We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem on the banks of Loch Awe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taychreggan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Taychreggan Hotel to your Saves list
Taychreggan Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kilchrenan, By Taynuilt, Kilchrenan PA35 1HQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kilchrenan
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A hidden gem on the banks of Loch Awe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We spent a couple of nights in this hotel last week in miserable weather. The hotel was really warm and cosy; luxurious without being pretentious. We had a great welcome from the friendly manager. Our room (a junior suite with a loch view) was lovely. Junior suite didn't mean an extra room in this instance but our room was large with the biggest super king size bed we have ever seen and a table and chairs by the window. Amazingly, waiting for us on the table was a decanter of sherry and two glasses! We had a huge bathroom with his and hers Heritage basins and a beautiful stand alone period bath plus a modern shower. Our room was spotless and was serviced twice a day. The turn down service in the evening included a good tidy up and the glasses and cups were all washed. We ate in the hotel on our second night which was quite an experience. The hotel boasts two rosettes so we expected good food but it surpassed our expectations. We were invited to the bar for delicious finger foods first and then enjoyed a five course meal followed by sweet treats and coffee in the lounge. The food was original, imaginative and perfectly cooked and delightfully served. Dinner is not cheap at £45 a head but well worth the expense. We will go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: There is a choice of loch view, side loch view and garden view. Rooms are in both the old part of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    50
    19
    9
    5
See reviews for
16
179
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manly, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

First of all I would like to say we came across this hotel searching for wedding venues in Scotland. We live in Sydney Australia however i am Scottish and my new wife is English so we kind of knew what we wanted. So this was always going to be a gamble booking on-line without seeing it.

We put all our trust in pictures we seen and also the lengthy conversations on the phone to Fiona the Manager and David the Assistant Manager. We were quite confident that the Taychreggan Hotel - Taynuilt could deliver and provide us with the day we were looking for. We were not let down at all.

There was great communication from the team with changes we were making and suggestions from Fiona. Bearing in mind we where 9 to 11 hrs in front of the UK but somehow we always managed to speak to Fiona or David to confirm things.(take a day off :p) Fiona sent us spreadsheets weekly with changes to the day that were happening and the costs involved.

We booked out 10 rooms for our guests as it was only a small wedding. Everyone of our guests whether they were staying for 2 nights or 3 could not believe the service that was given from all members of staff and the quality of the rooms. These were ranging from Standard rooms right up to the suite that my wife and I had. (It has a massive jacuzzi which could fit a family but fortunately it was only my wife and I and our wee boy)

So I would like to personally thank all the staff at the hotel who made our wedding day very special. Fiona the manager and David were outstanding on the day as well as the friendly staff. The food was a class above the rest, a 5 course meal that could blow away any of the top chefs in the UK the taste and presentation and that's why they have the well deserved 2 rosettes on their wall from 1999 to date.

The area and the remoteness was outstanding. I would highly recommend this venue to anyone that is looking for a relaxing or romantic weekend away or even to get married in the west coast of Scotland in a serene and peaceful surrounding. The scenery and backdrop this place can offer is second to none.

Thanks again to all of you!!! we had a fantastic and memorable few days and nights!!

AMAZING!!

Yunis, Faye & Mason Lombard

Room Tip: I would definitely ask for a loch facing room, beautiful rooms and also the view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton, ontario
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Found a postcard of this hotel in my Dad's affairs and he spoke of fishing on Loch Awe.
Was returning to the UK with his ashes and a visit here was part of my journey.
Very beautiful site, even with intermittent rain.
Stables on the postcard now the dining room.
David was kind enough to bring out old registers but I was unable to find my parents/Dad in them.
Food was out of this world and the presentation was amazing - artistry with food.
Comfortable room and bed.
Enjoyed meeting other guests in the bar and lounge after dinner.
Single track road in, would not want to drive this at night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Taychreggan during a weekend away. We stayed in one of the suites which was quite big and had a wonderful jacuzzi bathtub. The hotel is located right on Loch Awe and has wonderful views out over the loch. We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was delicious and fan. My husband was especially impressed with the vegetarian option. What we really liked the most about this hotel was the friendly atmosphere. There is a small bar where all of the guests seemed to gather at night and we met some lovely people while drinking a great selection of wines. As the hotel is in a fairly remote location, I would especially recommend this hotel for a romantic break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a loch view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have just spent two nights at the hotel and really enjoyed ourselves, particularly as the weather turned out to be better than expected!

