We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely way to spend a Saturday !!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westward at Crinan Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Westward at Crinan Hotel
Crinan, Lochgilphead PA31 8SR, Scotland
01546 830261
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 13 Restaurants in Lochgilphead
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Glasgow
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely way to spend a Saturday !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I worked as a receptionist at the Crinan Hotel some 40 years ago (my first job away from home) and had always wanted to go back. first Saturday with nothing planned for ages we decided to go for it ! The car trip from Glasgow was lovely through Inverary then Lochgilphead and right along the canal and there at the very end is the Crinan Hotel. Really strange stepping back in time and I couldn't quite believe that not a lot had changed. The staff are very friendly and welcoming and shock shock my old boss Nick Ryan and his wife Frances still run this family hotel. had a lovely walk around, Mr Ryan told us the take the lift to the 3rd floor where they have a spectacular gallery displaying Mrs Ryans paintings, with outside space to take in the breathtaking views out over the canal. We had lunch in the seafood restaurant which was really fab. The dressed crab was delicious as were the salad leaves and tangy salsa. My husbands haddock was super sized and fresh fresh fresh fab.!!! what a great place has really stood the test of time, will not leave it another 40 years before we return that's for sure. !!! Ps and Mr Ryan was a bit less scarey than he was a way back then !!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    6
    0
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not the Westward but the Crinan Coffee Shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

After a brilliant 9 mile drive down the side of the Crinan Canal, you will find at the end of the Road the Crinan Hotel. Very posh looking and perhaps not the spot to stop for a drink and a bite to eat, but there at the Canal Basin and the Sea Lock for the Canal is a Coffee Shop which is undoubtedly run by the Hotel as the Staff appear to move between the two.

What a pleasure- I must be honest, I cannot now buy a Sausage Roll from any other supplier as I was totally blown away by the Sausage Roll provided. Follow that up with a large slice of what was described as Chocolate Cherry - I left there replete and very happy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochwinnoch
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Quirky but great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had been for a walk along the Crinan canal and had worked up an appetite. We had wanted t Try the Crinan hotel for some time so took our chance when we had it. The restaurant, at first sight, looked a wee bit dowdy. But it was clean enough and smelled of very good food so we stuck to our guns and sat down. A good number of the seats looked like converted church pews but were very much more comfortable. My wife had a seafood stew in a cream sauce. She loved it. I had razor clams with salad leaves. Again, great. The atmosphere in the restaurant was very relaxed. No one rushed us to finish and they were fairly relaxed about the bill. During our meal I watched a fishing boat being unloaded and one of the seamen brought a case of razor clams into the hotel for the kitchen. I guess you can't get much fresher than that. The toilets were spotless with plenty of hot water and a choice of hand towel or drier. I will definitely be back here at the next available opportunity!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Time travelling in the right direction.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just go and experience this yourself. You will not be disappointed with anything, except maybe that everything is old but that's the point. The whole area and the hotel is trapped in time and it's great. It's a true life Brigadoon. Not that I'm suggesting that Brigadoon isn't real. But this is.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Having had a meal in the Seafood Bar on Monday night, we decided to eat in the more formal Westward on Wednesday and what a treat it was!! We had a round table at the back of the restaurant and although we ended up by ourselves, it was just fabulous. There were 4 choices of starters; I had the scallop brochettes and my husband had the smoked salmon. Both were lovely. The soup was a shellfish veloute and was super. There were again 4 choices for the main course and I had halibut and my husband had lamb; again both wonderful. For dessert I had peach sabayon and my husband had cheese and we both thoroughly enjoyed them. The service was very good without being overwhelming, as it might have been considering we were on our own. The whole experience was just wonderful!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Westward at Crinan Hotel also viewed

Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute
Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute
 
Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute
Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Westward at Crinan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westward at Crinan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.