We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely, serene, beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Strontian Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Strontian Hotel to your Saves list
The Strontian Hotel
Strontian, Acharacle | Argyll, Scotland, Strontian PH36 4HZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Strontian
Manchester
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Homely, serene, beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The Strontian Hotel is in an enviable position overlooking Loch Sunart; a view that can't fail to melt away the stresses of urban dwellers like us. I can't think of many better locations from which to explore the exceptional scenery of this part of Scotland.

We ate here twice (in their 'Bothy Bar') during a recent stay in Strontian. Both times the food was very good - hearty fayre; just what's needed after a day's walking! They were able to accommodate us at short notice despite there being 8 of us on our second visit. The surroundings are homely and welcoming and the hosts are very attentive and clearly care about running the place well. They have some decent real ales which again went down well after a long hike.

We will definitely be back in the future to recharge our batteries!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    34
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
61
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

What a wonderful place, my mum and I stayed here for her birthday and the lovely owners couldn't have done more or be more helpful, we had room 5 and the view was beautiful, the food was equally lovely...we really couldn't have asked for more! They were so helpful with places to go and even printed off information and drew maps for us, it was the perfect way to spend mums birthday and we really hope we can come back soon with more people!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was a wee trip for my birthday with my daughter and what a perfect location with fab food, excellent service and owners that could not do enough for you. I highly recommend this hotel for so many reasons. Perfectly situated with incredable views and situated in a truly outstanding part of Scotland. The owners were really helpful with places to visit and maps to do so. Would love to go back again in another season.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

From booking over the phone till the day we left the owner Michelle could not do enough to make our stay the best we have ever had in Scotland . The room we had number 3 great view over the lock, comfortable bed, large shower.The food was lovely ,breakfast was great,good selection of cereal's cooked breakfast was excellent and the black pudding is the best I have had.evening meal great choice, would highly recommend the home made salmon quiche, We will being coming back very soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We booked The Strontian over the phone with Michelle the owner she was very helpful and flexible on when we could check in ......Our stay there was amazing a beautiful setting with great views of the Loch from our room ...the food was superb from the full english breakfast in the morning ( amazing black pudding) to the generous sized home cookd meals in the evening ...I strongly recommend that you pay Michele and James a visit and enjoy the wonderful hospitaility The Strontian has to offer !!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Strontian Hotel back in October last year. The room was lovely the food was excellent and the hospitality was second to none. There are lots of beautiful and breathtaking walks around the hotel which just added to our break away. My husband had injured his back and James gave him a walking stick to help him get around. Thankyou to James and Michelle for your hospitality! Karen and Colin from the Wirral

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acharacle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Thank you Michelle and James for your extraordinary warm welcome and hospitality. Our room was perfect with stunning views over Loch Sunart.
Wonderful food, personal service, friendliness and your wealth of local knowledge really made a difference to our stay.
Will recommend the Strontian Hotel to friends visiting Ardnamurchan.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Strontian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strontian Hotel

Address: Strontian, Acharacle | Argyll, Scotland, Strontian PH36 4HZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Strontian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Strontian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is a small highland Hotel at the start of the Ardnamurchan Peninsula. It is a beautiful spot in which to explore the wonderful peninsula and its amazing wildlife e.G otters, seals, pine martins, eagles and of course ideal for bird watchers. We have secluded white sandy beaches and beautiful hills to climb, amazing boat trips and fishing opportunities too !We have just six bedrooms with private residents lounge and dining room as well as a small highland bar serving great pub food. The Hotel is open all year except January and we really welcome cyclists, walkers and birdwatchers. We have drying facilities and storage for cycles. We can arm you with maps and suggest beautiful walks and excursions, provide you with packed lunches and cycle hire too. PS Pets are welcome also. Free Wifi in each bedroom and public areas. We are a great place to stop also on your way to the Isle of Mull - the ferry is just 30 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Strontian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Strontian
The Strontian Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Strontian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.