We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place to Renew our Vows” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ardanaiseig Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ardanaiseig Hotel to your Saves list
Ardanaiseig Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kilchrenan PA35 1HE, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
December Extraordinaire
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kilchrenan
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Place to Renew our Vows”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

I wanted to surprise my wife and renew our vows in Scotland, the facilities and the staff were 6 star. We travel extensively and I would stay this is one of the top hotels. Highly recommend it, but be ready for a long drive to get anywhere. Thank you again for an amazing time. We will be back

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    67
    51
    18
    6
See reviews for
45
266
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

A friendly welcome to a two-night stay in delightful surroundings, with an attractively furnished room, good breakfasts, a more than adequate picnic lunch, and a most enjoyable row on Loch.Awe. We did not avail ourselves of the expensive, but no doubt excellent, dinners, but obtained adequate good-value substitutes at the Taynuilt Hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Spent 3 days at the Rose Cottage on the grounds of the Hotel - we (husband and teenager) were looking forward to some quiet and some rest in the middle of our 2 week tour of Scotland (from USA). We were very disappointed to find that the cottage is really a gate house and sits right on the road at the gate to the hotel - even tho it is a secluded hotel - there were cars and the occasional truck coming and going into the night - the head lights light up the bedrooms - and people walking have a lovely look into the kitchen and living room - happened frequently ....There was No Housekeeping provided at all which was unexpected at this price! The phone to the main house (which is at a distance) did not work so was difficult to be in touch had to drive up- the bathroom was not particularly clean- and the bugs were intense - by the time we left the bathroom was covered in dead bugs - (housekeeping?)it was unusually hot for July but opening the windows was problematic because of the bugs - not sure why window screens are not used ...there are plenty that are collapsable and temporary and just go into the bottom of the window....I live in the country and understand bugs - but being bitten up is not the way to enjoy....the property is beautiful - the main house quite nice - tho i didn't see any of the rooms - just be prepared for the long drive up - on the single lane road. Really only good for people planning to stay put and not use the hotel as a base to tour around...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Bought the living social deal for this hotel and absolutely delighted with the service, location, facilities and whole experience at this hotel.
Staff can't do enough for you and are very friendly, without being overbearing.
Rooms have been re-furbished from the pictures on the website and were very comfortable and plenty of luxurious wee touches like home made shortbread on the tea tray... I've seen some reviews who slated the bathrooms, yes, it didn't have a standing shower, but we weren't adverse to using the old telephone dial style shower/tap unit and didn't detract at all
Location is beautiful, and given that all of the rooms were booked, we didn't feel as though we were intruded upon at all and felt as if we were the only people in the place. take your willies as there's some lovely walks and even just down by the lochside is a wonderful experience. Walled garden also worth the 5 minute walk...
Food was fantastic. I've had tasting menus in many places and this was up there with the others. yes £50 a head however this actually covered 6 courses including canapaes and pre starter and pre dessert, and the menu itself was varied and well executed.
Wine list very diverse and something for everything, and again standard hotel prices.
Would echo the 25-30 minute drive down a single track road is worthwhile knowing, but from the main road it's 25 mins to Oban.
Overall a wonderful trip and planning our return in the autumn

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here over the Xmas period and it was wonderful. The management and staff were really helpful, made us feel at home and we loved the food. Afternoon teas were a treat and the views over the loch, just so special.
We think the hotel is well managed and the idea of filling the rooms with nice different collectable pieces of furniture gives the hotel a great individual feel. Also the bed was really comfortable and we slept well which you don't always find at hotels.
We definitely want to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

An adventure to get to, but worth the experience. One lane road with passing points to get there. Watch out for log trucks. Beautiful grounds with terraced front lawn down to the lake. Hiking trails and mossy forest. The rooms are named not numbered. Ours was up to date with flat screen, king size bed, and large rain head shower. Dinners are 3 hours long, but dress code is smart casual. Old furnishings and décor in the public rooms. No draft beer, but plenty wines and whiskeys.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

First class front of house staff. Unfortunately, there the plus points stopped. Our bedroom was fitted with a free standing bath with a tap that fell off surrounded by a curtain that came away from the both ceiling and wall. The bed had a duvet good for a Siberian winter but since the room faced South, it also had a fan in an attempt to cool the air (unsuccessfully). The windows were fitted with gossamer thin blinds which if you like darkness to sleep suggests don't visit around the longest day or take your airline eye shades. And also don't be a vegetarian or even wish for a change from meat or fish because the menu is fixed and a request for no meat was met with removal of the meat garnishes from the fish dishes. Not convinced that a dinner menu should comprise 2 "milk shakes" as inter-course fillers, either.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ardanaiseig Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardanaiseig Hotel

Address: Kilchrenan PA35 1HE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kilchrenan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kilchrenan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ardanaiseig Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet place of undisturbed tranquility and almost surreal natural beauty, where the slopes of Ben Cruachan fall into the clear waters of loch Awe, lies a deeply romantic and luxurious old country house called Ardanaiseig. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ardanaiseig Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardanaiseig Hotel Kilchrenan, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ardanaiseig Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.