We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An expensive disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ardanaiseig Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ardanaiseig Hotel to your Saves list
Ardanaiseig Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kilchrenan PA35 1HE, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kilchrenan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An expensive disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Billed as a romantic luxury hotel, we had high hopes. A long way off the beaten track. Arrived to an average welcome and the staff watched as my heavily pregnant wife and I struggled up the maze of back stairs to the room. Which at best was shabby chic. True, the views were great over the loch. The whole hotel needs serious money spent on it - the outside is in a bad state, interior is well worn (dining room sports a heavy green paint slapped all over it), and tennis court completely overgrown. The food was ok, although the award winning chef has now departed. Given the location, it is a captive audience and the prices reflect that. Take your own booze and sandwiches for a picnic (nothing else to do during the day) as it is not value for money. It has the capacity to be as good as the other reviews state, but certainly not worth the price nor the time to get there. Caveat emptor!

Room Tip: The rooms with a loch view are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMArdanaiseig, General Manager at Ardanaiseig Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments and feedback following your recent stay with us.

I have shared your view with the wider team at Ardanaiseig. I am disappointed to learn that you did not receive our customary warm welcome on arrival; the team have been made aware of my concern and displeasure.

We are always happy to receive feedback from our guests and accept that we are not going to please every individual taste. I do not share your comment regarding the hotel being in a bad state, we have a small maintenance team who keep the hotel and gardens in good repair. The tennis courts are redundant and we have future plans for this area. We are also creating an additional contemporary dining space which will complement the dining room perfectly. For clarity Head Chef Cornel Uys has been with us for 10 years now and was head chef at the time of the last award of AA rosettes. You are referring to an executive chef who is no longer retained by the hotel.

Thank you again for your comments and feedback, which we will use to further improve our guests experience.

Kind regards

Marcel Wassen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    82
    55
    19
    7
See reviews for
48
309
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The whole experience here was lovely, from the amazing dinner (price fixed...not cheap either, but delicious) to the amazing views of Loch Awe to the charming antique-filled accomodations to the flexibility shown by the staff with regard to children (no children in the Dining Room for dinner, but they will jump through all sorts of hoops to make having children here work nicely). You do have to drive down 2 single track roads to get here (one 6 mile chunk that is slightly wider than the second 3 mile road) so you are really in the middle of the country, if that's what you're looking for. The house is lovely...old, and not the most modern of amenities (no standing shower) but kept up and clean and beautifully decorated. Views are worth the price and drive. Cocktails and nibbles in library bar or drawing room every evening. They served my children dinner in the library at a table but gave us the option to have a family dinner in the drawing room looking out over the loch as well. We chose to put children into the room with a DVD and check on them every so often. They loved it and we loved the dinner and their proximity. If you want easy access, this place isn't for you, but if you want to get away from it all, I think this is the perfect Scottish Manor House place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at the Ardanaiseig Hotel in June 2013. It was one of the best experiences we had on our trip. The manor is comfortable and furnished with beautiful antiques. The bed was very comfortable and the sheets were of high thread count and super comfortable. The bathroom was spacey and the shampoo, conditioner, etc was top notch quality. The surroundings are superb and we enjoyed quite a few walks on the property. Just breath taking. The staff was very accommodating, amiable and professional. The breakfast was one of the best we had on our trip and the staff was courteous and very welcoming. We did not eat dinner as it was a bit pricey. We decided to eat in town, which we now regret, food wasn't that great. I would highly recommend to stay at this hotel. 2 adults - no children.

Room Tip: Unique, secluded get-a-way -- highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I arrived late and fairly travel-worn late one afternoon and were politely whisked up to our room (Cruachan) which commanded views over the front lawn and down towards Loch Awe. After freshening up we went for a walk around the grounds and ended up in the walled garden and then down by the loch. Having grown up in Argyll I am somewhat accustomed to the landscape however the hotel is a particularly great spot.

