We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter crew” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bluebell Croft

Bluebell Croft
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strontian
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bluebell Croft
Save
You added Bluebell Croft to your Saves list
15 Anaheilt, Strontian PH36 4JA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Strontian B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Easter crew”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Bluebell croft was wonderful. We have been going away for an Easter break with friends for nearly 20 years since our kids were babies and this year there were 14 of us including 7 young adults and their parents. Bluebell croft was our best holiday house yet. We took over the entire house and it absorbed us all with space to spare. There were hot scones waiting for our arrival and a delicious ordered beef casserole in the oven.
The location suited us perfectly as various members of the party had to travel back and forward to the central belt during the week. One highlight was setting off to climb Ben Resipole straight from the back door, past the squawking farmyard turkeys. The views over the islands from the top were simply stunning.
Bill was an attentive host but left us to ourselves when he realised we could be trusted to operate the fire and Aga! He was happy to let the city girls have a go at milking Daisy. She seemed to survive!

The hot tub was well used at the end of each day and the beautiful views down over the valley seemed like the Shire from Lord of the Rings.

We couldn't recommend this house highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, England
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We were really excited about our trip here as the website promised hands on animal interaction and a warm,friendly welcome etc. Im afraid very few of the claims actually happened.

The website stated that people coming by train could be collected by the owner of the Croft as it was in quite a rural location which we took advantage of and arranged this several weeks before our trip.We were quite offended when on our journey to the Croft the owner pointed out a local sports venue and commented that that was where he should be at that moment, adding that he had no idea he was supposed to be picking us up.

He popped in and gave us a quick non too informative guide to using the AGA and said he's pop back to show us how to operate the hot tub etc.I reminded the owner we had also ordered a large selection of food produced on the Croft from them so I would need to settle that payment when I received my food delivery. And off he went.

It was 3 days before we saw him again! During that time we had knocked on his door several times, keen to get a quick rundown on the hot tub. We finally received an answer from a younger man who was incredibly polite and showed us quickly and easily how it should be used. Full marks to him.There was no mention during our whole stay of our food order. It was completely ignored despite me receiving confirmation emails for it!

The house is divided into 2 cottages which can be linked for a bigger group. We stayed in the smaller cottage called Rose Cottage. Its a fairly new build and I must say is a very pleasant accomodation. It has a dishwasher, washing machine,fridge,freezer, AGA etc so is a home from home. We initially stayed in the downstairs bedroom but decided to move to the upstairs room the second night due to finding a few stray hairs on our bed which put us off a little.Each room has a lovely ensuite and the shower room is lovely.

Although the accomodation is rated a 5 star we personally questioned this a little. Our patio doors were very very dirty and cigarette packets were thrown in the bushes outside it, the selection of childrens games were tatty and had vital pieces missing (for example the board from draughts?), all the garden chairs were put in the larger cottages garden leaving us just a garden table which was a shame as we were quite lucky with the weather so would have enjoyed a cuppa outside, the dvd player skipped on the discs.

The highlight of the stay though had to be the outdoor hot tub which we cannot fault. we went in on a March evening at dusk with the warm bubbles surrounding us looking out onto the amazing mountain views and it was one of the most lovely experiences ever. The only slight issue with this was that it was again based outside the larger cottages conservatory windows making it a little awkward if there were strangers staying next door!

My other highlight was my only animal interaction of the week when my partner asked if i could have a go at milking the cow.

Local area is beautiful. Shop is local and there are some nice little tea rooms about.

I cannot recommend this accomodation to anyone as although the area is breathtakingly beautiful the customer service is just appalling.When I returned home i received an angry email from the owners wife complaining that we had used the second bedroom and now she would have to wash the sheets. I was amazed!

One to avoid - find somewhere that still has its sparkle instead.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billandsukie, Owner at Bluebell Croft, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
This weeks holiday was not paid for, it was a prize from VisitScotland.
I quoted their entry in full from the Visitors Book on Trip Adviser but was told this is unfortunately not allowed.
Their write up was glowing, they loved their stay and this malicious review was only written after I queried their use of both bedrooms and bathrooms.
They claimed to find hairs in the bed AFTER they had slept in it!
They did not even have an Aga in the cottage they were staying in.
The draughts board was on the coffee table with the chess pieces sitting on it.
We had just cleaned the patio doors.
There were no cigarette boxes in the garden.
They enjoyed a casserole in the oven on arrival, complimentary warm scones, home made jam and home made organic bread. The only food they did not receive were fruit and vegetables in March which is says on our website are available in season from about the end of May onwards and a chicken which is says are available from the end of July.
They enjoyed milking our lovely cow Daisy and watching Tilly our dog happily enjoying life on the croft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this beautiful house 5 years ago for a celebration and always wanted to return. Hosting guests from the USA for a week was the perfect excuse. We wanted to give them an experience of contemporary warm Scottish hospitality of a five star nature and the set up at the croft is perfect for that. Driving through magnificent Glencoe, crossing on the Coran Ferry and being immediately transported to an island feel coastline sets the scene. There are two options at Bluebell but we chose two bedroom Rose with its high ceiling, integral 5 star kitchen and log burner glowing. The new flower beds were in full spring bloom. And the hot tub with its mountain and night sky views was a huge attraction. The sun even shone for us and so our hosts busied themselves with setting up the patio furniture and large wood grill upon which we cooked their own steaks, the most tender I ever cut through! Included for the weekend was a welcome pack which included home made scones, jam, two bottles of wine and a huge freshly baked loaf of bread on Saturday morning! It is touches like these that bring an added smile to the experience. Even the birds sang all day long and a buzzard flew so close to us as we sat on the patio we could see the detail of his colouring and feathers. There is so much to do from here too but equally the accommodation compels deep relaxation! The two houses are together and share the hot tub but there is room enough for 8 people and a lot of good chatting can happen in that hot bubbling water. Equally great fornjust two. It is the perfect escape from any city in the UK and the young businessman visiting at same time as us was thrilled to get a chance to milk the cow - but it's not compulsory!

