We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a Stunning Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jura Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isle of Jura
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jura Hotel
Save
You added Jura Hotel to your Saves list
Craighouse, PA607XU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isle of Jura
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Surrey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in a Stunning Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed here last week on a quick trip to Jura.

The hotel is situated right by the distillery overlooking the bay towards the mainland.

We had a Superior room overlooking the sea (highly recommended as I wouldn't want to come all this way and overlook the car park!). It was beautifully decorated and had everything you could want.

No TV but there is one in the residents lounge downstairs if you feel deprived.
The hotel does however have free WiFi if you want to keep in touch with the outside world.

We ate in the Lounge Bar, and for a small hotel (especially out-of-season) the menu was extensive (including a daily specials board) and the quality of food was very high. (And the portions were enormous..)
Dinner was not cheap - £35 each including wine - but it was a meal to remember. (Very few -if any - other places to eat on the island, so could prove expensive if you're staying the week!)

Special mention too for the staff who were all very friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    68
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
107
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yarm, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

We just stayed for one night, wish it had been for longer. The hotel was quiet with it being mid week in March and we kindly got upgraded to a superior room which was lovely-it seemed fairly newly decorated with a beautiful bathroom and a great view over the bay. We ate dinner in the bar and both had a very tasty venison pie-highly recommended. The hotel has a residents dining room and tv lounge as well as the bar-plenty of choice depending on what you want. The owners recommended a nearby walk which we did despite the miserable weather and I enjoyed a run along the sea front through the village. A fantastic island and a great hotel to go with it. Topped off by a stag on the front lawn as we left in the morning :)

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Spent a lovely three days at the Jura Hotel. Cosy island hotel: unpretentious (not touristy), with good facilities and wholesome, delcious food. Staff were very welcoming. Great winter deal - 3 nights for price of 2.
Highly recommended.
Thanks to everyone for such a happy time on Jura.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had a smashing few days on the fabulous and peaceful Isle of Jura. The Jura hotel was the perfect retreat for us. The hotel itself is cosy and the staff were very friendly and courteous. The food was great, the rooms were great and the spirits were a plenty. Will be returning!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This proved to be a lovely stopover as we briefly visited this beautiful and remote island.
The hotel has a couple of Residents' Lounge together with bars and a dinning room all with picturesque views.

Our room was large and comfortable; the evening meal in the bar (or dining room if you prefer) was tasty and well presented; breakfast was really good too.

We appreciated the help and advise of the friendly staff (there were strong winds that might have affected the ferry's) and all in all this was a memorable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed for a couple of nights over the weekend, which was both unfortunate and fortunate timing. Jura is a very sleepy place quite a long way down a slow road, so be more organised than I was. The distillery is closed for visits on the weekend (the distillery shop is open til early afternoon on Saturday though), unlike most on Islay. But the Paps are nearby, so I tried to climb one on the Sunday (the grocery shop is open a few hours on the Saturday for supplies). (actually - that might be useful advice for the proprietors - please inform customers when they're traveling on the weekend of what they can expect to find in town).

The staff are friendly, and the food was good. Again, because of the remote location, the supply for scotches from Islay in the pub are limited - but since you're on Jura, you should be able to make it the entire way through the Jura selection in 2 nights (since I skipped Caol Ila in my week on the isles, I was hoping to sample some of their produce on Jura since it's just across the ferry. Not to be the case - they didn't have any).

In middle of September, you're likely to be the only guest drinking in the pub. The locals are good value though :)

(take a trip up to the end of the road on the local bus for a guided tour if you don't have transport. A few hours return, £5. If you walk to the paps, don't be surprised when a distillery mashman obliges your request for a lift to the start).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Great getaway stay on this lovely island. Hotel central to island life and a wonderful base to explore the island from. Hotel had a curry and quiz night whilst we were there and it was extremely well supported by the locals. Woke up the last morning to see a stag just outside our window-wonderful sight. Worth bringing bicycles to explore the island.

Room Tip: Front room with a view over harbour and grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jura Hotel

Address: Craighouse, PA607XU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Jura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isle of Jura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jura Hotel is the perfect spot from which to explore the magical island of Jura, in the Inner Hebrides off the west coast of Scotland. The hotel has a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. There are two comfortable lounges for guests' use; free wifi for hotel residents; a restaurant & lounge bar serving great meals based on local produce and at reasonable prices; and a lively bar, which is the island's only pub. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jura Hotel Isle Of Jura, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jura Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.