We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lochgair Hotel

Lochgair Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lochgair Hotel to your Saves list
Lochgair Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lochgilphead PA31 8SA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lochgilphead
Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2008

I have to agree with the other comments regarding the hotel being a littled tired - i don't think there's much scope for debate regarding that, however, it's certainly not as bad as a lot of similar hotels and certainly not at the point where it's a massive problem. It was certainly clean.

The food was superb and it's location perfect if visiting the area.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    18
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
27
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2008

Just returned from two nights. Hotel was very quiet but food, although simple, was excellent. Breakfast was superb ! The rooms are comfortable and in the bar the whisky menu makes wonderful reading....and the sampling even better !! Our two dogs were more than welcome and the owner was very helpful in advising on the excellent walks nearby.

  • Liked — Location of hotel for walking
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2008

I understand that the owners were selling up, so not too sure if they have yet or not.

The positives: the food was lovely, both the food at night and breakfast. The brothers that ran this place couldn't have been more helpful, cooking what you wanted and recommending whiskys from the bar.

The negatives: the room was a little tired but fine for what we paid - a late deal of £50 a night. However, if I'd paid full price I would have been a bit disappointed. There was also very little hot water.

All in all, good for the price we paid.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2007

Great little hotel, very friendly. The service was great and the food fantastic. In the most beautiful location - right by the edge of the Loch.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2007

This was our third stay at Lochgair. 25th to 27th May 2007. The previous reviewer must have stayed when we were there. However I cannot agree with any of her general comments.Her specific remarks about her room I cant comment upon. Our room was lovely clean and comfortable. We were able to Fyne Dine for two nights of our stay and we ate a la carte in the bar on the third night. It was explained to me when I booked that there was no Fyne Dining on the Sunday night. Each time we have stayed we have really enjoyed ourselves. The Fyne dining is absolutely fantastic. The food generally in the hotel is marvellous but the Fyne Dining is such an exquisite experience. The staff and owners are very charming, helpful and obliging. Nothing is too much trouble. We will be returning. A wonderful place.

  • Liked — comfy rooms, pleasent helpful staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

Reading through the other reviews on Tripadvisor, I wonder if somewhere along the road to Lochgilphead there was a disturbance in the time-space continuum, because although we were clearly at the Lochgair Hotel, we didn't recognise much of it from the comments on the site.

For a start, the decor is entirely lost in time: the furniture in our room (no. 3, advertised as "the suite") was a kind of white-and-gold roccoco design in what appeared to be mostly formica, and must have been sourced from MFI circa 1975; the "shower" was a spray head attached to a short length of plastic hosing that you had to ram onto the taps, just like you used to have in your bathroom at home, before proper showers became standard; the towels were tiny and very thin; and there had clearly been a dog (or dogs) in the room before us, judging by the number of hairs on the carpet, suggesting a time before Dysons were invented. There was also a terrible smell, which we later realised was a cheap but very potent air freshener, sprayed liberally around the room (perhaps to cover up the smell of dog?).

The "Fyne Dining" experience was not available for some reason, so it was just bar meals, which were reasonable, but not brilliant. I'd love to be nicer about the place because the service was terrific - really nice people, terribly helpful and friendly, I thought they were exceptional, but it wasn't quite enough to make the whole experience worth the money. Maybe the other rooms are nicer? Who knows, but we probably won't be stopping again to find out - instead, I would recommend driving straight past this one, on past Lochgilphead and Tarbert, to Clachan, where you can stay in the Balikinall Country House Hotel for the same price and the experience is out of this world.

  • Liked — Good location, really nice people running it
  • Disliked — The room, especially the nasty little bathroom
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2007

We have just returned from a 2-night stay here at The Lochgair Hotel. Everything was absolutely superb. Bedrooms were spotlessly clean and very comfortable.
We had a bar meal on our first evening and really enjoyed the food. On our second evening we decided to have the Fyne Dining - the quality of the food, the presentation and the service were all top class. Breakfasts were equally delicious - particularly the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon!
This is a small, family run hotel with great atmosphere. nothing is too much trouble to the staff - they all go out of their way to help in any way they can. We will definately be back and can highly recommend to anyone.

  • Liked — Food and service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lochgair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochgair Hotel

Address: Lochgilphead PA31 8SA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Lochgilphead
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lochgilphead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lochgair Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run traditional Scottish hotel with an award winning whisky bar which houses more than 200 whiskies, 2 restaurants, residents lounge, games room, function suite & most important of all a friendly welcome! All our food is freshly prepared by our chef patron & team and our seafood is quite simply the best in the world. You can be sure of a relaxing & enjoyable stay here at the Lochgair Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Lochgair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochgair Hotel Lochgilphead, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lochgair Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.