We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb B&B, in an awesome location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Corran

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochgilphead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Corran
Save
You added The Corran to your Saves list
Potalloch Street, Lochgilphead PA31 8LR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Lochgilphead B&B and Inns
NZ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb B&B, in an awesome location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

We stayed in one of the cottages at the Corran - Cozy , comfortable cottage . The garden delightful and the location superb. Heather's Kiwi hospitality and tasty Breakfasts made for a wonderful stay.

Jenny and Dick
Napier New Zealand

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    16
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
21
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

We have travelled expensively and whilst in the UK and Scotland, this B & B has been one of the very best. Very spacious and comfortable rooms and bathrooms being the real deal with proper showers, not just tiney closets which so many seem to have.

Heather, the owner gives the house her own charm and personality, and cooks a great breakfast.

The Corran is one not to miss. Ron and Marion

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Naki
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

After a day's travel, it's rewarding to be welcomed into a homely atmosphere. This is what we found when we arrived at 'The Corran', Lochgilphead. Bruce and Heather had several options within their establishment and we chose a cosy double room within the B & B. Their full scottish breakfast is legendary and it certainly set us up for the rest of the day, before settling on a beautiful evening meal at a local restaurant. Lochgilphead is only 87 miles from Glasgow, so our decision to drive that short distance was well worth it. We then had the opportunity to stretch our legs by walking along the Crinan Canal which is close to 'The Corran' , and our visit to Inveraray Castle where we viewed the Armoury collection and French Tapestries was wonderful. Heather and Bruce have an amazing B & B, they are extremely hospitable, provide excellent service to their guests and we heartily recommend 'The Corran' as a relaxing and very special place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010 via mobile

We've just spent a fantastic weekend at The Corran. A large group of us came up to Scotland for a friend's wedding and booked out the place. And even though we filled out the place, and all wanted breakfast at about the same time, the owner didn't miss a step. Her genuinely friendly welcome extended throughout the weekend. Then there's the breakfast: fantastic fresh fruit, stunning cooked breakfast, and great coffee. Better than any 5* hotel I've stayed in. The rooms are also very comfortable, but that might have been the whiskey at the wedding! If you come up to this part of Scotland, stay here!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

I stayed here recently with three friends for a wedding. we stayed two nights in the cottage which has self catering facilities but we had breakfast each morning in the main house.
there are various things that we loved about this place, but most of all it was the hospitality that we were given - on the morning of the wedding it was raining and by the time we got in for breakfast our host had very kindly rung the hotel where the bus to the wedding was leaving from and arranged for it to make a special stop to pick us up rather than having us walk down to the other hotel in the rain.
breakfast was fantastic both mornings and account was taken of our pregnant and vegetarian companions without any fuss or bother at all. it was easter sunday on the second morning and there was a creme egg at everyone's place in the breakfast room - what a lovely touch!
on the second morning, after the wedding, the flexibility in what time we wanted breakfast at was fantastic - the first time i have ever really felt like a host of a b&b appreciates you might not be willing to meet their usual timetable when you've been at a wedding the day before - we agreed we would have breakfast at 10am - very civilised!
similarly, we didn't feel under any pressure to check out immediately afterwards, it was all very laid back which is exactly what you want after being a little 'tired' from a wedding the day before!
the only niggle for all of us was that the beds were too soft, although on the second night that didn't really matter(!) and our pregnant companion slept on the sofa bed in the lounge which was perfect in that respect.
would definitely try and stay here again next time im in this part of the country.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

We spent 4 nights in this b&b in one of their self catering cottages, but this didn't exclude us from having the most amazing cooked breakfasts each morning! The setting of The Corran is fantastic, stunning views, a beautiful house and lovely garden. We turned up before check in time on the off chance and thought the response was a little brusque initially, but soon discovered that the owners were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The cottage itself is well worth it if you have children as there is plenty of room, small kitchen plus TV / DVD, stereo etc. The area is stunning and we would happily return. Thanks Heather and Bruce for a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

We stayed at this wonderful B&B whilst we were looking to buy our own B&B! We can honestly say that Heather and Bruce were great hosts. The room was beautiful; absolutely spotless with lots of character. The breakfast was fantastic! We really appreciated the time Heather spent giving us invaluable advice about running a B&B! We would definitely recommend this to anyone thinking about visiting the area, you won't be disappointed!!!
Julie and Steve (proud owners of a guest house on Skye!)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Corran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corran

Address: Potalloch Street, Lochgilphead PA31 8LR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Lochgilphead
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lochgilphead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Corran Hotel Lochgilphead
The Corran Lochgilphead, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Corran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.