There are some very good things about this hotel and there are a number of things which, if addressed, could make all the difference to the overall experience.

Firstly, the 7 mile drive along the single track road will be an experience for those who are not used to such, especially as the locals take no prisoners when it comes to their driving. However, when you do arrive at your destination, it's well worth the trip as this old drover's inn is situated right on the lochside and commands some wonderful views over the loch.

The staff are uniformly excellent, particularly in the dining area - obviously as a result of Fiona's hand here. However, it's the food itself which really surprised us - we chose the tasting menu for the first night and all the courses showed imagination and flair. Ondrej and team can pat themselves on the back as we have eaten in some wonderful places around the world and these dishes can stand alongside them. We decided to have the bar meal the following night and, again, the quality of the dish was really high - if I say it was simply chicken with a pork rib, it doesn't sound much, however it was absolutely delicious, and credit to the team for producing our meal, along with the tasting dinners AND a wedding for 20 all at the same time.

Now the the little niggles (which didn't detract from our stay). This place, like a lot of others in rural spots, needs a bit of money spent on it. It's an old building, subject to wear and tear from the elements so, for example, windows need upgraded - we had a lovely room, however, many of the seals had gone which meant internal condensation on quite a few. The front gravel driveway and area in front of the hotel needed weeding, as did the sad planter with dead foliage in it! The water situation mentioned by others is a problem - we had lukewarm showers both days - fine in warmer weather, but frankly horrible at other times. I'm not sure if it's a boiler problem or we were unlucky with our electric shower. Money spent would sort out these items as well as a general upgrading of some soft furnishings. All of these, as I said, didn't detract from our lovely stay and I would certainly recommend this hotel. The positives far outweigh the negatives.

Room Tip: We had Boswell, Room 1, which is a corner room and gives lovely views of both the side and front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My wife and I have just spent a couple of nights at the Taychreggan Hotel and couldn't have enjoyed our stay more. The location of the hotel is just perfect, only a few yards from the edge of Loch Awe. It is located about 7 miles or so down a mostly single track road. However, don't be put off by that, as the road surface is good, traffic is very light and there are plenty of passing places. We stayed in a Junior Suite, which was spacious and comfortable, with modern en-suite facilities and fantastic views across the loch. The room has coffee/tea making facilities. There is also a small complementary decanter of sherry available, should you wish an aperitif before dinner. The 5 course dinner in the dining room is an absolute joy, preceded by delicious canapés served in the bar. Although the menu offers no choice, it can be changed to suit if there are any particular personal dislikes. The standard of cuisine is top drawer, loaded with creativity and high quality produce. There is also a bar menu for those who prefer less formal dining. Likewise, the standard of breakfast was superb with choices ranging from the full works to something on the lighter side. The staff were young, friendly, very polite, helpful and extremely efficient and hard working. What more can I say - a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Choose a Junior Suite with loch view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just back from a weekend at the Taycreggan Hotel. What a lovely place! The staff are super helpful and so polite, the food at the restaurant was amazing, The location of the hotel is quite secluded, unfortunately we had typical Scottish weather for our stay but the hotel is so welcoming and cosy that we were more than happy to curl up in front of the fire in the lounge. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taychreggan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taychreggan Hotel

Address: Kilchrenan, By Taynuilt, Kilchrenan PA35 1HQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kilchrenan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kilchrenan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Taychreggan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Taychreggan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taychreggan Hotel Kilchrenan, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taychreggan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.