We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Strontian Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Strontian Hotel to your Saves list
The Strontian Hotel
Strontian, Acharacle | Argyll, Scotland, Strontian PH36 4HZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Strontian
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was a wee trip for my birthday with my daughter and what a perfect location with fab food, excellent service and owners that could not do enough for you. I highly recommend this hotel for so many reasons. Perfectly situated with incredable views and situated in a truly outstanding part of Scotland. The owners were really helpful with places to visit and maps to do so. Would love to go back again in another season.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    35
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
65
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

From booking over the phone till the day we left the owner Michelle could not do enough to make our stay the best we have ever had in Scotland . The room we had number 3 great view over the lock, comfortable bed, large shower.The food was lovely ,breakfast was great,good selection of cereal's cooked breakfast was excellent and the black pudding is the best I have had.evening meal great choice, would highly recommend the home made salmon quiche, We will being coming back very soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We booked The Strontian over the phone with Michelle the owner she was very helpful and flexible on when we could check in ......Our stay there was amazing a beautiful setting with great views of the Loch from our room ...the food was superb from the full english breakfast in the morning ( amazing black pudding) to the generous sized home cookd meals in the evening ...I strongly recommend that you pay Michele and James a visit and enjoy the wonderful hospitaility The Strontian has to offer !!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Strontian Hotel back in October last year. The room was lovely the food was excellent and the hospitality was second to none. There are lots of beautiful and breathtaking walks around the hotel which just added to our break away. My husband had injured his back and James gave him a walking stick to help him get around. Thankyou to James and Michelle for your hospitality! Karen and Colin from the Wirral

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acharacle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Thank you Michelle and James for your extraordinary warm welcome and hospitality. Our room was perfect with stunning views over Loch Sunart.
Wonderful food, personal service, friendliness and your wealth of local knowledge really made a difference to our stay.
Will recommend the Strontian Hotel to friends visiting Ardnamurchan.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Strontian Hotel last week. Four days of great breakfasts and freshly cooked warming evening meals. The cozy en-suite room had the most amazing views over the loch. We had great walks up Ariundle nature reserve and watched a family of otters playing in the loch right in front of the hotel. There was even a buzzard or eagle waiting for us outside one afternoon when we arrived home!.. The hotel owner couldn't have been more helpful; we really felt part of the family. Highly recommend the experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Not impressed. Strolled along for a nice drink and the hotel bar was closed well after 4 pm on a Saturday afternoon when it was due to open. Got wet in the process. Please make the effort or change the notice on your door!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrontianHotel, Owner at The Strontian Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
We are sorry that the Bothy Bar appeared to be locked at the advertised time of opening. We definitely should have been open by 4.00pm! Thank you for drawing this to our attention. We will take the matter up with the staff team, who should have had both the front and rear doors to the bar open at 4pm prompt. We hope that you will visit us another time so that we can offer the good service we are known for. Thanks again for taking the time to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Strontian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strontian Hotel

Address: Strontian, Acharacle | Argyll, Scotland, Strontian PH36 4HZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Strontian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Strontian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is a small highland Hotel at the start of the Ardnamurchan Peninsula. It is a beautiful spot in which to explore the wonderful peninsula and its amazing wildlife e.G otters, seals, pine martins, eagles and of course ideal for bird watchers. We have secluded white sandy beaches and beautiful hills to climb, amazing boat trips and fishing opportunities too !We have just six bedrooms with private residents lounge and dining room as well as a small highland bar serving great pub food. The Hotel is open all year except January and we really welcome cyclists, walkers and birdwatchers. We have drying facilities and storage for cycles. We can arm you with maps and suggest beautiful walks and excursions, provide you with packed lunches and cycle hire too. PS Pets are welcome also. Free Wifi in each bedroom and public areas. We are a great place to stop also on your way to the Isle of Mull - the ferry is just 30 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Strontian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Strontian
The Strontian Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Strontian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.