We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Third stay & Kilcamb lodge"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strontian PH36 4HY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Strontian
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“"Third stay & Kilcamb lodge"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My wife & I stayed for three nights 23rd - 25th November, we had stayed on two previous occasions at Kilcamb Lodge and our third stay did not disappoint. Staff were courteous, efficient & friendly, rooms were comfortable and the food was excellent. We look forward to another visit as soon as possible.

Room Tip: We have stayed in Loch view &,garden rooms, both are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    34
    12
    9
    0
See reviews for
25
257
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Scotland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed for my wife's birthday. Lovely room and dog friendly. Ask for a loch view room- room 1 is very nice. Ate in the restaurant and were very impressed. Most of the courses were well conceived, maybe apart from the peanut butter pudding with banana (rather bizarre). Star of the show was the crab and salmon cannelloni, and we don't even like crab normally! Two courses were slightly under seasoned but this did not spoil the experience. Found out the next day that this was the second chef- well done sir! Staff were friendly and courteous.
The hotel is for sale. It would be a real shame for it to return to a private house, so restauranteurs please come forward!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A lovely place - full of character and charm and a doggy paradise. Lots of lovely walks and the trip to the Ardnamurchan lighthouse on a beautiful autumn day with a cloudless sky and views to the islands and the Cuillin Hills was truly memorable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have been visiting Kilcamb for the last 8 years and can honestly say that the standards remain consistently high throughout. The bedrooms are comfy, the real fire in the small lounge is wonderful on a cold, wet November day and the food is excellent (as usual). Spalsh out and treat yourself to a dessart wine with your pudding - we tried 4 of them and they were all great, especially the red one! Sally and David were the perfect hosts and and all the staff very friendly and helpful. I never have any concerns in recommending Kilcamb to friends as I can always be sure of their consistency.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a loch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goring, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a long weekend in early November. Our room (5) was gorgeous with a fabulous view of the lake. Lots of extra touches made the stay special. Home made shortbread, good hair dryer, plenty of drinking water etc. David and Sally and all the staff are lovely, the food superb and portion sizes spot on. Thoroughly recommend this superb location.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sissinghurst, west kent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Anticipating another stay at Kilcamb I think of wonderfully comfortable beds, peace and tranquility, wonderful views, fantastic food,friendly and professional staff. I then wonder if I'm remembering prior visits through rose-tinted glasses. Arriving and driving down that steep drive and seeing the water and Kilcamb itself it looks as good as I remember. And yes, inside it feels like a big comfy home. After a long journey what better way to spend late afternoon/early evening stretched on that really comfortable bed, reading the menu for the evening dinner - bliss.

It is a truly unique place, small enough to feel totally looked after by charming, efficient and cheerful staff. To create such a place must be awfully hard work but the result is that as a guest I want to come again and again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We have just returned from a very relaxing break in this lovely lodge, the manager Michelle and her team were extremely professional and very helpful, and couldn't do enough to ensure our stay was a pleasant one.
The lodge is very clean and well maintained, there is a delightfully warm and cosy atmosphere, our room was very well appointed and had a fabulous view of the loch, there was loads of piping hot water which is not often common in these older buildings.
Both dinner menus were well thought out and each course was beautifully presented. There was a good selection of quality wines and spirits available, and all served by a friendly helpful team.
We loved having coffee and petit fours afterwards in the lounge area sitting in front of the crackling log fire.
All in all a very pleasant stay, and we hope to make a return trip in the future.
Thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for a loch view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Strontian PH36 4HY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Strontian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Strontian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of Romantic Hotel of the year, and one of the Daily Telegraph's top 10 most cosy Highland Hotels; Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant is a small luxury 4 star hotel, perfectly situated on the tranquil shores of Loch Sunart in the Highlands of Scotland. The hotel now has two restaurants; the new and less formal Driftwood Brasserie, or the renowned Restaurant, both offering friendly yet professional service and 2AA Rosette award winning food. This newly appointed 4 star hotel is perfectly situated in its 22 acres of loch side meadow, surrounded by stunning mountain scenery which adds to to the sense of peace and tranquility, hard to find in today's modern world. Local wildlife on the door-step such as otters, eagles red squirrels and pine martens only add to the sense of remote Highland serenity. Kilcamb Lodge Hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilcamb Hotel Strontian
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant Strontian, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.