We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stop in a beautiful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins to your Saves list
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fort William Road, Kinlochleven PH50 4QL, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kinlochleven
Coin, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great stop in a beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We have been walking in the mountains here for 20 years and always use the Macdonald (we refer to it as big Macs) We called in today and were delighted to find new owners and a new chef.The food has always been value for money, but the food from the new chef is superb and ,needs to be experienced. try the Chicken and broccoli in a parmesan sauce served in a crepe or the cajun chicken which was moist and full of flavour with just enough spice for me, served with the house sauvignon blanc at 12.90 a bottle the whole meal was excellent. We found the owners and the staff friendly and attentive and would heartily recommend this very nice traditional Scottish Hotel, we have enough stainless steel and glass hotels elsewhere, Keep up the good work

Room Tip: The views from here are all good but ask for South and West facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janneke L, Owner at The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you very much! You are always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    79
    28
    8
    8
See reviews for
30
64
32
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

After spending 4 nights self catering on the Isle of Skye, I was looking forward to having a two night hotel break to end my Scottish holiday. I was greeted with a shabby dated hotel. The manageress was nice. Very attentive but the hotel itself needs a total revamp. It's not a 3 star I'm afraid. The room was dirty, full of cobwebs and the shower was useless. Hot then cold or not at all! Room service non existent. Better more luxurious hotel in Glencoe for the same nightly rate. Won't be staying here again. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janneke L, Owner at The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
This comment has been left by the fiancee of Delwyn, who left a comment on January 3rd.
We have responded to those comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I don't know if this hotel is under new management or what, but it probably ranks as one of the worst hotels I've stayed in. The Hotel is tired and dated, and needs a bit of TLC. This could have been looked past and might have been seen as Character, had the rest of it been any good. The room we had was OK at first glance, with the exception of the hanging cobwebs and the plumbing for the shower going from scalding hot to freezing cold to turning off all on its own. The location is great for exploring the hills around Glencoe. This, I'm afraid, is the only positive. The maid service never happened. We left our wet towels on the bathroom floor; we were out all day walking on the West Highland Way, only to find the same wet towels on the floor when we got back in the evening. The quilt was in a heap on the bed where we had left it, and it was obvious that no one had been near the room in our absence. The food was terrible, both me and my fiancé left early the second morning avoiding breakfast and paying for one at the Green Welly because the previous mornings offering was so bad. The hotel has potential to be great, but sadly it currently isn't. The tariff is comparable to several other hotels in the area, that’s where the comparison ends. What we got for the money was probably worth less than half of the cost we were charged. I will certainly never stay there again, and could not recommend it to anyone else. There's a campsite up the road, you'd be better off there.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janneke L, Owner at The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. Had you raised any of the issues with us at the time, we could have made our best efforts to correct them. The first inkling I had to your discontent was your trip advisor review.

You stayed with us on New Year's Eve. The next day when I did see you, I explained that the housekeeper did not clean your room because, according to her, someone appeared to be sleeping in the bed when she went in. She did not want to disturb you.

On the final morning, you came in to the dining room and had orange juice. I asked you if you wanted breakfast. You told me you didn't have time for breakfast. At no point did you tell me that you hadn't enjoyed the breakfast or that you were having trouble with the shower.

We pride ourselves in attending to our guests needs wherever possible. We regret not having the opportunity to address these issues while you were in the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Booked our stay via a wow her deal for 1 night with breakfast and an ice factor experience! Had an amazing weekend and a really warm,friendly reception when we arrived! Hotel has a stunning location and was pretty reluctant to leave on the Sunday!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We have just stayed in 1 of the cabins for 2 nights one of them being the stormiest night in the last decade!! We have enjoyed 2 extremely cosy and comfortable nights here!! The hosts made us feel very welcome and were accomodating with our dog!! We enjoyed 2 nights in the bar with great food and beers!! Thanks for having us
Matt and Andy

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I spent 4 days here in November on my own and felt very welcome indeed. The staff went out of their way to make me feel welcome and comfortable, and above all were very friendly. The place itself is well located at the head of the loch with great views looking along it to mountains on either side. I ate here every morning and night and felt no desire to go and try anywhere else in town. Would definitely come again.

Room Tip: the bothies offer unrivalled value for money if you are looking for cheap private accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janneke L, Owner at The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thanks for your comments. It was our pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Very friendly staff excellent facilities the breackfast is exactly what you need before you set off again not a bad word to say against this place would highly reccomend staying in this fine establishment

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janneke L, Owner at The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thanks very much for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins

Address: Fort William Road, Kinlochleven PH50 4QL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kinlochleven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kinlochleven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MacDonald Hotel and Cabins in Kinlochleven is at the head of Loch Leven with breathtaking views. Ideally situated for those walking the West Highland Way, along with other walks in the area. Mark and I took the hotel over on 17th January 2014 and appreciate all of the reviews on Tripadvisor, but look forward to receiving our own. We have seen the feedback on Breakfast times and this will be addressed! Thanks and we look forward to welcoming you. Helen & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Hotel Kinlochleven
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins Kinlochleven, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.