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Andrews
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Our fifth visit to Bluebell. Arrived to find a basket weaving course in progress -- one of many courses organised here. Watched with fascination as handiwork was completed -- to very professional standards. Then down to the serious business of lighting a roaring fire -- actually not so much needed on this occasion because the weather was so good!!
Walks up the glen or to the village sitting in the hot tub outside in November -- or simply using the peace and quiet to write Christmas cards. And at the end of the day, Sukie's cooking.

Only drawback was having to return to the real world at the end of it!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

This is our second break in two years at Bluebell croft and for four families sharing the possibility to use both the main and adjacent cottage was ideal. Well equipped and relaxing cottage with wood burners, very well equipped kitchen with Aga and of course hot tub add to the quality of this property. The disabled provision is also first class. Lots of local walks and cycle trips (the hill to Polloch is challenging - but the resultant track to Glenfinnan is an excellent day trip by bike) The nearby ancient Ariundle woodland is well worth exploring -one of the few remaining oak forests in Europe. Mull ferry is only half an hour away if you want to drive further afield. Ardnamurchan is also an easy drive or a longer cycle ride.
Sukie and Bill are pleasant hosts from whom we were the grateful recipients of duck eggs, fresh scones and mountains of celery.(which resulted in a hearty aga made soup) The local Ariundle centre provided an outstanding meal on our last evening.
A great week !

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

I am actually writing this on my laptop whilst sitting in Bluebell Croft itself! We're so thrilled with the welcome, accommodation and quality of this self catering house that I had to write the review midweek!

So - first of all, the location. By any standards, Strontian is pretty remote (it took us about 5 hours to drive here from Newcastle) but that is a massively positive point. It's a thrilling and beguiling drive into the Highlands- and the winding vistas which open up in front of the car make for a dramatic introduction to this part of Scotland. Ancient sounding place names stud the road signs and even older mountains tower above enticing rivers and brooks - it's an enchanting environment. Even here, before we'd actually arrived at Bluebell Croft, you feel like you're really getting away from things. Taking the car onto a small ferry at Corran was an unusual activity (for us at least) and I'd imagine would seem like even more of an adventure for kids.

Bill and Sukie (the owners of Bluebell Croft) had been friendly and warm in all communications prior to our arrival (including when we were erroneously a couple of weeks late in paying for the holiday!) and that friendliness continued when we actually pulled in to the croft. There were bottles of wine awaiting out arrival, some warmed scones with homemade jam and marmalade, milk from Daisy (the cow you can see outside of the kitchen window!) and in the morning, a load of freshly baked bread.

The house is stunning. High quality, well kitted out, genuinely a comfortable home away from home. For the cooks, there's a fab kitchen with a double -oven Aga (plus induction hobs and electric oven) and everything you'd need for the week. If you don't like cooking the following won't mean much, but for us amateur chefs it's unusual to get these resources in a self-catering cottage:

Magimix; salad spinner; 'proper' wine glasses; caffetieres; full range of pans and roasting trays; decent knives (with sharpeners!) and a really well stocked drawer of kitchen utensils.

The ground floor is domiated by the open kitchen and dining area, which leads on to a very comfortable lounge. There's a wood burners which keeps the place warm, and you don't pay any extra for all the logs you'll use. Next to the main living area is one double room with ensuite, downstairs loo, utility area with washer and dryer, and a conservatory which leads out to the best positioned hot tub I've ever seen! The views from this outdoor bubble bath are amazing.

Upstairs there's another double en suite room, and a large kingsize room which shares an ensuite with a kids room (which can sleep 4).

Part of the joy of Bluebell Croft (other than the quality of the accommodation and views) is watching croft life unfurl each day. You can help milk the cow if you like, or get the eggs, feed your food scraps to the pigs and get fresh veg from the poly tunnel if you need. We asked for a few salad leaves and were rewarded with a massive mixed bag of greens and a beautiful array of homegrown tomatoes.

We've done loads of walking so far, and the ferry to Mull is only a half hour drive. If you like the outdoors it truly is an incredible spot with remote, challenging, beautiful walks nearby but also, judging by the literature in the house, plenty of less-active stuff nearby as well.

All in all - this has been one of the best week's we've ever had (and we're only half way through it!). It's been both relaxing and enjoyable and surely an annual pilgrimage is now required!

By the way, we stayed in the larger of the two houses - there's a smaller one on the other side of the (potentially) shared conservatory which can be rented separately or alongside the main house. I imagine it would be a fantastic family venue for a special celebration or Christmas.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bluebell Croft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebell Croft

Address: 15 Anaheilt, Strontian PH36 4JA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Strontian
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Strontian
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 Luxury, 5 Star self-catering cottages set in a tranquil rural Scottish Highlands location. Superbly equipped with giant hot-tub with mountain views ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bluebell Croft Strontian, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluebell Croft, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.