We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Torrisdale Castle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Torrisdale Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carradale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Torrisdale Castle
Save
You added Torrisdale Castle to your Saves list
Torrisdale | By Carradale, Kintyre, Carradale PA28 6QT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Aspatria, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Torrisdale Castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed in the big farmhouse at Torrisdale Castle, the house was superb, and the owners were very helpful, the house was warm and comfy and had a fabulous kitchen, it was great for the kids as it also had a big garden for them to play in.
The bedrooms were really large and very comfortable, so was the sitting room, everything was spotlessly clean.
All in all - top quality, will certainly be going again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall_Machall, Owner at Torrisdale Castle, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Glad you enjoyed the break and look forward to seeing you the next time. The farmhouse is well booked for the summer which is great - whether it is 6 people or 10, still seems plenty of space without being too big!! Niall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    12
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
27
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I had many happy holidays as a child on the Torrisdale estate, and 20 years later, after having my own family, I wanted to share the Torrisdale magic with them.

We stayed in Glen house, a beautiful, isolated cottage down a long winding track through fabulous woodland.The views from our home from home are amazing and the cottage it's self very homely, warm and cozy with plenty of room for all 5 of us plus 2 dogs.

The only way to describe it is magical. The estate was every bit as wonderful as I remember it as a child. My dogs loved it, my city loving Husband loved it and my teenage children have never had so much freedom. Walking through the estate with the dogs, down to Torrisdale bay every day, letting the kids run wild round the estate looking for wild life and fire wood,and the complete lack of mobile signal was just heaven.

I can't recommend Torrisdale highly enough. . A little piece of Heaven in a beautiful part of Scotland. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall_Machall, Owner at Torrisdale Castle, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Glen House is a special spot indeed. Lots of plans on how to make it better in the future....we now have three hens there, and more coming, Some nice organic free range eggs for breakfast the next time you come and stay! Niall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We spent a week in the newly refurbished Garden Cottage complete with Hot-Tub. We had a wonderful stay, really enjoyed the Castle estate and walks along the stunning coastline and would recommend Kintyre and particularly Torrisdale Castle to anyone wanting to visit and experience Scotland.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall_Machall, Owner at Torrisdale Castle, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Glad you liked the house and the hot tub! Come back and see how your trees are getting on any time! Thanks for the great feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed 2 nights last minute. The west coast of the kintyre peninsula is one of the most beautiful places I've ever visited. The private section of beach, a ten minute walk through the estate away was beautiful, crisp, clean and full of wildlife! Seals (we saw 25 at once), oystercatchers, plovers, and sandpipers.
The cottage itself is set away from the castle, and is completely private and tranquil. The interior has just been renovated and is really something- the bed especially comfortable! Of course, the hot tub (you light a fire for it yourself- takes some time and a lot of wood- 4 hours or so) was the highlight. A glass of wine under the stars is pretty much the pinnacle of life I'd say. Perfect for wildlife/tranquility/walking or a romantic break. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall_Machall, Owner at Torrisdale Castle, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Hello, and thank you for the review. Glad you loved the house! A lot of work last year but has all been worthwhile to get it looking as it does. The hot tub is great. I road tested when it first arrived and loved it. It does take a while to heat but all part of the fun! Happy to have you again. Niall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

We stayed at the Glen House for a week while other relatives stayed in the many other parts of the Torrisdale Castle estate.
Glen House was warm and comfortable, and isolated. There was no mobile phone signal so we had to make our plans in advance with the others.
Our two Golden Retrievers enjoyed the location and we did try to keep them out of the stream running close to the house.
The Glen House is reached along a 3/4 mile winding track and over two wooden bridges from the "main" road while all the other accommodations are reached (except on foot) from another track off the "main" road.
Satellite television is provided and all necessary kitchen equipment and we found initial welcoming provisions awaiting us.
If in this area again we would love another stay here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

We stayed for a week in one of the castle houses. An avid reader of Trip Advisor, we were almost put off by one of the reviews on the site but went ahead anyway and we were not disappointed. This turned out to be one of the best holiday we have ever had - the weather was excellent, the scenery is to die for, and the house in which we stayed (Glen House) was comfortable, very homely, set in a beautiful location on this peaceful estate. We would highly recommend this to other and the owners were most welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

We stayed in one of the castle's apartments for a long weekend in September. It was fantastic to get away from it all, and you certainly can here. The castle is set high on a hill with the most fantastic views down to the beach. It is a really restful place and the owners were very nice and helpful during our visit, with settling us in and telling us about the area.

The apartment we stayed in was very spacious and suited us (four friends) well. It was comfortable and had all the amenities we needed. Nice to stay somewhere that wasn't full of ikea furniture and felt a lot more homely for it. Would recommend it for a group of friends who want to get away from it all. We're definitely coming back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Torrisdale Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrisdale Castle

Address: Torrisdale | By Carradale, Kintyre, Carradale PA28 6QT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Carradale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Carradale
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our superb range of self-catering properties on Kintyre's east coast provide accommodation for groups of between 2 and 10 people. The estate offers the perfect opportunity to experience the comforts of modern day living whilst relaxing within a stunning and stress-free environment. Breaks are available for a minimum of 3 nights throughout the year.We are also embracing green technology, and will shortly be installing a biomass boiler to serve several properties on the estate, and a small hydro scheme which will generate enough electricity for 90 houses. In addition, our innovative tree planting scheme allows you, as our guest, to plant a tree for every holiday taken. Within the ground floor of the castle are three spacious self-catering apartments and set within the peaceful wooded grounds are a further four superb cottages and houses.The Kintyre Way passes through the estate, which is an ideal base for those looking to complete the long distance walk in individual stretches, being almost halfway on the 87 mile route.Of special interest at Torrisdale is the organic tannery, specialising in natural coloured sheepskins and deer skins using an ancient tanning method to produce a superior skin. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Torrisdale Castle Carradale, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torrisdale Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.