After our walk we went to the bar and had a few gin and tonics before being asked through for dinner. Dinner was great (lovely food) and the service was spot on. I get the impression that numbers are restricted per sitting at night time which created a really good atmosphere, very understated, rustic and romantic.

Breakfast the next day was great - we were up early and enjoyed the calmness before the storm (i.e. the other guests!).

The building, fittings and fixtures were all great, quite rustic at points but it really added to the charm. It made it feel more natural - more like you were visiting a friend than staying in a hotel.

Top marks to everyone who played a part in our stay.

Room Tip: Cruachan was great for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We spent three nights in this secluded hotel. It's setting is absolutely stunning. The baronial house has eclectic furnishings. A mixture of antique and reproduction furniture, some tasteful, some vulgar but together they create a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. Our bedroom (Kilchurn) with seating area was both comfortable, clean and homely. The four poster king sized bed was exceptionally comfortable with clean fresh linen and comfy pillows. It was a cosy retreat at the end of each day. The food was well worthy of its three red rosettes. Local produce is used to create imaginative and delicious dishes. It is a set menu which changes every day but there are no choices which may not suit everyone. The staff on the whole were efficient and friendly although we were disappointed with a member of the management team. Having to complain about a guest whose mobile phone call reverberated throughout the peaceful ambience of the lounge -having kept the loud speaker on throughout the conversation - we were disillusioned by management's reaction to the situation. They very patronisingly explained that the hotel had no policy on mobile phone usage within their premises so there was little they could do about it! They did say they would have a word with the guest but the fact that the manager was still defending the guest's behaviour next morning, by explaining how important the call was to him, left us feeling that we were the offending party! Sadly, this episode did tarnish our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms with suites are very roomy with lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This small, shabby chic hotel has all the charms for a romantic hideaway for those seeking a quiet break. The staff are so friendly and professional and cater for your every need without being intrusive. The views over Loch Awe are AWESOME! Worth having the champagne lunch on the loch. The food in the restaurant is superb, definitely 5*+

Negative comments, watch the potholes on the road on the way there, some are pretty fierce, as are the midgies, do wear repellent. Normally not a problem if there is a breeze.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

It was in the month of February that my husband took me as a Valentine's surprise to the beautiful Ardanaiseig Hotel. A trip that was very much needed especially as I was 5 months pregnant, a chance to get away from the hustle and bustle and tiring jobs in London.

A very special and romantic treat to say the least. We were not only blown away by the incredible landscape that is that part of Scotland, the Loch Awe especially spreading far and wide from the doorstep of the hotel was simply breathtaking. A wet and somewhat grey few days but that didn't effect our spirits nor did it interrupt our daily walks into thick and magical woodlands and the grounds around the hotel itself.

The hotel itself was stunning with rooms each with their own style, steeped in history but each corner styled so perfectly that you are 'whisked off into some other place' far from your own, you can really appreciate the beauty of the architecture too. From our free standing bath to unobstructed views of the Loch to wood burning fires greeting you in each of the entrance rooms and lobby. Its a warm, comfortable and very relaxed atmosphere. The staff were extremely attentive and made sure that I was comfortable at every evening sitting in the dining room and also that each particular dish in the menu was perfect for me to eat. Talking of which, the food was sublime, every taste bud tickled and every dish served was of exquisite standard, the use of local growing flowers, herbs and fish was second to none, the standard was very very high. I can still taste the freshness of it all. All very local and of course seasonal.

We hope to be back there and even the staff promised to help with baby too. A truly wonderful experience. Can't recommend it enough.
________________________________________

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ardanaiseig Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardanaiseig Hotel

Address: Kilchrenan PA35 1HE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kilchrenan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kilchrenan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ardanaiseig Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet place of undisturbed tranquility and almost surreal natural beauty, where the slopes of Ben Cruachan fall into the clear waters of loch Awe, lies a deeply romantic and luxurious old country house called Ardanaiseig. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Ardanaiseig Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardanaiseig Hotel Kilchrenan, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ardanaiseig Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.