We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views - ambience needs work” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holly Tree Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holly Tree Hotel to your Saves list
Holly Tree Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kentallen Pier, Kentallen PA38 4BY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kentallen
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful views - ambience needs work”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

My family and I stayed here one night in October on our way to Skye. Had two pleasant rooms overlooking Loch Linnhe. No elevators to upper floors so this would be an issue if you have mobility issues. Dinner and breakfast were very good. Staff were friendly. Hotel decor and ambience are a little tired. If you are looking for a cosy bar and old word atmosphere this is not the place. Dining room a little cramped. I think this place is good for a one night stay. The views are great and worth the stop.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    150
    43
    10
    7
See reviews for
115
266
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed in the self catering Lodges that are part of the hotel complex. They were clean and comfortable and the heating was more than adequate even during the cold october nights we experienced whilst there. Food in the bar and restaurant was excellent. Pool and Sauna were nice but looking a little tired - some TLC in this area would improve the overall score.
One small gripe, there is only 7 parking spaces for the 8 lodges so the last one back in an evening was relegated to the main car park!
One thing you can't fault was the view across Loch Linnhe towards Glen Tarbert! Stunning!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Location is great, beautiful Scottish scenery. Warm welcome upon arrival and although the room was long it was spacious,clean and warm. The tray with kettle, coffee,tea,hot chocolate and biscuits was plentiful and all was going well until I went into the en-suite. I recalled reading one of the reviews on here making mention of the black mould on the grouting never thinking the same problem would still be present however it was and I found it a let-down. Everything else about the room was positive and this really put a dampener on it for me. I cannot understand why this problem has not been addressed before now. I had to use the shower and noted that even the shower head was in need of a good clean, not nice!!

We ate in the restaurant on our first evening and the food was excellent, large portions and fresh produce. Unfortunately over our two night stay there were a number of occasions where the service let this hotel down. After dinner we ordered one liquer coffee and one Latte coffee, the latter was forgotten. At breakfast on both days experienced a poor service.

This isn't in any way a destructive review, when we were checking out I was asked if our stay had been satisfactory and I was able to explain the experience we had and this was constructive.

This hotel has great potential and the staff are professional friendly and attentive but these minor points do need to be addressed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed there for 5 nights. Had a bit of everything, 1 person in wheelchair, 1 small child, teenager, every niche you can throw at a hotel. Firstly, the wheelchair which was promised to us on arrival (which we were allowed to make full use of for our stay) was ready and waiting for us on arrival. The disabled room was great, although there isnt a high toilet seat so if you do require one, take your own. Our family room was well sized, although for the money we paid, i would have perhaps like to have seen two proper single beds rather than camper style beds for the 2 little ones. Decor in room was a bit dated and getting a little worn around the edges, but it seems the owners are taking this in hand.Really nice touches include the DVD service and information folder. Theres also limited freeview channels in there. The view from the rooms cant be faulted. I wish we were told though that the corridors would be locked during the night! Tried to nip out for a smoke at 6.30am - had to wait til after 7. The swimming pool is great, was never too busy when we were there. The food is spot on, a breakfast that keeps you going til dinner. The bar is nice, with a little box of toys that kept the young un happy, but having slightly lower prices might have made me order more rounds, especially as we were paying to stay there, and paying for dinner, and paying for drinks... Would be a really good idea if the hotel could designate the parking spaces directly at the front door as disabled spaces, as i had to exit my passengers at the door then move the car when they were busy. Service wise, all staff are pleasant on approach, but we felt we would have liked to see wider smiles from some staff members, as we felt we were at times not seeing a sense of warmth and interest in our stay. Also i don't like to be told 'No' when i ask for very simple things such as pasta instead of potatoes when ordering for a 2 year old! Also, as we were on ground floor, we could hear the noises of the kitchen being set up ready for breakfast, so maybe noise levels could be looked at after 11pm. I did feel at times the need to apologise to staff, if i felt like we were making a fuss. I dont like that feeling - i much prefer the 'three bags full' response when paying that sort of money. It wasnt horrific by any stretch of the imagination, but we did notice it a couple of times. I am of the opinion that it doesnt matter how busy or popular a place is, you should be made to feel like the only guests that matter, and at times that was where this hotel let itself down. I dont mind booking a dinner table, but breakfast table? Staff work very hard. We felt Shona was brilliant and really keen to ask us how we were. All in all, this hotel deserves its good reputation, and i would go back there without a second thought. on a personal note, as the hotel is really relaxing, i felt a bit out of sorts with an excitable 2 year old in tow but other guests, and staff didnt seem to mind the endless trail of crayons on the floor.

**Room - All rooms have same view - First floor less noise.**

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have just recently spent 3 nights in this lovely Hotel the food was excellent the only thing i would say is if you have a mains with a sauce ask for the sauce to put in a seperate jug/dish because there was quite a lot and it tended to spoil the Fish/Meat and also the sticky toffee pudding.Our Daughter was getting Married in Fort William so chose The Holly Tree Hotel as a base for us and because it advertised that they did cater for small weddings which ours was when we arrived on the wedenesday Shona the manager was very welcoming we were all given keys to our rooms which were very spacious and clean a fantastic view over the loch you couldnt have asked for more,however on the wedenesday evening before retireing to bed we thought we would speak to Shona about how we would like the table for the wedding meal there would be 9 of us eating there we asked if the Bride and Groom could be head of table so could the tables be put in a t shape to which we were told no because the restaurant gets very busy we ww went to bed not very happy.The day of the Wedding was quite hectic so we asked again could we have the tables set as we had requested the night before because they did have to feed 9 of us so we had to put together somewhere in the restaurant after some thought we were told by a member of staff that the seating arrangements that we had requested would not be a problem what a relief.The staff were all very pleasent always asked if you had had a good day the rooms were all kept spotless you could not fault the food you had such a choice at breakfast the lovely porridge,cereals, fruit,yogurts,fruit jucices then a choice of smoked salmon and scrambled egg or a cooked breakfast of any conbination you required the evening meals were excellent lots to choose from but have the sauce to the side.Once again the views from our rooms were fantastic to wake up in the morning and see the mountains and the loch was amazing.We will definiately be going back next year for the 1st Anniversary and will try and get a room with a balcony next time.Thank you to all the staff at The Holly Tree for a fantastic stay see you next year

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just back from another three night stay at the Holly Tree and just as good as the first. Whilst not a fish eater I found many excellent dishes on the dinner menu and loved the vegetarian options.( had to swim extra lengths of the pool each evening to stay in trim). Room great.Hotel clean.Nice pool.Hard working and delightful young staff....thanx again.............

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My family and i stopped here for a week (6 nights) in april this year, 5 bedrooms.The hotel is very clean,very friendly and most important has a great breakfast and a very good evening menu.The seafood is the best we have had in scotland.We will be back !

Room Tip: the delux rooms are very good,loch views are fantastic,top floor rooms do not have lift access
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holly Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Tree Hotel

Address: Kentallen Pier, Kentallen PA38 4BY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kentallen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kentallen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holly Tree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning location beside the sea in the West Highlands of Scotland. All twenty bedrooms have wonderful uninterrupted sea views and are fully ensuite with luxurious fittings and furnishings. Bistro lounge serving all day food and award winning seafood restaurant. Swimming pool and Finnish sauna. Well worth a visit. You'll be back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holly Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly Tree Kentallen
Hotel Holly Tree
Holly Tree Hotel Scotland/Kentallen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holly Tree Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.