We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small, friendly, hotel with lovely food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunvalanree

Save Saved
You added Dunvalanree to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dunvalanree
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Port Righ Bay, Carradale PA28 6SE, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Call/eMail for best deal
Ranked #1 of 3 Carradale B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A small, friendly, hotel with lovely food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We have just returned from a lovely weekend 26th and 27th August, in Carradale. We had the good fortune to stay at the Dunvalanree Hotel (first time). A small hotel overlooking the sea with views to Arran. Alyson and Alan are perfect hosts who made our stay very comfortable and welcoming.Dinner cooked by Alyson was excellent on both nights. Alyson is a very accomplished chef who uses local produce. We hope to return soon.
Blair Thomson.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    12
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
15
38
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011 via mobile

Stayed for a meal great food
A must Visit
The chocolate chesscake was out of this world

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

What a gem of an hotel. Homely, welcoming and beautiful house. What a change this hotel has made to my life on the road!! Although out of the way for me - this is well worth the few extra miles to get somewhere so decent.
Good quality beds, really clean rooms, very quiet hotel and hey! showers that really do work. Guests have home-made short bread in their rooms and a mini local whisky for that extra comfort. Superb imaginative menus and excellent dinners and breakfasts. These folks really do know the meaning of hospitality and are incredibly professional, friendly and helpful without being intrusive or overpowering.
Already been back and plan to do so again and again. Lovely dogs too!!

Room Tip: Just read the website and choose which room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

The best things about this hotel are the many thoughtful, personal touches put in by the owners . The bedroom was comfortable, with a beautiful view of a quiet bay. We were provided with home-made shortbread, a dram of whisky, dressing gowns, nice toiletries and even a pair of binoculars with which to admire the view! There is also free wifi, which is useful. There is a comfortable sitting room with plenty of information about the local area and potential walks provided. Dinner was spectacularly good, using fresh local ingredients, cooked and presented to a high standard. The owners are friendly and helpful. Overall this is a very well-run hotel, which we were lucky to find.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

We loved this place. We were in the area as part of our honeymoon and didn't know what to expect. Alyson and Alan were lovely hosts and looked after us brilliantly. We had two nights at Dunvalanree and would definitely go back. It was a very comfortable stay but the highlight was definitely the dinners. The food was excellent- very nice local produce and a different menu both nights.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crieff scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

We have jusy returned from 2 days in Carradale, staying at Dunvalanree. This was our 4th visit and we found the welcome, accommodation, food as excellent as ever. We had friends with us who are now as hooked as we are. The area is stunning and everyone very friendly. Looking forward to our 5th visit already!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Quay Wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

We are very fussy visitors but without a doubt this is a superb small hotel.
The evening meal alone is worth the stay and where else would you have a choice of freshly squeezed fruit juices at breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dunvalanree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunvalanree

Address: Port Righ Bay, Carradale PA28 6SE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Carradale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Carradale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunvalanree 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunvalanree Hotel and Restaurant offers excellent value, high quality accommodation in a tranquil and beautiful setting, with private garden overlooking the bay below. This is where Robert the Bruce landed in 1306. Carradale golf course is on the other side of the bay. The mile long beach at Carradale Bay is behind the hotel. Chef-Proprietor Alyson Milstead's menus feature local seafood and farm produce. Dunvalanree is licensed and is listed in the Good Hotel Guide and the Good Food Guide - the only places in Kintyre. Dunvalanree is a superb location to explore Kintyre, the birthplace of the Scottish nation. Visit the distillery, visit the sea-bird observatory, explore parts of the Kintyre Way or just walk, barefoot along the sandy beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Dunvalanree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunvalanree Carradale, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunvalanree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.