We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5-Star!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Corran

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochgilphead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Corran
Save
You added The Corran to your Saves list
Potalloch Street, Lochgilphead PA31 8LR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Lochgilphead B&B and Inns
Tonbridge
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“5-Star!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

Stayed here two nights based on previous reviews on this site.
It lived up to all our expectations and more!
Great location - easy walk into town. Homely welcome by Heather.
Accommodation was superb and breakfast will keep you going well through lunch-time.
Good central spot for touring Kintyre with lots to see.
Will definitely return here and recommend it as one of the best B&Bs around.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    16
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
21
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Spotlessly clean accommodation and a first class breakfast. I only stayed one night but the welcome I received made me realise just how impersonal hotels have become. Very comfortable bed and a million dollar view to wake up to. This is B&B at its best and I cannot recommend The Corran highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

We needed somewhere as a base for five days of sightseeing in the local area - and couldn't have picked a friendlier, more welcoming place. The children were made to feel right at home, and the breakfasts were fabulous, with views over the garden and the loch.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

The owner Heather was so friendly on arrival, showing me around her gorgeous b&b. The upstairs twin room was in all honesty simply outstanding. The views across the loch were stunning and the breakfast in the morning on its own is a definete reason to stay here. Really gorgeous :) x

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

We had a lovely warm welcome from Heather and enjoyed our stay in this spacious old house. Our room was comfortably furnished with an ensuite with shower. There is a lovely garden bright with flowers and at breakfast time we enjoyed watching the many birds and the red squirrel visiting the bird feeders by the window. The full scottish breakfast was generous indeed and we chose the parts we wanted, and still had plenty. Just a short walk into town, the park fronting the loch there is lovely. Lots to do in the area, there are beavers in the forest at Knapdale, and while we did not see them we could see evidence of their hard work. The prehistoric monuments and museum at Kilmartin are also very interesting.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

We stayed in one of the cottages at the Corran - Cozy , comfortable cottage . The garden delightful and the location superb. Heather's Kiwi hospitality and tasty Breakfasts made for a wonderful stay.

Jenny and Dick
Napier New Zealand

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

We have travelled expensively and whilst in the UK and Scotland, this B & B has been one of the very best. Very spacious and comfortable rooms and bathrooms being the real deal with proper showers, not just tiney closets which so many seem to have.

Heather, the owner gives the house her own charm and personality, and cooks a great breakfast.

The Corran is one not to miss. Ron and Marion

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Corran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corran

Address: Potalloch Street, Lochgilphead PA31 8LR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Lochgilphead
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lochgilphead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Corran Hotel Lochgilphead
The Corran Lochgilphead, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Corran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.