We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay and warm welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle House Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Thistle House Guest House to your Saves list
Thistle House Guest House
St Catherines | Inverary, Cairndow PA25 8AZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Cairndow B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely stay and warm welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had a lovely stay (only one night) at Thistle House. The house is located just in front of the gorgeous Loch, vis a vis Inveraray Castle - very nice!
Our room (on the top floor) was cosy, spotless, with a seemingly newly refurbished bathroom. Breakfast was delicious and generous!
Also, I have to mention that we had a very warm welcome of the owners in spite of us coming with our 2 children (one was 5 months old) - normally the B&B does not accept children, which I missed on their website. They had even managed to find a travel cot for our son. So thank you again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    16
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
120
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. Great views and comfy room. Breakfast was soooooo good. Location fine if you don't mind driving. Very welcoming hosts.
Plenty to see and do around Loch Fyne, would advise eating at Inver Cottage and visiting The George at Inverary.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia USA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights and can heartily recommend it. The hosts are marvelous, the room (Lamont) was spacious and in tip-top shape, and breakfast options were varied and high-quality (products are locally-sourced whenever possible, including Jenifer's home-made yogurt). The lounge is very inviting with its comfortable seating and wood fire. The view across Loch Fyne to Inveraray could not be more picturesque. Thistle House is in an excellent location for exploring the region--castles, gardens, hill walking, etc. Several fine restaurants are a short drive away. Jenifer and Alastair know what they're doing and the result makes for a first-rate country B&B. We hope to return.

Room Tip: Lamont is a suite with a single bed in the second room, which is handy for a three-some or if you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We spent only a night en route from Loch Lomond to the West. This B&B situated on the shores of Loch Fyne has glorious views of the loch and beyond to Inverary. Seems isolated but if you're already in the Highlands, this is bliss. It has a very cosy living room (with a nice warm fire on in the freplace) and breakfast was truly a real Scottish experience. Nice and clean generally.The landlady and her husband were very warm and friendly. Made our brief stay just fantastic.

Room Tip: Room above the living room facing the loch has a rather small en suite WC/shower area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

From the beautiful setting to the cozy and inviting rooms, to the service of the wonderful hosts - everything was perfect at this B&B and I would definitely recommend it to anyone. An extra plus for me was that the hosts insisted on carrying my mother's luggage up to her room and back to the car, a service that we didn't receive in many expensive hotels. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

On the shore on Loch Fyne opposite Inveraray. This lovely old Scottish home has been well kept, is well appointed and has a beautiful outlook. Although the closest restaurant is a 5 minute drive, the experience of staying at this guest house is worth it, plus Jennifer & Alistair were extremely good hosts. Breakfast was outstanding.

Room Tip: Quiet, a little remote, but paradise if that is what you are after
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The Thistle house is a lovely B&B. My husband and I stayed here for one night on our way to Islay. The location is very picturesque and the bed and breakfast fits right in. Each room is named after a different Scottish Clan and was nicely decorated. Jennifer was a lot of fun and we really enjoyed our stay. The different jams with breakfast were amazing! The bedroom and bathroom were both very spacious.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle House Guest House

Address: St Catherines | Inverary, Cairndow PA25 8AZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cairndow
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cairndow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle House sits on the shores of Loch Fyne in the small village of St Catherines. Many of our bedrooms overlook the loch over to Inveraray and its castle. We are perfectly situated on the west coast of Scotland to enjoy the wonderful Cowal Peninsula and many west coast islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Thistle House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle House Guest House Cairndow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle House Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.