We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roineabhal Country House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Roineabhal Country House to your Saves list
Roineabhal Country House
Kilchrenan | Taynuilt, Kilchrenan PA35 1HD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Kilchrenan B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This must be one of our favorite B&B's in Scotland so far. We have been there twice! The setting is beautiful and Maria and Roger are fantastic hosts, making you feel right at home. Maria's breakfasts are simply perfect and served around a large dinning table which adds to the homely atmosphere. Attention to detail has gone into everything. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    5
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
34
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Roger and Maria's B&B was one of the most beautiful places we stayed at in Scotland which is saying a lot. Their charming house is built right next to a gurgling stream in a little garden, not far from Loch Awe. The bedrooms and lounge are comfortable and cozy and breakfast was rich and excellent. We had a splendid time and wished we could stay longer.

Recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Roger and Maria made room for us on a busy holiday weekend. However, we enjoyed the softest bed and the most wonderful claw footed bath - and did not mind walking down the hallway (the ensuite rooms having been all taken). This is a beautiful home, and we were made to feel a part of it. The breakfasts are to die for and one understands why Maria is the world porridge making champion! We loved the location - and returning to this beautiful spot after a day's outing. We did not want to leave and stayed a day longer. If you are anywhere near, stay here - it is superb!

Room Tip: They are all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Maria and her team make you feel incredibly at home (thank you for the very welcome cuppa and cake when we arrived!). There are lots of lovely little thoughtful touches (meals are served around a large dining room table so create a family atmosphere; home baked biscuits in the rooms; proper soaps etc.). Rooms are spotless and the beds EXTREMELY comfortable. The location is rather remote but well worth the drive. Dogs welcome. HIGHLY recommended....

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We have just returned from a three night stay with Maria, Roger and McDuff (their dog), we travelled with our 8 month old cocker spaniel Rosie. We were given a warm welcome with tea and cake ( which was fab by the way) and were told to make ourselves at home. Rosie and McDuff got on like a house on fire chasing each other around the ample garden. Maria was the perfect host and a fantastic cook, and if she put her hand to it would make a great tour Guide. We are already thinking about our next trip to Roineabhal, I will definitely recommend this accommodation to my friends. Just like to add a big thank you to Maria and Roger for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

One word sums it up - superb. The hosts were like old friends and the staff kind and chatty. It was just like a home-from-home. Set in a fantastic location - wish I lived there - with the burn flowing beside the house. Oh and lovely dog and cat, MacDuff and Murphy, to complete the picture.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I have recently returned from a 5 night stay at this wonderful guest house.From the moment I arrived I was treated more like a familly visitor than a paying guest.The welcome was so friendly,firstly from Lord Macduff ,the owners familly dog,an Italian spinone, and then the owners Maria and Roger.
Roineabhal is set in beautiful gardens with a little stream,burn ,running at the bottom of the garden.My room was spotless and the en-suite facilities were superb.
The next morning came my first breakfast.Not only was the choice immense but the standard of the food and the size of the portions puts most hotels to shame.The two young ladies who work for Maria are very good.Like the owners ,nothing was too much trouble for them and everything is done with a smile.
If I was to give Roineabhal a mark out of ten then I would probably give it "eleven" as I enjoyed it so much.The only criticism I have is I had to leave to return home.Seriously though would be happy to recommend this fine establishment to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Roineabhal Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roineabhal Country House

Address: Kilchrenan | Taynuilt, Kilchrenan PA35 1HD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kilchrenan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kilchrenan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Roineabhal Country House - a luxurious retreat of original character set in the magical Glens of West Argyll. Situated on the scenic shores of Loch Awe. Offering much more than bed and breakfast in superior guest house accommodation and the best of Scottish/Continental fare. Roger, Maria & family will ensure a unique short break experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Roineabhal Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roineabhal Country House Kilchrenan, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roineabhal Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.