smoked next door.

We stocked up on Smoked salmon, trout, mackerel, and salmon trimmings (great for tearing through pasta/making a mousse, or like I did: boiled new potatoes, creme fraiche, chopped chives, salmon!). They also do smoked meats - the duck and venison are particularly lovely.

So yeah, if you're in the area, or even want to order something for that special dinner party (Christmas?), then I can't recommend Inverawe enough.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baghdad, Iraq
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great fly fishing school”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Inverawe is primarily about the smoke house and products they sell, but they also have a small fly fishing pond and lessons for beginners. This was perfect for us as we'd never fished before and were looking for an introduction. The staff were extremely friendly, especially Phil our instructor who was patient, kind and very knowledgeable, putting up with my constant stream of questions. We caught a couple of Brown Trout which we took home for dinner - they were delicious. The location is about a twenty minute drive north of Oban and remote but easy to find. I'd definitely recommend this place if you're in the area and looking for beginners lessons on fly fishing. Ask for Phil, he's great.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Small but impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Unfortunately we visited at the weekend so the smokehouse was not 'up and running'. We enjoyed a snack at the small cafe - although our ordering and being served seemed to confuse the staff.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Inverawe Smokehouse also viewed

Taynuilt, Argyll and Bute
Taynuilt, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Inverawe Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inverawe Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.