We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Balinakill Country House

Balinakill Country House
Balinakill Country House
Balinakill Country House
Sunny days!
Country kitchen with wood burning stove
Victorian dining room with open fire
Upstairs drawing room with open fire
Clachan
|
Rental Home – 
13 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 26

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rachel A
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
“An absolutely perfect week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We booked for a full week for a wedding with extended family, children and dogs. The house was perfect, it contained everything you could ever need from children’s toys to all the little essentials you may have forgotten and plenty of space for a group of 20.

With amazing original features throughout the setting really did take you to another world. The gardens were a child’s paradise with room to let off steam. Even on the days it rained the house itself allowed for everyone to find the peace they needed. And don’t be put off by the remote location, the drive offers some of the best views I have ever seen and you will find that once you arrive you don’t want to leave the grounds!

We used one of the outside caterers recommended by Balinakill for the wedding day for both breakfast and dinner, the service and food was to an excellent standard.
I would highly recommend Balinakill to anyone, it is an absolutely stunning house, in a truly beautiful location, offering great value for money. Who knew you get all that without using your passport!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The photos of this house don't do it complete justice, it is just magical!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Mark A
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Family getaway/Wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Fantastic house with huge amounts of space in a rural and remote location but still easy to get to. We spent a fantastic week here with extended family, dogs, kids and teenagers. The housekeeper and handyman were helpful but ask the handyman not to keep walking in unannounced. Its inappropriate when there are children around but he was trying to be helpful. Some parts of the house are getting really tired but don't let this put you off . It adds to the character which is plentiful. It could do with being a bit cleaner in places but again this was soon put right. Great garden for kids to go exploring despite the rain. We had a wedding mid week which was catered locally to a really high standard so ask for a recommendation from the owners, its worth while.
The bar area made for some fun evenings and the house was especially appropriate for a fancy dress halloween party once it was dressed up a bit. If you want a large place for a lot of people at a good price you won't go far wrong here. The guest book seems to reflect the same views form others.

5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property? 5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
3 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 3 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
3 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: space, character, and
Liked least: Handyman shouldn't just walk into the house unannounced.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
ArtemisLD...
London
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic! Had everything we needed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Our stay at Balinakill was absolutely spot on! I could not have wished for anything better!

I hired Balinakill for a week for my birthday party. We had 19 adults and 5 children (under 6 years old) at peak. We had enough rooms, enough bathrooms and enough space for everyone. The house is extremely well equipped and in an absolutely outstanding area. The staff were helpful and available if we had any questions or needed help.

The booking process was really easy and Ann was able to answer and give advice on any questions that I have very promptly.

The drive to Balinakill is descirbed as 'something that everyone should do once in their life' and was amazing. The scenery is spectacular. We were able to find the house easily and there were staff there to let us in and show us where everything was.

The house is enormous! There are two lounges, one downstairs were we all usually retired after dinner with the fire on and one upstairs with a TV for more day use. The rooms are all different and all have individual bathrooms. There was enough space that we could spread out and it meant that those with young children could get up early, run about and have breakfast without disturbing those guests who did not have children with them and wanted a long lie!

There was plenty to do - you can walk to a loch behind the house or to the beach beside Clachan. You can visit Tarbert, Campbeltown - we even went to Inveraray one day.

We did all the catering ourselves (as there is a group of us who are keen cooks, chefs, foodies) so we had different meals everynight - a BBQ on the Friday and a black tie cocktails, canapes and four course dinner with wine pairing on the Saturday. We were able to set up the dining room so it looked absolutely beautiful with everything provided in the house. We were also able to party until 6am and not wake up those who had gone to bed at 2am :-)

We paid extra for the catering kitchen as we had catering experience. Again, the level to which this is equipped is absolutely fantastic and we had an enjoyable few days getting all our meals prepared!

The cleanliness of the property was of a very high standard, absolutely immaculate. Our deposit was returned extremely promptly the next week.

All in all, extremely highly recommended - it was absolutely fantastic!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Lamont46
Newcastle, UKI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Large group with Kids - Wished we could have stayed longer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

15 kids (aged 1-9) and 14 Adults stayed for a long weekend; and it was absolutley brilliant. Everybody loved the house; it is very grand with quite a history, but still feels very homely. It is big enough that there is something for everyone; the kids would be playing in the playroom or the large conservatory, while some adults would be catching up
in the private bar and you could still find peace and tranquility in the Oark Room or in the White Room.

On the Friday we visited the Crab Shack as it is closed on Saturdays and enjoyed our lunch. There is a ruin just by it for the kids to expore.

On the Saturday we took the ferry to Gigha from just down the road. From the ferry stop you can walk to a lovely bar/restaurant by the beach called "The Boat House". The food was lovely and the staff very helpful. I would definitely recommend this on a sunny day. Kids had a great time on the ferry and on the beach!

In summary I would definitely recommend this house to anybody wanting to spend a week or weekend away in a large group, whether this includes kids or not. A few of the girls mentioned that they thought it was a great destination for a wedding and I think it would be. Its just a very nice place to spend time with people.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Its a lovely place to spend time for adults and kids alike
Liked least: I didn't like that the long weekend was over
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
FiBe33
Corbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb venue ~ ticked all the boxes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Absolutely stunning property, very high standard accommodation, incredibly well furnished and beautiful well kept grounds. There were log fires throughout, loads of space for all the family, children and adults alike well catered for. Very safe, set in its own grounds. Very spacious. A beautiful luxury country house amongst breath taking scenery ~ the drive to it takes you alongside lochs and marinas. We visited Gigha on the ferry and that was just lovely too. We had a tremendous time as did our children. Highly recommended to all ages/groups. Very clean.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The house was just stunning.
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Liliaelis...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Spectacular Home, perfect for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

My family and friends stayed here last week and had an awesome time. There is so much room for the kids to run around, a playroom there for them too and lots of flat grass outside for them to run.
There is a cool little bar that we had a sing song and dance in on the saturday night, really felt we were away abroad.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Loved the huge rooms and safe space for kids to play.
Liked least: The rain, which has nothing to do with the house
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Dean S
Moscow, Idaho
1 review
“The Balinakill Country House, inside and out, was perfect for our extended family's time together.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

There were 18 of us in a spread from 2 to 67 years old, and every last one of us was delighted with Balinakill. The house itself showed both its diverse history and impressive attention to its preparation for us. The grounds were beautifully cared for, with gardens and plenty of lawn for soccer (oops, football), and we could only begin to enjoy the short hikes into and around the village of Clachan.

Self catering worked perfectly for us. Our en suite bedrooms were spacious and beautiful. The impressive dining room made a meal for 18 a pleasant experience. The sun room was perfect for family music sessions and "hanging out." There was ample space throughout the house for relaxing, reading, conversations, and for the younger ones, the greatest hide & seek ever.

Out time at Balinakill became the prized centerpiece of a varied and wondrous visit we had into and around Scotland. It is hard to imagine not returning there again.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: How well it fit our family
Liked least: Couldn't say without nit-picking
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$1,514
/
Night
Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Make Inquiry
this property has payment protection
Owner
mrs a m darby
Speaks English, German
Listed since : Dec 2010
Calendar Updated: 8 days ago
Note: Response rate information for this owner is unavailable.
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing