We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Place to stay 5 stars if looking for somewhere to go that will accept dogs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins to your Saves list
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fort William Road, Kinlochleven PH50 4QL, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kinlochleven
arbroath
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Brilliant Place to stay 5 stars if looking for somewhere to go that will accept dogs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Everything during our stay was great. We stayed in the cabins behind the hotel mainly because we had the dog even though dogs are allowed in the hotel. He was treated like a king! Frances the owner gave us some cream for his sore paws (he is not used to walking for so long in such a short space of time). Our first morning saw us in the resturaunt for breakfast, unknown to us dogs not allowed although the lovely lady who worked at the hotel asked the 3 other guests if they would mind which they all said it was fine. All the other mornings there was a table set up in the "Bothy Bar" so that the dog could stay with us at all times. Friendly staff, decent pub grub and an amazing Sunday lunch for £4.90, very impressive. Would certainly return as we need to stay somewhere that will accommodate our dog as well as us, 5 stars for dog friendliness alone!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    79
    28
    8
    8
See reviews for
30
64
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed here in the cabins to the rear of the hotel and had a very pleasant stay. Accommodation is basic but very good value for money and the food is fabulous and not overpriced. Great night had by all, thanks.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We ate dinner but did stay at the Macdonald Hotel and had a delightful and moderately priced meal in extraordinary surroundings.

This is a very friendly and accomodating place where many walkers congregate. The proprietress greeted us and we found the food fresh, well prepared and very pleasantly served.

But what made our visit special was the extraordinary beauty of the location - at the head of Loch Leven with a stunning view down the loch with hills and mountains fading into the mist one after another to infinty. Just one of those places those that makes you feel as if you were in a movie. One terrific evening on the West Highland Way.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Good hotel, ideal location at exit to village but only thirty metres from climb out of village for those walking the West Highland Way.

Restaurant is very good with some intersting choices. Breakfast was equal satisfying.

Our room became very warm fortunately a fan was provided.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Location is good although no direct view onto the loch itself. The cabins have 2 sets of bunk beds, and although there were only two of us staying, we were assured they never mix groups which is great. At the cost of £14 per person, per night for a cabin, I found the stay to be amazing value for money. The mattresses came with linen and a pillow, electricity and lights, blinds on the windows, a veranda of sorts with two chairs to sit outside, and even a heater.

I would recommend prebooking breakfast at the cost of £6 per person which is the same price for a full fry up and just porridge for example, so go for the full thing! We did not prebook and we appeared to be quite the hassle to accommodate.

Room Tip: Prebook breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed in one of the cabins,two of us,four bunks,room for luggage,heater and midge zapper included! No meter,part of the rate,so no need to be cold!
Good hot showers available.
Very reasonable rates.
Excellent food in the bar.
Lovely location,weather was good so that made for a lovely view in the morning.
Recommended

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed in this hotel whilst walking the west highland way. Many of the hotels we stayed in during this walk seemed to cater solely for walkers. This one seems geared up for all kinds of tourists and not solely walkers. The hotel is on the outskirts of the town so unless you are prepared to walk it is best to eat in the hotel itself. You can choose whether to eat in the restaurant or the bar. The food and prices are the same so the best option is the bar as it has the best views of the loch. Food at dinner was good, but at breakfast could only be described as ordinary.

The room allocated was fine and for the first time we found a hotel which has mesh at the windows to keep out midges whilst at the same time giving you the option to open the window for fresh air. Such a simple thing and we are not sure why other hotels do not do this.

The hotel staff were good. There was a young American student who seemed to be running everything. He was attentive but had a sense of humour that after a time begins to wear. We put it down to being over enthusiastic.

There is also a campsite in the hotel grounds for those who prefer this.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins

Address: Fort William Road, Kinlochleven PH50 4QL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kinlochleven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kinlochleven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MacDonald Hotel and Cabins in Kinlochleven is at the head of Loch Leven with breathtaking views. Ideally situated for those walking the West Highland Way, along with other walks in the area. Mark and I took the hotel over on 17th January 2014 and appreciate all of the reviews on Tripadvisor, but look forward to receiving our own. We have seen the feedback on Breakfast times and this will be addressed! Thanks and we look forward to welcoming you. Helen & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Hotel Kinlochleven
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins Kinlochleven, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.