We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Airlie Arms Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kirriemuir
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Airlie Arms Hotel
Save Saved
You added Airlie Arms Hotel to your Saves list
4 St Malcolms Wynd, Kirriemuir DD8 4HB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kirriemuir
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011 via mobile

Cozy little hotel which has had problems in the past, but they seem to be fixed now. The bar staff are not up to scratch on service or friendlyness, so i hope the manager sorts that problem out asap. The lunch and dinner menu is very nice especially for pub food, and the rooms are nice and cozy and at a reasonable price, but the best part of the airlie is its breakfasts. The scrambled egg is to die for, as is the black pudding. I will definately be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    1
    2
    5
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed at this hotel on July 9th and would definitely come back. We got a family room that could fit 4 people. Was better as it wasn't actually inside the hotel but a bit more like an annex. We had a decent size bathroom with a brilliant power shower, huge bedroom for us to sleep in, tv with freeview and a storage room to keep our bags in. Breakfast the next morning was lovely. Cereal, toast and a full cooked breakfast if you wanted it. Room was clean and staff were friendly and helpful. Will definitely book again, shame about all it's negative reviews really!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntisland, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

The Hotel is in a nice part of the world, I do be,leave they have had some problems but the new manager assures me that they are being fixed.
The only issue that we had was no parking and the room prices were a bit on the high for what type of hotel it is also no reception.
We had an evening meal on arrival and portions were great and good value at only £10 for 2 main courses.
we will be back

Room Tip: Room 6 is a nice double very modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

An absoloutly awful hotel. From the moment we arrived we could tell it was going to be the hotel from hell. When we went to check in, there was nobody around. We waited several minutes and a chef appreared. He did his best to check us in but the hotel had no record of my email reservation! They said the hotel was full and they could only offer us a twin room. Well, the other guests must have been ghosts.
The room was manky with cobwebs hanging from the coving. Even a cobweb above the shower. The carpet was stained and there was dust on the furniture.
To make matters worse, when we returned from our function at night - we were locked out!! The Police were very helpfull but 40 minutes until the Manager appeared.
The breakfast room was grotty too.
There is no way we will be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

My parents in law had planned their golden wedding celebrations years in advance, had heard rumours of bad service, but visited the manager who assured them that the rumours were untrue, and promised a night to remember. They got a night that they will never forget, but for all the wrong reasons. The function room was not set out when we arrived, the meal started getting served to the 40 plus guests one, yes one plate at a time, over an hour late. There were no bar staff behind the bar as the poor solitary barman on his first night employed by the hotel had to come out to help serve the three course meal, which took over two and a half hours to serve. Most people were so fed up that they could not be bothered to wait on the last course. There were people at the same table all on different courses of the meal, some were finished the main course before others had received their soup!!. The evening guests were arriving and we still had not been served all our meal.
My mother in law was in tears, after all the planning, and after paying all the bill up front in cash, it was a shambles from start to finish. They did get an apology from the manager before he left in the early evening and did not return, but it can not replace the 50 year celebration party she deserved, you can only celebrate that event once.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel under its present management.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirriemuir
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

My grandparents had booked the airlie's function room for their Golden Wedding Anniversary, an occasion that can never be repeated, all paid for in advance. When we arrived to set up the function room, it was still dirty from the previous nights event. Staff never set up enough tables or chairs for the meal and the tables were not even set. when the party had all arrived and were seated for the meal the manager came to take everyones orders off of a pre-set menu ( to point out, menu's had gone out to guest to get a rough number of what was wanted). the starters were passable, but were waitressed one plate at a time, there was tables who had finished there starters and on to there main, while others had not yet recieved there starters! the main meal was questionable and again was served slowly. when it came to pudding some people never recieved one and those who did were extremely dissatified with it. Also on top of all this, the first 2 hours of the evening there was barely a member of staff on the bar, family members who had previously worked in the airlie had to step up and help out, i myself had to help clear the tables for the nighttime guests arriving and help out the barman by collecting glasses or we would never have recieved a drink. To top it off when approached the manager was hostile and rather aggressive at times towards our copmplaints, including tutting and walking away. he then proceeding to make promises of compensation which he has had to be forced into keeping. He left at 9o'clock and left his bar staff to sort the mess he had created. My grandmother was in floods of tears and felt her happy occasion had been ruined. I would recommend that everyone books functions elsewhere unless you want your night ruined. You will notice i never rated sleep quality or rooms as we never stayed over, but the service has not been rated due to the managers lack of people skills, organisation and appalling attitude towards everyone at the party!

Room Tip: Stay away!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

Visited recently for a bar meal, portions not large, in fact we thought one of them was a children's portion!! Food was mediocre, run of the mill type, nothing to rave about. What really put us off though was the barman in the adjoining area loudly describing his friends sex life to those drinking at the bar. Won't be returning any time soon. Can't comment on rooms as we only visited for food.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Airlie Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlie Arms Hotel

Address: 4 St Malcolms Wynd, Kirriemuir DD8 4HB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Kirriemuir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kirriemuir
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Airlie Arms Hotel Kirriemuir, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airlie Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.