We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Allt-na-Leven

Save Saved
You added Allt-na-Leven to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Allt-na-Leven
23 Leven Road, Kinlochleven PH50 4RP, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
BEST PRICE BOOK DIRECT
Ranked #1 of 9 Kinlochleven B&B and Inns
New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Superb, clean, modern rooms and service. I cannot overstate how pleased we were after a long day on the West Highland Way.

We had dinner and breakfast and were extremely pleased.

The room was perfect. The location is also ideal as it is across the street from a market that is open early and late for supplies and a few doors down from a pub with a perfect view of the bridge and stream. You can also walk a few hundred yards to a beautiful view down the length of Loch Leven.

A wonderful place in a charming village.

Room Tip: The rear bedroom has a wonderful view of the village and stream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline B, Owner at Allt-na-Leven, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hi there all the way to NY, Wullie and I are so glad you enjoyed your stay and evening meal with us.
It was great having you to stay. Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such a great review. If you decide to visit this area again, be sure to look us up. best regards Pauline and Wullie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
48
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Best accommodation on the west highland way, fantastic host, everything you could possibly ask for, power shower to die for, huge breakfast the only B&B on our stay that offered fresh fruit for breakfast. Will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline B, Owner at Allt-na-Leven, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hi there
We are so pleased that you will stay with us again if you visit the area and we thank you for your lovely comments on your accommodation and breakfast. It is greatly appreciated that you took the time to pass on your thoughts. Best regards Pauline and Wullie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The host with the most......energy, warmth and vitality. We stayed on 30th April and will never forget walking into the bedroom.....WOW! Walking into the shower was even better. Everything we could ever want was catered for. Peace, quiet, luxury, tea, coffee, biscuits, chocolates, hot chocolate and alternative teas all available. The bathroom held as many delights with cotton wool, shampoo, conditioner, body wash, body lotion, shower wash in the shower too. Amazing.......so you can imagine the effort they put into the breakfast but be warned it made going up that final hill a little more difficult! Their attention to detail was impeccable. Thanks! My only regret was choosing not to have our evening meal in the B&B i wish we had.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of a superior quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline B, Owner at Allt-na-Leven, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Wow - what a review. Thank you very much and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. After your walk you deserve to be pampered a little and we are pleased that you feel that you were. If you come again you can enjoy an evening meal with us as well. Thank you again Paualine and Wullie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I walked the West Highland Way in April with a friend. Our accommodation was booked for us and our baggage was transferred to our next destination. Allt Na Leven was our last overnight stop. What a lovely guesthouse. The welcome, after a hard, wet walk over from Glen Coe was warm and friendly. The room was sumptuous and beautifully appointed, as was the bathroom, we wanted for nothing. I could have stayed in the hot power shower forever. I don't think I have slept on a more comfortable bed. The menu for the evening meal had an excellent selection and was generous in quality and portion. The breakfast menu left nothing out and again, exceptional.
The place is run by a lovely couple who couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline B, Owner at Allt-na-Leven, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
thank you very much for taking the time to give us such an excellent review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the showers and room and had such a great sleep. It is so nice to hear that our guests have had a good experience. We hope to see you again if you visit the area. Best wishes Pauline and Wullie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Kinlochleven may have lost it's aluminium works, but it's gained a star B&B. It started with our bags being carried up to our room, and continued into the best equipped room ever. Super shower, lovely beds, tea, coffee, biscuits, chocs, nail scissors, cotton buds, shampoo,conditioner; I could go on.
Breakfast was excellent too, with lovely fresh fruit salad and a huge range of choices of hot food plus a variety of breads/toast etc.
Make a special trip to be pampered !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline B, Owner at Allt-na-Leven, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving your comments on your stay with us at Allt na Leven. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt pampered - that tells us that we are doing our job right! Seriously it was lovely having you to stay and you deserved to be pampered after a long days walking. We would also like to thank you for taking the time to send us an email to tell us how much you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again. Pauline and Wullie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had a fantastic spacious triple room at Allt-na-Leven,loads of room for all of our luggage and there was a lot.The breakfast was something else,extra generous portions and everything so fresh and tasty,we didn't need anything else to eat until we'd arrived in Fort William 15 miles later.Will definitely look this place up again if I'm ever in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline B, Owner at Allt-na-Leven, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your great comments on the room and on our breakfast - we are really pleased that you had such a great stay with us and we still cant believe that after walking all day and week in the pouring rain, your friend decided that he needed to go running when he arrived!! A glutton for punishment - i would have collapsed in a heap! Just joking, it was really nice to meet you and if you are in the area again, please give us a call. All the best Pauline and Wullie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milnathort, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Pauline and Willy have left nothing to chance, attention to detail beyond anything I have ever known in a B & B. More like prime class hotel. A warming welcome to us after a hard day on the WHW. Never to be missed if you are in this region. Meals delicious selection and choice fantastic catering for every need. Cngratulations to you both on your hard work which I'm sure will be rewarded.

Room Tip: Every room is more than 5 star standard!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline B, Owner at Allt-na-Leven, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review. We try and give our guests everything they need to make their stay enjoyable and comfortable and we are so glad that you feel we have achieved this. It was a pleasure having you to stay with us and we hope you managed to raise a lot of money for your charity and you are back enjoying your bowling. If you are back in the area again we look forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Allt-na-Leven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allt-na-Leven

Address: 23 Leven Road, Kinlochleven PH50 4RP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kinlochleven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Kinlochleven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pauline & Wullie offer a warm welcome to everyone who visits our home. Once the Village Store, we have recently renovated the old building to a very high standard. Our accommodation is spacious and bright and spotlessly clean with every little comfort to make your stay the best possible. Allt-na-Leven has recently been awarded the 4 Star Gold Award grading from VisitScotland and is ideal for walkers, hill climbers and fishermen alike.As well as being on one of the main stages of the famous West Highland Way, we also have around ten Munros in the area so there are extensive walking and hill walking opportunities within easy reach.Facilities include free drying facilities for outdoor gear, free Wifi ipod/iphone docking stations and a laundry service at a reasonable charge. Our packed lunches are renowned among the walking community along with our varied and hearty breakfast menu.We are situated in the centre of Kinlochleven Village, between Glencoe and Fort William, and just a few minutes from the famous West Highland Way. Backing onto the River Leven we have lovely views of the surrounding hills and the River Leven. On our doorstep is The Ice Factor which lays claim to being the largest indoor ice climbing wall in Europe.Our aim is for all of our guests to feel comfortable and relaxed and we will do our utmost to ensure that your stay with us is second to none.Please do come and visit Allt-na-Leven. Kind regards. Pauline & Wullie ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Allt-na-Leven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allt-Na-Leven Kinlochleven, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allt-na-Leven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.