We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed down now?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mamore Lodge Hotel

Mamore Lodge Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kinlochleven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mamore Lodge Hotel
Save
You added Mamore Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Kinlochleven | off B863, Kinlochleven PH50 4QN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kinlochleven
Bay Area
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Closed down now?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I was the first to review the Lodge almost 10 years ago, and it appears it has closed down. I tried booking there today through several approaches, and all say that rooms are not available anytime in the future.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    2
    7
    18
See reviews for
6
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
falkirk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

after doing the famous ring of steall we treked over to the .lodge.weary hungry sore and totally pissed off. the welcome we got from paul was second to none friendly staff great food and warm atmosphere Initially we were only going to stay one night but stayed for the week definately going back .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

I have to confess we went up to the Momore Lodge Hotel one Saturay morning in July out of curiosity, expecting it now to be fully closed and curious to see the outside once again. The road sign, however, stated that it was open, so we decided to go in for morning coffee, in the hope that someone somewhere might have decided to save this place.

First thing you note, as you arrive outside, is that the building is going downhill fast. It looks not too far away from the sort of deterioration that renders a building derlict, and it is not even saved by the famous views. The greenery is fast encroaching, and even inside from an elevated downstairs window, you cannot see over the Rhodies and other plantlife gone wild.

Once inside, it was a bit like the Marie Celeste with added smell, and it's good thing we were of honest intent, because it took a long long time and a lot of 'helloooo'ing, before a chap appeared. To be fair, I don't think he was expecting customers, his appearance suggesting he had possibly been busy working outside or in the garden or such like, and he wasn't welcoming. He responded to our request for coffee/tea by supposing he could put us in the 'dining room', doing so, then disappearing for quite a while. In the dining room the smell, which out in 'recepion area' had been a mere annoyance, was seriously disturbing. In a way, it was a good thing that the coffee _ when it eventually came _ was undrinkable, because the smell was having an alarmingly detrimental effect on my swallowing reflex. The dining room was dark and seriously dirty. Their were mouldy food crumbs about (who had been eating!) and surfaces didn't bear touching, but the worst of it all was that smell! The tea and coffee,cheap instant and poorly made, arrived on a dirty crumby tray and thiere was a dirty mark on the edge of one of the three cups.

We didn't see a lot of the inside of the building, but everythin we saw was remarkably dirty. We decided not to complain _ the whole experience was far too sureal _ so we rather quickly decided to leave, paid our £4 (for two cups of nasty instant and one tea), and left.

Having now had time to reflect I still do not understand why it was so bad. The place is clearly very 'poor' and run-down, and I have heard that the property is owned by Alcan (or the like) and the hotel run by a leasee (does anyone have any more info?) but none of that would explain why the place is quite so filthy, and why there is no effort being given to customer welcome, service and satisfaction. Both service and cleanliness could be improved very very cheaply.

Perhaps the chap just wants to be left alone? If that is the case, he should close. In staying open and serving customers with consumables, he is bound by laws pertaining to standards, and one day someone will demand that those laws are upheld.

Awful. Could be wonderful. Does anyone know the story?

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

Definitely different than the others; but why being afraid ?! The place is really worthwhile the few aditional steps (ok, quite steep, but that's something you won't have to climb the next day, think about it ...). An old manor (where one of the kings used to come for some hunting parties), which is the property of a private company : therefore the lack of budget for some necessary refurbishment. A warm fire welcomes you at your arrival. Our room was huge with an incredible view over the valley and the loch. Bathroom is ok. Food was however a minus ... We were the only clients at that time of the year and felt a little bit lonely. In short, not a place to stay for days, but a very good (and definitely much better than down in the valley !!!) halt during your walk on the West Highland Way. Enjoy ! Fabian and Marie-Laure.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

My dad and I stayed for one night during our walk along the West Highland Way this summer and Mamore Lodge was certainly the most memorable hotel we stayed in! We chose to walk up to the hotel the most grueling way possible, along a very uneven and steep path but it was worth it once we'd reached the hotel. The views are spectacular and our room looked right out over the loch. The whole place had bags or character with beautiful dark wood paneling everywhere and the names of those who accompanied Edward VII on his hunting parties there, written on all the doors. The service was great with very friendly owners; the plates of food were generous and delicious and dad and I greatly enjoyed the full sized billiards table! This is certainly a quirky hotel and might not appeal to all but we had a great time and would love to go back again.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

This was my second stay at the Mamore Lodge. If you want a generic hotel, do not stay here. If you want an Edwardian hunting lodge off the road with a roaring fire, a geniune inn keeper family, a very nice small bar, decently mixed drink, and a refuge from mountain storms, this is a nice place to stay. The Bush family is welcoming and charming, and does their best with a very large old building that stands up to some fierce weather. View is spectacular. If you are expecting a generic chain type room, this isn't it. Mamore Lodge has some history, some character, and needs to be taken in that light. I frankly enjoy it and choose to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

Stunning location, beautiful wood panelling, comfortable rooms and most acceptable stop for a few nights. It may not be to everyones taste and gourmets would be disappointed but it definitely has charm.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mamore Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamore Lodge Hotel

Address: Kinlochleven | off B863, Kinlochleven PH50 4QN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kinlochleven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kinlochleven
Number of rooms: 155
Also Known As:
Mamore Hotel Kinlochleven
Mamore Lodge Hotel Kinlochleven, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamore Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.