We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views over an idyllic Loch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loch Linnhe Waterfront Lodges

Loch Linnhe Waterfront Lodges
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kentallen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loch Linnhe Waterfront Lodges
Save
You added Loch Linnhe Waterfront Lodges to your Saves list
Kentallen; on the A828 | next to the Holly Tree Hotel, Kentallen PA38 4BY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Norfolk, England
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely views over an idyllic Loch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Frist, the view. Each lodge (there seemed to be eight of these), has an unrestricted view over the loch from a small balcony with table and chairs. The balcony is a great place to see the weather as is changes rapdily (this is Scotland!) from clear blue sky to snow (yes in May!). Beacuse of the way the lodges are positioned the balcony area is quite private.
Our lodge had tow bedrooms, a tiwn and a double. Both were small, the twin especially so and the beds were unyielding and uncomfortable. The bathroom was small and neat, although the A frame of the lodge does mean tall people find using the WC needs contortions.
The living area was a decent size with kitchen area attached. The kitchen has a full size cooker and is well equipped.

Overall to be recommended if you want a self catering option in the Loch Linnhe area. The restaurant at the Holly Tree hotel is to be recommended for fish, but is certainly not cheap. Lodge users can access the hotel's swimming pool which is a bonus for this area

Room Tip: We had lodge 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South shields
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming here for many years,and the irresistible pull is the fabulous views and location! Over the years,improvements have been made to the properties,but they still have a 'tired' look.Bathrooms need re-grouting,kitchen utensils and crockery are 'minimal'and furniture needs up-dating to match other properties in the same price band.A huge PLUS,is the near-by hotel,Holly Tree,with its wonderful restaurant,,( which used to offer discounts to Lodge residents,)and its staff.Also hotel staff are very willing and helpful when lodge residents have problems.In spite of our criticisms,we love the place dearly,and will return,but it COULD be TOTALLY FABULOUS,with a little more attention and expenditure.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We chose to go to the lodges as an alternative to the usual bank holiday trip to London that we usually make. We couldn't have been more happier with our choice. The lodges are set in the most picturesque setting overlooking snow capped mountains on the edge of a sea loch. The lodges are owned by the hotel and you can use the facilities including pool, gym, restaurant and bar. The lodges have two bedrooms, a double and a twin. A fully fitted kitchen, diner and lounge with a fire and patio doors. We were lucky enough to have gone when it was Burns night and went to the hotel for a Burns dinner, this was great and our first experience of highland hospitality. We got back to our lodge and snuggled down with a brew with the lights out just watching the cars snake their way down the mountains. Would love to go back and would not hesitate in recommending this property to anyone. The staff were fabulous and really friendly and helped make our stay memorable.

Room Tip: All lodges have the same view, but choose lodges 1 - 4 for better parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We booked two lodges for a family birthday celebration. The lodges are in a beautiful location and each one had a large balcony with amazing views over LochLinnhe and the hills beyond. The accommodation is comfortable and cosy and has a nice lounge area with a large sliding patio door leading out onto the balcony with the magnificent views. There is one double and one twin bedroom, although the lodges can sleep up to five with an extra bed I think it would be a bit tight, but for four it was perfect. Kitchen area is compact and has everything you will need. We made use of the lovely swimming pool and sauna in the Holly Tree hotel which is situated right next to the lodges. Pool towels are supplied and there are lockers. Having the hotel next door is perfect for popping in for a drink. We dined in the hotel restaurant on the Saturday evening and would highly recommend it, the food was very good and was not overpriced. It seems to be popular as it was very busy. Food is also served in the bar area and also looked good. Overall we had a great weekend break and felt that the combination of staying in a lodge was complimented by having the facilities of a lovely hotel on your doorstep. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed in the Loch Linnhe waterfront Lodges for 2 nights on the 15th March until the 17th March and all i can do is say what a lovely time i had. Between the lovely comfortable lodges and the Holly Tree Hotel there was everything to hand. The hotel has a small pool wich we used and it was great fun as i was with my granddaughter, son and daughter-in-law and they really spoilt me for my birthday. We went to the restuarant on the saturday night and had a fantastic meal there was lots to choose from including seafood. I had the venison steak and it was cooked to perfection and the portion was huge i could,nt finish it. The lodges are comfortable and lovely and cosy and have everything in them including games. The view was stunning from the veranda and there was lots of walks you could do. I would recommend the lodges for a lovely break and as a focal point to go and see lots of different places. I would go back again and hope to do so

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow , scotland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Since seeing the hotel and lodges I had always wanted to stayed here. The location is outstanding . The lodges and hotel are on the seas edge with views accross Loch Linnhe to the snow capped mountains of the rough bounds of Moidart.

The lodges are next to the hotel in a long slightly staggered line along the very edge of the sea . They are cheek by jowl to each other . There little space outside .

The lodges are spotless , comfortable and well equipped for four adults - 2 couples perfect ! The interior is good - reasonably fresh but the outsides could do with a coat of paint , varnish and some general TLC . We paid 1/2 price for a very late impulse booking - £90 per night for two nights - thats good value for just two of us . Full price would have been poor value .

There is a large room with a good sized kitchen , kitchen table for 4 and 2 2seater couches . Cosy rather than spacious and luxurious. Windows stretch along one wall and open to a big balcony with those majestic views . Since the lodges are very close to each other privacy on the balcony is only just OK.

The bedrooms have enough space and storage and good linen . You can hear the traffic on main road very clearly in bedrooms and heavy trucks in rest of lodge .

I would stay there again tomorrow at that price ! I would stock up with food from the excellent shop in Glencoe village ( not as cheap as supermarket in Ft William but use it or lose it!) and look at that view.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed here with Canadian visitors in October for one night .We were in Lodge six and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.This is not an upmarket lodge or accompanying hotel but it is in a particularly beautiful position and the staff and food are excellent.

The views are simply outstanding and the lodges are cosy and comfortable

I would recommend the Holly Tree hotel for dinner, there is significant mention of the vibrant young team in the reviews and we found this positive feedback to be accurate.

Visit if only for the view and the haddock chowder.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loch Linnhe Waterfront Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Linnhe Waterfront Lodges

Address: Kentallen; on the A828 | next to the Holly Tree Hotel, Kentallen PA38 4BY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kentallen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kentallen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Loch Linnhe Waterfront Lodges Scotland/Kentallen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loch Linnhe Waterfront Lodges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.