We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beer garden” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Stag Hotel & Restaurant

The Stag Hotel & Restaurant
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lochgilphead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Stag Hotel & Restaurant
Save
You added The Stag Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Argyll St, Lochgilphead PA31 8NE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lochgilphead
Coleraine
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful beer garden”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Like the last reviewer said this place has according to my aunt who is a local, undergone a massive renovation and is a credit to the present owners. We had dinner without a reservation and chef made pasta for me because I didn't fancy the other vegetarian options. Desserts were lovely and there was a nice homely atmosphere. We were invited to see the new beer garden which is gorgeous - water features and gazebos etc. lunch out there or a drink on a warm evening is highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    7
    3
    8
See reviews for
2
8
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My car tyre blew out and I had to spend the night is Lochgiphead at the last minute. This hotel has been entirely redone and is really very stunning now. Helpful staff, lovely clean room/bathroom, had an excellent dinner in the restaurant and made lots of friends sitting on the outdoor patio. What could have been a dark spot on my vacation was a lovely find. Would definitely refer this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonny Scotland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stopped there for lunch, were given a higher priced menu than the one on the door and had to ask for the lunch one. Service was a bit slow but ok as was the food. This is a old building and had been painted not long ago it still shows its age.The toilets were very confusing as there was no cubical in the gents and male and female had to share the disabled.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

when arriving to the bar for drinks we asked for a vodka and coke and was given the cheapest coke ever!! we asked for the music to be on and the bar staff said no because football was on but there was no one else in the bar and i am pretty sure ive been short changed in here several times . also when we asked for a drink we where given reall small glasses even though we asked for long glasses . one thing that was nice though was the food in the restaurant .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here for one night on 2nd January having broken down nearby and needing a bed for the night til we got moving again. The room was £70 bed and breakfast, reasonable fir a last minute walk-in. However, room was extremely basic - I have stayed in nicer Travelodges - bedclothes were torn in places and the ensuite bathroom had no bath, a shower only and felt a bit like a disabled toilet you might find in a train station.

That said, we weren't there for luxury and it was a bed for the night and not too expensive considering it wasn't an advance booking.

Saving grace was the food in the bar - we had steak pie which was absolutely delicious (steak pie is my absolute favourite food in the world though and I was starving so perhaps a little biased!) Breakfast the following morning was also nice.

All in all if you're broken down in the area and your car's brought to the garage next door then you could do worse for a bed for the night, but if you are coming to the area for a break then there's probably nicer places to stay - incidentally we were on our way back from a New Year's break at the Killean Estate in Tarbert about 40 mins away from Lochgilphead which I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Spent four nights here and could not fault this hotel. Staff excellent. Food very good. Rooms a little basic but comfortable and very clean. Good laughs and jukebox in the bar. Am happy to recommend it to others and the location is excellent

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights over the Bank Holiday weekend. Although the room was a bit basic, it was clean and fresh! The food was excellent and the staff were helpful and friendly which added to a memorable break. This Hotel is certainly on the up!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Stag Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stag Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Argyll St, Lochgilphead PA31 8NE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Lochgilphead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lochgilphead
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
The Stag Hotel And Restaurant
Stag Hotel Lochgilphead
The Stag Hotel & Restaurant Lochgilphead, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stag Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.